West Virginia Fundraising Licensing

Resources for charities, businesses, professional fundraisers, and individuals conducting charitable solicitation activities
View Guide Contents

Below, you'll find licensing requirements for a range of fundraising activities. At a glance, you can see requirements, fees, filing instructions, and links to forms for everything from charitable gaming and cause marketing to professional fundraisers and charitable gift annuities.

Make sure your fundraising activities meet the unique requirements of each jurisdiction where you’re soliciting. Feel free to explore, bookmark, and share!

West Virginia charitable solicitation license, West Virginia fundraising license
Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(2)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(1)

Company Licenses

West Virginia Nonprofit & Fundraising Company Licenses

West Virginia Charitable Bingo License

Game Type:

Bingo

Agency:West Virginia State Tax Department
Organization Age Requirement:

2 years of continuous existence in West Virginia immediately preceeding licensure.

Age Restrictions:

Participants must be at least 18 years old. Minors accompanied by a parent or legal guardian are allowed to play bingo.

Prize Limits:

Except for super bingo licenses, the average total prize value of a single bingo event is limited to $10,000.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Initial Registration

Agency:West Virginia State Tax Department
Form:

Form BGO-1: Application for Bingo License

Agency Fee:

Varies by license type: $500 for annual license, $50 for annual senior license, $100 for limited license, $500 for state fair license, and $5,000 for super license.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Registration Renewal

Agency:West Virginia State Tax Department
Form:

Form BGO-1: Application for Bingo License (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

Varies by license type: $500 for annual license, $50 for annual senior license, $100 for limited license, $500 for state fair license, and $5,000 for super license.

Due:

Annually by the date of issuance.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

West Virginia Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Agency:West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
Law:

WV Code § 33-13B-1 et seq.

Organization Age Requirement:

3 years of continuous existence immediately preceeding licensure.

Minimum Unrestricted Cash or Cash Equivalent Requirement:

$300,000

Initial Registration

Notes:

West Virginia charities must provide notice on the day they first enter into a charitable gift annuity agreement. Notices must identify the organization, certify that the organization is a charity and that the annuities issued are qualified charitable gift annuities, and be signed by an officer or director.

Fact Checked:12/4/17

Registration Renewal

Not required



West Virginia Charitable Raffle License

Game Type:

Raffles

Agency:West Virginia State Tax Department
Fact Checked:1/10/18

Initial Registration

Agency:West Virginia State Tax Department
Form:

Form RAF-1: Application for Raffle License

Agency Fee:

Varies by license type: $500 for annual license, $50 for limited license, and $500 for state fair license.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Registration Renewal

Agency:West Virginia State Tax Department
Form:

Form RAF-1: Application for Raffle License (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

Varies by license type: $500 for annual license, $50 for limited license, and $500 for state fair license.

Due:

Annually by the date of issuance.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

West Virginia Commercial Co-Venturer Registration

Not required



Commercial Co-venturer licensure is not required on the State level in West Virginia.

West Virginia does not currently have a traditional registration requirement for commercial co-venturers, but they may need to follow other regulations before and after fundraising events.

Registration Not Required

Not required



West Virginia Fundraising Counsel Registration

Agency:West Virginia Secretary of State - Charitable Organizations Division
Bond Requirements:

$10,000

Fact Checked:7/5/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Form CHF: Registration Statement of Fund-Raising Counsel

Agency Fee:

$100

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:7/5/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form CHF: Registration Statement of Fund-Raising Counsel (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Annually

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:7/5/18

West Virginia Professional Fundraiser Registration

Agency:West Virginia Secretary of State - Charitable Organizations Division
Bond Requirements:

$10,000

Initial Registration

Form:

Form CHF: Registration Statement of Professional Solicitor

Agency Fee:

$100

Fact Checked:12/15/16

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form CHF: Registration Statement of Professional Solicitor (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:12/15/16

West Virginia Registration of Charitable Organization

Agency:West Virginia Secretary of State - Charitable Organizations Division
Law:

West Virginia Code §29-19-1 through 29-19-6

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:1/16/19

One-Time Exemption Registration

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Educational institutions, the curriculums of which in whole or in part are registered or approved by the state board of education, either directly or by acceptance of accreditation by an accrediting body recognized by the state board of education; and any auxiliary associations, foundations and support groups which are directly responsible to any such educational institutions
  • Persons requesting contributions for the relief of any individual specified by name at the time of the solicitation when all of the contributions collected without any deductions whatsoever are turned over to the named beneficiary for his or her use
  • Hospitals and licensed nursing homes which are nonprofit and charitable
  • Organizations which solicit only within the membership of the organization by the members thereof: Provided, That the term "membership" shall not include those persons who are granted a membership upon making a contribution as the result of solicitation
  • Churches, synagogues, associations or conventions of churches, religious orders or religious organizations that are an integral part of a church which qualifies as tax exempt under the provisions of 26 U.S.C. §501(c)(3) and which qualifies as being exempt from filing an annual return under the provisions of 26 U.S.C. §6033
  • Any person, firm, corporation or organization that sponsors a single fund-raising event for the benefit of a named charitable organization where all or part of the funds collected are donated to the named charitable organization: Provided, that the named charitable organization receiving the funds is registered pursuant to this article, reports each of these donations individually, and certifies that no funds were withheld by the organization that solicited the funds
  • Any charitable organization that does not employ a professional solicitor or
    fund-raiser an does not intend to solicit and receive and does not actually raise or receive contributions from the public in excess of twenty-five thousand dollars during a calendar year
Law:

WVC § 29-19-6

Notes:

To claim an exemption, submit a letter that explains why the organization is eligible for exemption including supporting documentation.

Fact Checked:1/16/20

Initial Registration

Form:

Registration of Charitable Organization

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$15 if the organization raised less than $1M and $50 if the organization raised more than $1M.

Notes:
  • Note the list of attachments that first-time registrants must attach to the application. This includes disclosing contracts with professional fundraisers.
  • The CFO and another authorized officer. Signatures must be notarized.
  • Some West Virginia counties and municipalities may require charities that solicit in-person to register prior to fundraising.
Fact Checked:2/22/17

Registration Renewal

Form:

Registration of Charitable Organization

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$15 if the organization raised less than $1M and $50 if the organization raised more than $1M.

Due:

Renewal is due annually by the anniverary of your initial registration.

Penalties:

There is a late fee of $25 for each month that passes after the due date.

Notes:
  • Remember to attach the annual financial report.
  • The CFO and and another authorized officer. Signatures must be notarized.
Fact Checked:2/22/17

Change of Fiscal Year

Agency Fee:

$0

Turnaround:

1-2 business days

Notes:

Email the state to inform them of the change.

Fact Checked:12/7/18

Individual Licenses

West Virginia Individual Nonprofit & Fundraising Licenses

West Virginia Individual Professional Fundraiser Registration

Not required



Professional Solicitor licensure is not required on the State level in West Virginia.

Solicitors who are not employed by a professional fundraising firm but operate independently may be required to register. Employees of professional fundraising firms are generally not required to register as an individual solicitor in West Virginia.

Registration Not Required

Not required



Learn about fundraising in other states:

© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.