California Fundraising Registration
Charitable solicitation is regulated on the state-level and the requirements vary by state. 41 states require charitable solicitation registration. Asking for donations by phone, mail, in person, and online subject a charity to registration requirements. Fundraising online is generally considered solicitation, including use of a "Donate Now" button on an organization’s website.
In nearly every state, charities are required to register before soliciting donations, regardless of whether funds are actually received. Some states require nonprofits to qualify with the corporations division and appoint a registered agent. In addition, most states require charities to include disclosure statements in their solicitations.
Overview of California Requirements
California requires charitable solicitation registration. Charities must register with the California Attorney General - Registry of Charitable Trusts in order to solicit donations in the state. As a prerequisite for charitable registration, organizations are required to qualify as a foreign nonprofit corporation with the California Secretary of State - Business Programs Division and appoint a registered agent.
About This License
|Agency:||California Attorney General - Registry of Charitable Trusts|
California Government Code § 12585; California Code of Regulations, Title 11 § 300
One-Time Exemption Registration
Organizations that meet these exemption criteria should make a one-time filing to obtain an exemption from charitable solicitation registration requirements.
|Exemption Eligible Organizations:|
If you believe you are exempt, make a request in writing to the California Attorney General's Office prior to soliciting. You will receive an exemption letter in return.
Organizations that have never registered for charitable solicitation in California will file an initial registration. This section contains an overview of completing an initial charitable solicitation registration.
Organizations that have already registered for charitable solicitation in California are required to renew their registrations to maintain good standing. This section contains an overview of renewing the charitable solicitation registration.
$0-$300 depending on gross annual revenue.
Renewal is due annually 4 months and 15 days after the close of your organization's fiscal year. If your fiscal year closes December 31st, then renewal is due May 15th.
Failure to submit renewal on time can result in loss of tax exemption and assessment of minimum tax of $800, plus interest, and/or fines or filing penalties. The Attorney General will notify the California Franchise Tax Board to disallow your state tax exemption. Directors, trustees, officers, and return preparers are personally liable for these fees and penalties - you cannot use charitable assets to pay them, they must be paid out of of pocket!
|Is the URS accepted
The Unified Registration Statement (URS) is a consolidated multi-state registration form.
For renewal filing: No
|Is foreign qualification required?||Required|
|Is maintaining a registered agent required?||Not explicitly required as a prerequisite for charitable solicitation registration.|
Learn about charitable registration in other states:
Charitable Solicitation Compliance
What does it take to be compliant?
Thursday, November 15th at 1:00 - 2:00PM EDTRegister Now