Florida Fundraising Licensing

Resources for charities, businesses, professional fundraisers, and individuals conducting charitable solicitation activities
View Guide Contents

Below, you'll find licensing requirements for a range of fundraising activities. At a glance, you can see requirements, fees, filing instructions, and links to forms for everything from charitable gaming and cause marketing to professional fundraisers and charitable gift annuities.

Make sure your fundraising activities meet the unique requirements of each jurisdiction where you’re soliciting. Feel free to explore, bookmark, and share!

Florida charitable solicitation license, Florida fundraising license
Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(1)

Company Licenses

Florida Nonprofit & Fundraising Company Licenses

Florida Bingo and Raffle Licenses

Not required



There is no state level licensing for games of chance in Florida, however, many Florida counties license charitable organizations for games of bingo.

Florida Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Agency:Florida Office of Insurance Regulation
Law:

FL Stat. § 627.481

Organization Age Requirement:

5 years of continuous existence immediately preceeding licensure.

Initial Registration

Form:

There is no application form.

Agency fee:

$0

Notes:

Charities must submit a notice to the office that identifies the charity, certifies that the organization meets the requirement to issue annuities, and bear the signature of two or more officers or directors. Organizations must have a separated reserve fund and qualify as a 501(c)(3).

Registration Renewal

Agency fee:

$0

Due:

Annually within 60 days of the charity's fiscal year end.

Notes:

The charity must file annual sworn statements which follow the rules set by the office of insurance regulation.

Florida Charitable Organizations/Sponsors Registration

Agency:Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services - Division of Consumer Services
Law:

Florida Statutes § 496.405 et seq.

One-Time Exemption Registration

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Religious organizations
  • Educational organizations
  • Membership organizations
  • Political groups
  • Appeals for individuals
Notes:

Organizations must email the state to receive an exemption, but no registration is required.

Registration to Obtain Exemption

Exemption Eligible Organizations:

Charities with less than $25,000 in total revenue during the preceding fiscal year and no professional solicitors

Form:

Small Charitable Organizations Application

Agency fee:

$0

Renewal to Maintain Exemption

Exemption Eligible Organizations:

Charities with less than $25,000 in total revenue during the preceding fiscal year and no professional solicitors

Form:

Small Charitable Organizations Application (Renewal)

Agency fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by the date of initial registration.

Initial Registration

Form:

Charitable Organizations / Sponsors Registration Application

Filing method:

Mail or online

Agency fee:

$10-400, depending on contributions received during the prior fiscal year ($0 if exempt)

Notes:
  • Carefully ensure you include all required attachments
  • Notarized signature of the CFO or treasurer is required.
  • Nonprofits who will solicit at Florida highway rest stops must obtain permission from their local Department of Transportation Maintenance Unit. Use Form #850-040-70, Permit Application for Public Use of Rest Areas, Wayside Parks and Solicitation on State Highways. Start by identifying local maintenance units at the Florida Department of Transportation Office of Maintenance.
  • Some Florida counties and municipalities may require charities that solicit in-person to register prior to fundraising.

Registration Renewal

Form:

The state will mail you your renewal form.

Filing method:

Mail or Online

Agency fee:

$10-400, depending on contributions received during the prior fiscal year

Due:

Your license must be renewed annually between your intial registration date and 60 days prior.

Notes:
  • Carefully ensure you include all required attachments, including yoru annual financial report.

Change of Fiscal Year

Agency fee:

$0

Turnaround:

1-2 business days

Notes:

Email the state to inform them of the change.

Florida Commercial Co-Venturer Registration

Not required



Florida does not currently have a traditional registration requirement for commercial co-venturers, but they may need to follow other regulations before and after fundraising events.

More information: Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services - Division of Consumer Services

Registration Not Required

Not required



Financial Reporting

Due:

Within 10 days after request from the department.

Notes:

Financial records must be kept for up to three years after a fundraising event and must be submitted within 10 days if requested by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

Florida Professional Fundraising Consultant Registration

Agency:Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services - Division of Consumer Services

Registration Renewal

Form:

Registration for Professional Fundraising Consultants (Renewal)

Agency fee:

$300

Due:

Annually

Florida Professional Solicitor Registration

Agency:Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services - Division of Consumer Services
Bond Requirements:

$50,000

Initial Registration

Form:

Registration for Professional Solicitors

Agency fee:

$300

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal forms are sent in the mail 45 days prior to expiration.

Agency fee:

$300

Due:

Annually

Contract Filing

Form:

Notice of Commencement

Agency fee:

$0

Due:

File a notice of commencement at least 15 days prior to the start of the contract.

Financial Reporting

Due:

Within 45 days after a campaign has ended and within 45 days of the anniversary of commencement for campaigns lasting more than a year.

Notes:

Financial report forms are sent in the mail.

Individual Licenses

Florida Individual Nonprofit & Fundraising Licenses

Florida Individual Professional Solicitor License

Agency:Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services - Division of Consumer Services

Initial Registration

Form:

Registration for Professional Solicitor Individuals

Agency fee:

$0

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Notes:

There is no registration fee, but there may be a fee for a background check.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Registration for Professional Solicitor Individuals (Renewal)

Agency fee:

$0

Due:

Annually

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required

Learn about fundraising in other states:

© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.