Utah Fundraising Licensing

Resources for charities, businesses, professional fundraisers, and individuals conducting charitable solicitation activities
View Guide Contents

Below, you'll find licensing requirements for a range of fundraising activities. At a glance, you can see requirements, fees, filing instructions, and links to forms for everything from charitable gaming and cause marketing to professional fundraisers and charitable gift annuities.

Make sure your fundraising activities meet the unique requirements of each jurisdiction where you’re soliciting. Feel free to explore, bookmark, and share!

Utah charitable solicitation license, Utah fundraising license
Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(1)

Company Licenses

Utah Nonprofit & Fundraising Company Licenses

Utah Charitable Gaming License

Not required



Utah statutes do not currently provide for any charitable gaming activites.

Utah Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Not required



No filing is required. Utah generally exempts charitable organizations from insurance regulation related to charitable gift annuities.

Utah Charitable Organization Permit

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Consumer Protection
Law:

Utah Code Annotated §13-22-1 thorugh 13-22-15; Utah Administrative Code, Rule R152-22-1 through R152-22-5

One-Time Exemption Registration

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Religious organizations
  • Educational organizations
  • Membership organizations
  • Appeals for individuals
  • Politial organizations
  • Government agencies
  • Congressionally chartered organizations that submit financial reports to the Secretary of Defense
Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$0

Notes:

Exemptions do not expire as long as the organization continues to qualify under the exemption criteria.

Initial Registration

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$75

Notes:
  • You may not solicit until you receive your certificate of registration back from the state. It takes ~1 month for the state to process your application.
  • Some Utah counties and municipalities may require charities that solicit in-person to register prior to fundraising.

Registration Renewal

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$75

Due:

Your permit to solicit expires annually on the upcoming quarterly due date based on registration date: January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 1. So if your permit was issued on April 15, it will expire on July 1.

Contract Filing

Agency fee:

$0

Due:

Every charitable organization which agrees to permit a charitable sales promotion to be conducted by a commercial co-venturer on its behalf shall file with the division a notice of the promotion prior to its commencement within this state.

Notes:

There is no form. Notices of sales promotion must include: 1) The names of the charitable organization and commercial co-venturer; 2) That the charitable organization and the commercial co-venturer will conduct a charitable sales promotion; and 3) The date the charitable sales promotion is expected to commence.

Change of Fiscal Year

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$75

Notes:

Submit the short year financials during the standard renewal process.

Utah Commercial Co-Venturer Registration

Not required



Utah does not currently have a traditional registration requirement for commercial co-venturers, but they may need to follow other regulations before and after fundraising events.

Registration Not Required

Not required



Utah Fundraising Counsel Registration

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Consumer Protection

Registration Renewal

Form:

Professional Fund Raising Counsel Permit Application Form (Renewal)

Agency fee:

$250

Due:

Annually by the registration anniversary date.

Utah Professional Fundraiser Registration

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Consumer Protection

Initial Registration

Form:

Fund Raiser Permit Application

Agency fee:

$250

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Fund Raiser Permit Application (Renewal)

Agency fee:

$250

Due:

Annually by the registration anniversary date.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required

Individual Licenses

Utah Individual Nonprofit & Fundraising Licenses

Utah Individual Professional Fundraiser Registration

Not required



Solicitors who are not employed by a professional fundraising firm but operate independently may be required to register. Employees of professional fundraising firms are generally not required to register as an individual solicitor in Utah.

Registration Not Required

Not required



Learn about fundraising in other states:

© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.