Rhode Island Fundraising Licensing

Resources for charities, businesses, professional fundraisers, and individuals conducting charitable solicitation activities
View Guide Contents

Below, you'll find licensing requirements for a range of fundraising activities. At a glance, you can see requirements, fees, filing instructions, and links to forms for everything from charitable gaming and cause marketing to professional fundraisers and charitable gift annuities.

Make sure your fundraising activities meet the unique requirements of each jurisdiction where you’re soliciting. Feel free to explore, bookmark, and share!

Rhode Island charitable solicitation license, Rhode Island fundraising license
Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(4)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(1)

Company Licenses

Rhode Island Nonprofit & Fundraising Company Licenses

Rhode Island Bingo License

Game Type:

Bingo

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Organization Age Requirement:

2 years of continuous existence in Rhode Island immediately preceeding licensure.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Initial Registration

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Form:

Weekly Bingos Application

Agency Fee:

$5

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Registration Renewal

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Form:

Weekly Bingos Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$5

Due:

Annually by September 1.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Rhode Island Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Not required



Charitable Gift Annuity licensure is not required on the State level in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island statutes do not address charitable gift annuities, but division of insurance rules exempt charitable organizations from disclosure rules that apply to other entities.

Rhode Island Charitable Organization Registration

Agency:Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
Law:

Rhode Island General Laws §7-6-1 and following

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:1/16/19

Automatic Exemption

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Educational institutions, including parent-teacher associations, the curricula of which in whole or in part are registered or approved by a governmental agency as well as all other educational institutions within this state recognized or certified as educational institutions by a generally recognized and accepted regional or national educational accrediting organization
  • Persons requesting any contributions for the relief of any individual, specified by name at the time of the solicitation, if all of the contributions collected, without any deductions whatsoever, are turned over to the named beneficiary
  • Any charitable organization that does not intend to solicit and receive and does not actually raise or receive contributions in excess of $25,000 during a fiscal year of the charitable organization, provided none of its fundraising functions are carried on by professional fundraisers and no part of its assets or income inures to the benefit of or is paid to any officer, director, member (if a limited-liability company), trustee, partner, or member of the charitable organization (Not including contributions received from corporations, charitable foundations, government agencies, or a duly registered federated fund, incorporated community appeal, or United Way, shall not be included in determining the total amount of contributions received)
  • Organizations that solicit only from their own membership. The term "membership" shall not include those persons who are granted a membership upon making a contribution as the result of a solicitation
  • Persons soliciting contributions solely from corporations, charitable foundations, or governmental agencies
  • Foundations or associations exclusively for the benefit of religious organizations, education institutions, nonprofit or charitable hospitals, and public libraries
  • Hospitals that are nonprofit and charitable
  • Veterans' organizations and their auxiliaries so long as the veterans' organizations are chartered under chapter 6 of title 7
  • Public libraries
  • Historical societies duly organized under the laws of this state
  • Free, not-for-profit, public art museums
  • Grange organizations and their auxiliaries
  • Churches or recognized denominations and religious organizations, societies, and institutions operated, supervised, or controlled by a religious organization or society that solicit from other than their own membership. Institutions indirectly or affiliated with but that are not operated, supervised, or controlled by any religious organizations or religious society that own, maintain, and operate homes for the aged, orphanages, and homes for unwed mothers
  • Volunteer fire and rescue associations
  • Land trusts duly organized under the laws of this state
Law:

RI Gen L § 5-53.1-3

Notes:

Charities must register within 30 days if they exceed $25,000 in contributions.

Fact Checked:1/16/20

Initial Registration

Form:

Charitable Organizations Application

Filing Method:

Online or submitted on CD-Rom or on a USB flash drive (paper filings are not accepted)

Agency Fee:

$90 + $3 online filing fee.

Notes:
  • Make check payable to General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island
  • Read the exemptions carefully as there are many limitations to each exemption category.
  • Note the list of attachments that first-time registrants must attach to the application.
  • Some Rhode Island counties and municipalities may require charities that solicit in-person to register prior to fundraising.
Fact Checked:2/22/17

Registration Renewal

Form:

Charitable Organizations Application

Filing Method:

Online or mail the form on CD-ROM (paper filings are not accepted)

Agency Fee:

$90 + $3 online filing fee.

Due:

By the anniversary of initial registration.

Notes:
  • Make check payable to General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island
  • You must attach an annual financial report.
Fact Checked:2/22/17

Rhode Island Commercial Co-Venturer Registration

Not required



Commercial Co-venturer licensure is not required on the State level in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island does not currently have a traditional registration requirement for commercial co-venturers, but they may need to follow other regulations before and after fundraising events.

Registration Not Required

Not required



Rhode Island Fundraising Counsel Registration

Agency:Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
Fact Checked:7/5/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Fundraising Counsel Application

Filing Method:Flash drive, CD-ROM, or online.

Agency Fee:

$240

Fact Checked:7/5/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Fundraising Counsel Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:Flash drive, CD-ROM, or online.

Agency Fee:

$240

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Fact Checked:7/5/18

Rhode Island Professional Fundraiser Registration

Agency:Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
Bond Requirements:

$10,000

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Professional Fundraiser

Agency Fee:

$240

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Fact Checked:12/15/16

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application for Professional Fundraiser (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$240

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Fact Checked:12/15/16

Rhode Island Raffle License

Game Type:

Raffles

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Law:

RI Stat. § 11-19-31 et seq.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Initial Registration

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Form:

Raffle Application

Agency Fee:

$5

Law:

RI Stat. § 11-19-31 et seq.

Notes:

Raffle applications should be submitted to the local police department in the town or city where the raffle will be held.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Raffle licenses are issued for a single event date.

More information: Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit

Rhode Island Senior Citizen's Bingo License

Game Type:

Bingo

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Age Restrictions:

Participants must be 55 or older.

Prize Limits:

The maximum aggregate daily prize is $400.

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Initial Registration

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Form:

Senior Citizen's Bingo Application

Agency Fee:

$5

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Registration Renewal

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Agency Fee:

$5

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Rhode Island Special (One-Time) Bingo License

Game Type:

Bingo

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Fact Checked:1/10/18

Initial Registration

Agency:Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit
Form:

Special (One-Time) Bingo Application

Agency Fee:

$5

Fact Checked:1/10/18

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Special bingo licenses are issued for a single event and cannot be renewed.

More information: Rhode Island Division of State Police - Charitable Gaming Unit

Individual Licenses

Rhode Island Individual Nonprofit & Fundraising Licenses

Rhode Island Individual Professional Fundraiser Registration

Agency:Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Professional Solicitor

Agency Fee:

$0

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Fact Checked:12/15/16

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application for Professional Solicitor (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Fact Checked:12/15/16

Learn about fundraising in other states:

© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.