New Jersey Fundraising Licensing

Resources for charities, businesses, professional fundraisers, and individuals conducting charitable solicitation activities
View Guide Contents

Below, you'll find licensing requirements for a range of fundraising activities. At a glance, you can see requirements, fees, filing instructions, and links to forms for everything from charitable gaming and cause marketing to professional fundraisers and charitable gift annuities.

Make sure your fundraising activities meet the unique requirements of each jurisdiction where you’re soliciting. Feel free to explore, bookmark, and share!

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(1)

Company Licenses

New Jersey Nonprofit & Fundraising Company Licenses

New Jersey Bingo, Raffle, and Casino Nights Licenses

Game Type:

Bingo, raffles, and casino nights.

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Age Restrictions:

Participants must be at least 18 years old.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Initial Registration

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Form:

Initial Affidavit and Application for Biennial Registration

Agency Fee:

$100

Notes:

Charities must register as a qualified organization with the commission before applying for local level charitable gaming permits.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Registration Renewal

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Form:

Initial Affidavit and Application for Biennial Registration (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially

Fact Checked:1/10/18

New Jersey Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Agency:New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance - Division of Insurance
Law:

NJ Rev. Stat. § 17B:17-13.1

Audit Requirements:

Audited financial statements are required with the annual permit renewal.

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Special Permit

Agency Fee:

$100

Notarize:Required
Notes:

Proof of entity registration and charitable registration are required with the application. Charities must maintain a segregated reserve fund that covers the current value of all outstanding annuity payments plus the greater of $100,000 or 10% of the reserve fund.

Fact Checked:12/4/17

Registration Renewal

Form:

Annual Statement

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Within 120 days of the end of the calendar year. Permission may be granted for the filing to be made on a fiscal year basis.

Notes:

An annual statement should be filed even if the organization did not issue annuities.

Fact Checked:12/4/17

New Jersey Charitable Organization Registration

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Charities Registration Section
Law:

New Jersey Statutes Ann. § 45:17A-18 et seq.

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:4/10/20

One-Time Exemption Registration

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Any religious corporation, trust, foundation, association or organization incorporated under the provisions of Title 15 or 16 of the Revised Statutes or Title 15A of the New Jersey Statutes or established for religious purposes
  • Any agency or organization incorporated or established for charitable purposes and engaged in effectuating one or more charitable purposes, which is affiliated with, operated by or supervised or controlled by a corporation, trust, foundation, association, or organization incorporated or established for religious purposes, or any other religious agency or organization
  • Any educational institution, the curricula of which in whole or in part are registered or approved by the Department of Education or the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education, either directly or by acceptance of accreditation by an accrediting body recognized by these agencies
  • An educational institution confining its solicitation to its student body, alumni, faculty and trustees, and their families
  • A library registered by the Department of Education, provided that the annual financial report of that library shall be filed with the Department of Education, where it shall be open for public inspection
  • A local unit registered by a parent organization in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:48-6
  • A charitable organization engaged in charitable fund raising that did not receive gross contributions in excess of $10,000 during its most recent fiscal year, if all of its functions, including fund raising activities, are carried on by persons who are not compensated for soliciting contributions
Law:

NJ Admin Code 13:48-3.3

Notes:

To claim an exemption, submit a letter explaining why your organization is eligible for exemption.

Fact Checked:1/16/20

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30-$250, depending on gross contributions.

Turnaround:

6-8 months

Notes:
  • The CFO and another authorized officer must sign. Signatured need not be notarized.
  • Some New Jersey counties and municipalities may require charities that solicit in-person to register prior to fundraising.
Before you Apply:

Domestic Applicants:

  • Check the available exemptions to see if your charity is eligible for exemption from the full registration requirement.
  • If your charity meets the audit threshold, obtain an audited financial report to submit with your registration application.
  • Look through the list of required attachments and make sure that you have each required document in hand before starting the registration application.

Foreign Applicants:

  • Check the available exemptions to see if your charity is eligible for exemption from the full registration requirement.
  • If your charity meets the audit threshold, obtain an audited financial report to submit with your registration application.
  • Look through the list of required attachments and make sure that you have each required document in hand before starting the registration application.
  • If you will foreign qualify in New Jersey, obtain a certificate of good standing from your home state to submit during the foreign qualification process. The certificate cannot be more than 30 days old when filing foreign qualification documents.
How to Apply:

Domestic Applicants:

  1. Form an entity by completing the online form on the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services website.
  2. Create a My New Jersey account online and complete the charity registration application through the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Charities Registration Section.

Foreign Applicants:

  1. Determine whether or not your charity will need to foreign qualify based on your activity in New Jersey. If not required, skip to number 3.
  2. Foreign qualify by completing the online form on the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services website.
  3. Create a My New Jersey account online and complete the charity registration application through the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Charities Registration Section.
Required Attachments:

  • IRS form 990
  • Audited financials (if applicable)
  • Articles of incorporation
  • Either IRS determination letter or IRS form 1023
  • Bylaws
  • List of officers and directors
Fact Checked:4/14/20

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30-$250, depending on gross contributions.

Due:

Renewal is due annually 6 months after the close of your fiscal year. So if your fiscal year ends December 31, renewal is due June 30.

Due Date Extension:

Due dates can be extended for 6 months beyond the original due date by submitting a request for extension through the online portal along with the expected renewal fee.

Penalties:

There is a $25 late fee for renewals filed after the due date.

Notes:
  • Note the list of attachments required. Large organizations may need to provide audited financial statements.
Required Attachments:

  • IRS form 990
  • Audited financials (if applicable)
  • List of officers and directors
  • Only if amended: IRS determination letter, articles of incorporation, and bylaws
Fact Checked:2/4/20

Contract Filing

Form:

Cover letter and a copy of the charitable sales agreement

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Every charitable organization which permits a charitable sales promotion to be conducted on its behalf, shall obtain a written contract from the commercial co-venturer and shall file a copy of the agreement with the Division of Consumer Affairs Charities Registration Section at least 10 days prior to the initiation of that charitable sales promotion.

Notes:

There is no form, simply submit the contract and fee along with a cover letter.

How to Apply:

The charity must be registered to solicit charitable contributions or otherwise exempt for the contract to be accepted.

Fact Checked:10/9/19

Financial Reporting

Form:

Form CCO-500

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Charities must file a promotion report within 40 days of the expiration of every commercial co-venture charitable sales promotion. For campaign contracts lasting more than 12 months, a charitable organization shall file an interim report within 40 days of the end of each of the charitable organization’s fiscal years. The charitable organization may file the final report within 40 days after the expiration of the contract or service agreement or at the end of the last fiscal year of the contract.

Fact Checked:10/9/19

Change of Fiscal Year

Filing Method:

Online

Notes:

Use the DCA portal and start a renewal registration. You can enter the new fiscal year end month and renew for that year.

Fact Checked:12/7/18

Cancellation

Agency Fee:

$0

Notes:

To close out your registration, submit a letter asking to cancel the registration and that the registration number be "retired".

Fact Checked:7/14/20

New Jersey Commercial Co-Venturer Registration

Not required



Commercial Co-venturer licensure is not required on the State level in New Jersey.

New Jersey does not currently have a traditional registration requirement for commercial co-venturers, but they may need to follow other regulations before and after fundraising events.

Contract Filing

Form:

There is no form, simply submit the contract and fee.

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Every charitable organization which permits a charitable sales promotion to be conducted on its behalf, shall obtain a written contract from the commercial co-venturer and shall file a copy of the agreement with the Division of Consumer Affairs Charities Registration Section at least 10 days prior to the initiation of that charitable sales promotion.

Fact Checked:5/29/20

Contract Amendment

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

An amendment filing should be made before the expiration date of a campaign in order to extend the campaign.

Notes:

To report an extension of a campaign or another change to a campaign agreement, submit a cover letter describing the change and include a copy of the amended agreement.

Fact Checked:8/12/20

Financial Reporting

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Charities must file a promotion report within 40 days of the expiration of every commercial co-venture charitable sales promotion. For campaign contracts lasting more than 12 months, a charitable organization shall file an interim report within 40 days of the end of each of the charitable organization’s fiscal years. The charitable organization may file the final report within 40 days after the expiration of the contract or service agreement or at the end of the last fiscal year of the contract.

Fact Checked:5/29/20

New Jersey Fund-Raising Counsel Registration

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Charities Registration Section
Bond Requirements:

$20,000

Notes:

The bond is only required if the fundraising counsel will have custody or access to the charitable organization's money.

Fact Checked:7/5/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Form CRI-500P: Fund-Raising Counsel Initial Registration

Agency Fee:

$250

Fact Checked:7/5/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form CRI-500PR: Fund-Raising Counsel Renewal Registration

Agency Fee:

$250

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Fact Checked:7/5/18

Contract Filing

Form:

Form CRI-500A: Contract Filing Form

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

File a contract filing form at least 10 days prior to the start of each solicitation campaign.

Fact Checked:8/5/19

Financial Reporting

Form:

Form SR1: Campaign Report of Charitable Solicitation by an Independent Paid Fund Raiser or Fund-Raising Counsel (With custody of contributions) or Form SR2: Campaign Report of Charitable Solicitation by an Independent Paid Fund Raiser or Fund-Raising Counsel (Without custody of contributions)

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Within 40 days after a campaign has ended and within 40 days after the end of each of the charitable organization's fiscal years for multi-year contracts.

Fact Checked:8/5/19

New Jersey Paid Fund-Raiser Registration

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Charities Registration Section
Bond Requirements:

$20,000

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form CRI-500PR: Independent Paid Fund Raiser or Fund-Raising Counsel Renewal Registration Statement

Agency Fee:

$250

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Fact Checked:12/15/16

Contract Filing

Form:

Form CRI-500A: Contract Filing Form

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

File a contract filing form at least 10 days prior to the start of each solicitation campaign.

Fact Checked:8/5/19

Financial Reporting

Form:

Form SR1: Campaign Report of Charitable Solicitation by an Independent Paid Fund Raiser or Fund-Raising Counsel (With custody of contributions) or Form SR2: Campaign Report of Charitable Solicitation by an Independent Paid Fund Raiser or Fund-Raising Counsel (Without custody of contributions)

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Within 40 days after a campaign has ended and within 40 days after the end of each of the charitable organization's fiscal years for multi-year contracts.

Fact Checked:8/5/19

Individual Licenses

New Jersey Individual Nonprofit & Fundraising Licenses

New Jersey Solicitor of an Independent Paid Fund Raiser Registration

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Charities Registration Section

Initial Registration

Form:

Form CRI-500S: Solicitor of an Independent Paid Fund Raiser Initial Registration and Renewal Registration

Agency Fee:

$15

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Fact Checked:12/15/16

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form CRI-500S: Solicitor of an Independent Paid Fund Raiser Initial Registration and Renewal Registration (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$15

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Fact Checked:12/15/16

Learn about fundraising in other states:

© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.