50-State Construction Licensing Compliance Guide
An excavator truck digging on a work site
View Guide Contents
Guide Contents
Overview

New Jersey Construction Licensing

A group of construction workers on site

Licenses are typically required for individuals and businesses that provide construction industry services. This guide contains information about construction industry licensing in New Jersey.

New! Check Your Status For Free Make sure you're in good standing with a free nationwide compliance analysis. Get Your Free Health Check Now
Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(2)
(1)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(2)
(1)
(1)
(5)
(3)

Company Licenses

New Jersey Construction and Contracting Company Licenses

New Jersey Asbestos License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development - Asbestos Control & Licensing

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Asbestos License

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$2,000

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application for Asbestos License Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$2,000

Due:

Annually

New Jersey Electrical Contractor License

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Board of Examiners and Electrical Contractors

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for an Initial Business Permit

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$150 for permits issued during the first year of the triennial period, $100 for the second year, and $50 for permits issued during the third year of the triennial period.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$225

Due:

Triennially by March 31.

Notes:

Contact the board for a renewal application.

New Jersey General Contractor License

Not required



General Contractor Company licensure is not required on the State level in New Jersey.

There is no state level license for general contractor firms in New Jersey, however, home improvement contractors are licensed by the division of consumer affairs and the department of banking and insurance.

Home Improvement is any remodeling, altering, painting, repairing, renovating, restoring, moving, demolishing, or modernizing of a structure used as a place of residence, or of any portion of the property on which the structure is located, is considered a home improvement for the purposes of the Act.

Home improvement includes the construction, installation, replacement, improvement, or repair of driveways, sidewalks, swimming pools, terraces, patios, landscaping, fences, porches, windows, doors, cabinets, kitchens, bathrooms, garages, basements and basement waterproofing, water purifiers (not including the installation or disconnection of water filtration systems), insulation installation, siding, wall-to-wall carpeting or attached or inlaid floor coverings, and other changes, repairs, or improvements made to residential property.

Construction of a new residence is not considered a home improvement under the Act.

Any person, whether a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability company or any other type of business organization that is engaged in the business of selling or making home improvements is considered a home improvement contractor for the purposes of the Act.

New Jersey Home Improvement Contractor License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Consumer Affairs - Home Improvement Contractor Section
Notes:

General contractors are licensed at the county and city level.

Initial Registration

Form:

http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/hic/Pages/applications.aspx

Filing Method:

Mail

  • State of New Jersey
    Division of Consumer Affairs
    Regulated Business Section
    Home Improvement Unit
    124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor
    P.O. Box 46016
    Newark, NJ 07101
Agency Fee:

$110

Notes:
  • Checks or money orders for this application are nonrefundable, regardless of the outcome of the application
  • Example attachments for this application can be found on pages 7-10 of the state-provided application deck
Before you Apply:
  • List all names the company will do business under. If using a DBA, the name must be registered with the state as such
  • Name and address of your registered agent for this license
Required Attachments:
  • Certified copies of Articles of Incorporation or formation
  • Copies of DBA/ Trade name certificates and form C-150G or the trade name certificate if used
  • A copy of the New Jersey certificate of authorization (foreign qualification) if domiciled in another state
  • Complete Disclosure Statement
  • List of owners
    • full name, home and business street address and business telephone number of each owner, officer, director, principal and person with an ownership interest of 10 percent or more in the business and the percentage of ownership held
    • If an owner holds a professional or occupational license in the state, provide the license type, agency, number, and date issued
  • Certification form
  • Certificate of insurance with the company listed as the insured
    • Policy of commercial general liability insurance in a minimum amount of $500,000 per occurrence
    • Mmust include an effective policy number, the date of issuance, the effective date and your signature
  • If prior misconduct occurred, provide proof of rehabilitation
    • the nature and responsibility of the position the convicted individual would hold;
      • the nature and seriousness of the offense;
      • the circumstances under which the offense occurred;
      • the date of the offense;
      • the age of the individual when the offense was committed;
      • whether the offense was an isolated or repeated incident;
      • any social conditions which may have contributed to the offense;
      • any evidence of rehabilitation including, among other things, good conduct in prison or in the community, counseling, or psychiatric treatment received.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$110

Due:

Annually by March 31.

Before you Apply:

COI

The home repair contractor license issued by DOBI is required for a New Jersey home repair contractor who executes financed home repair contracts on the goods or services provided to New Jersey consumers for home repair work.

A home repair contractor who deals strictly in cash installment payments over a period of 90 days or less or accepts credit card payments does not need to obtain this license.

New Jersey Home Repair Contractor License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance - Home Repair Contractor/Salesperson

Initial Registration

Form:

New Jersey Home Repair Contractor License

Filing Method:

Mail

  • Regular
    • Licensing Services Bureau, New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance, PO Box 473, Trenton, NJ 08625
  • Overnight
    • Licensing Services Bureau, New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance, 20 W. State St., 8th Floor, Trenton NJ 08608
Agency Fee:

$300

Original Ink:Required
Notarize:Required
Notes:
  • All fees submitted for this license are nonrefundable
  • Personal checks are not accepted
  • If you employ salespersons to execute home repair contracts with homeowners on behalf of your company, you must license each individual so employed. Officers of the corporation are not required to be licensed as a home repair salesperson
Before you Apply:
  • Signatures for this application are required by the most senior person in the company
    • Corporation - President and secretary
    • LLC - managing member and witness
    • Partnership - partner and witness
    • Sole Proprietorship - sole proprietor and witness
  • The corporate seal or a copy of the corporate seal must be affixed in the case of a corporate applicant
  • Signatures must be witnessed by anotary public or attorney
  • An in-state New Jersey office location is required
Required Attachments:
  • Certified copy of the company's articles of incorporation or formation
  • Copy of your New Jersey authorization to do business (foreign qualification) if not registered domestically in the state
  • A copy of any DBA's, alternate, or fictitious names registered to be used in New Jersey. All DBA's must be registered
  • Personal Certifications must be completed by all officers, directors, substantial stockholders (10% or more), members, partners and/or owners
  • A financial statement as prepared by your accountant/office manager/bookkeeper demonstrating net worth
    • In the instance of a newly formed company, attach a start-up balance sheet
  • Attach a copy of deed, lease or rental agreement for location to be licensed as listed on the application
  • Attach two (2) photographs of the office location
    • one exterior and one interior
    • photograph must clearly show the required business sign
  • If you conduct business from a residence, you must provide proof
    • Attach copies of letters you have sent to your local post office and telephone company advising them of the use of your residence for your business
    • A copy of the deed, lease, or rental agreement for the residence.
  • Certificate of Insurance showing that you have public liability and worker’s compensation insurance
    • The certificate should show the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance at the address on the top of the application as a party of interest
    • The certificate should also show your agent’s name, address and telephone number
  • Submit proof of Home Improvement Contractor registration with the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs
    • You can obtain information regarding the Home Improvement Contractor registration by calling 1-888-656-6225 or at www.nj.gov/oag/ca/HIC/.

Registration Renewal

Form:

New Jersey Home Repair Contractor License Renewal

Agency Fee:

$300

Due:

By June 30 of odd-numbered years.

New Jersey Lead Abatement Contractor Certification

Agency:New Jersey Department of Community Affairs - Division of Codes and Standards - Lead Hazard Abatement Program
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

Application, Lead Abatement Contractor

Agency Fee:

$2,518

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application, Lead Abatement Contractor (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$2,518

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

New Jersey Lead Evaluation Contractor Certification

Agency:New Jersey Department of Community Affairs - Division of Codes and Standards - Lead Hazard Abatement Program
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

Application, Lead Evaluation Contractor

Agency Fee:

$2,518

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application, Lead Evaluation Contractor (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$2,518

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

New Jersey Mechanical Contractor License

Not required



Mechanical/HVAC Contractor Company licensure is not required on the State level in New Jersey.

New Jersey does not issue firm licenses for mechanical contractors, however, a Master HVACR License may be required before an individual establishes an HVAC business.

All builders of owner-occupied new homes, including single family, townhouse, duplex (two-family), cooperative, condominium, factory-built, and modular residences are required to register with the New Home Warranty Program. A builder is any individual or organization in the business of constructing new homes, including anyone who constructs a new home for sale, acts as prime contractor to construct a new home for himself/herself or for another person, contracts with a general contractor for construction of a new home, or sells or transfers title to land and then participates in the construction of a new home. It does not include a person who constructs a new home for his/her own personal use, a licensed architect, engineer, or attorney, or someone who contracts with a licensed architect, engineer, or attorney to provide professional services related to the construction of a new home.

Each new home building business is required to register separately. The name of the company which is transferring title to the new home is the entity which must register and warrant the new home.

New Jersey New Home Builder Registration

Agency:State of New Jersey Department of Community Affairs Division of Codes And Standards - Bureau of Homeowner Protection
Law:

New Home Warranty and Builders’ Registration Act, N.J.S.A. 46:3B-10 and promulgated regulations, N.J.A.C. 5:25-1.1 et seq.

Eligible Entity Types:
  • Corporations 
  • Limited Partnerships 
  • General Partnerships Agreements 
  • Joint Venture Agreements 
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Ownership Requirements:

Corporations, limited partnerships, general partnerships, and joint ventures must submit a copy of their certificate of incorporation, certificate of limited partnership, general partnership agreement, or joint venture agreement, as appropriate.

Financial Requirements:

All beneficiaries of the “Estate of…” or “Trust” with 10% or more interest must be listed as a principal/members/officers on the new home builder registration application. All beneficiaries listed on the application must also fill out Schedules A, B, and/or C by following the instructions on the new home builder registration application. If any beneficiary is under the age of 18 the guardian or trustee for that individual’s interest must be listed. (Submit a copy of the Trust Agreement with your application.)

Notes:

By completing this application, you consent to a criminal history records check for a noncriminal justice purpose.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Home Builder Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$200

Turnaround:

20 business days 

Penalties:

Applications may be deemed incomplete and closed after 30 days, if after having been notified by the New Home Builder Registration Unit of a deficiency, the applicant fails to correct the deficient application submission. If an application is closed a new application and a new $200.00 application fee is required to restart or continue the application process.

Notes:
  • The name of the business or person who owns the property and is transferring title is the entity/person that must register as a new home builder and issue the warranty for the new home. This exact name should appear on your application for registration as a new home builder in the state of new jersey. If you are the only owner of the business and are doing business under your own name as a sole proprietor, list your own name.
  • List all other names under which the new home builder will be doing business (include a copy of the Trade Certificate or Alternate Name
    Certificate of assumed name on file with the county or state.)
    • D/B/As, AKAs, trade names, fictitious names, etc. must be filed with the State Department of Treasury or the county or town where the new home builder is conducting business.
Required Attachments:
  • Applicants must provide Business Formation documents:
    • Certificate of Incorporation
    • Partnership Agreement
    • Joint Venture Agreement
    • Certificate of Formation
    • For LLC: Trust Agreement
  • If the Certificate of Incorporation or Certificate of Formation is more than 1 year old, also submit the Business Entity Status Report, Annual Report, or Long Form Standing showing the current principals/officers and status of the company.
  • Out of state (foreign) entities must also submit a Certificate of Authority to do Business in New Jersey.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Home Builder Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$200

Due:

Biennially by date of issuance. 

Required Attachments:
  • Submit the Business Entity Status Report, Annual Report, or Long Form Standing showing the current principals/officers and status of the company
  • If there have been any changes since the previous renewal with regard to principals, members, directors, partners or officers in this building entity, please include documentation reflecting those changes
    • For Corporations provide-a copy of the annual report status form indicating the current principals in the entity. A copy of a unanimous consent in writing or an action by consent in writing from the secretary of the entity indicating appointments/regenerations and/or terminations of officers is acceptable.
    • For Limited Liablity Companies provide a copy of the operating agreement or annual report stylus form indicting the current principals in the company.
  • Provide Operating Agreement (if available).
  • Provide judgment and discharge documents, if there were judgments issued against the building entity.
  • Provide applicable documents, if the building entity has gone through a bankruptcy, business reorganization, fianancial reorganization or liquidation.
  • If you will be using a private new home warranty plan, provide private New Home Warranty acceptance letter and member enrollment number, or proof of current membership enrollment. (If your company is not yet enrolled, once enrolled you have 30 days to submit proof of enrollment
    to the Bureau.).

New Jersey Plumbing Contractor License

Not required



Plumbing Contractor Company licensure is not required on the State level in New Jersey.

There is no state level license for plumbing firms in New Jersey, however, individual and local licensing requirements may apply.

Individual Licenses

New Jersey Individual Construction and Contracting Licenses

New Jersey Apprentice Plumber Registration

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - State Board of Examiners of Master Plumbers

Initial Registration

Form:

New Jersey Apprentice Plumber Registration

Agency Fee:

$50

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

By June 30 of odd-numbered years.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

New Jersey Asbestos Supervisor Permit

Agency:New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development - Office of Asbestos Control & Licensing

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Permit

Agency Fee:

$150

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application for Permit (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually from the date of initial permit

New Jersey Asbestos Worker Permit

Agency:New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development - Office of Asbestos Control & Licensing

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Permit

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application for Permit (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Annually from the date of initial permit

New Jersey Dewatering Well Driller License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection - Division of Water Supply and Geoscience

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for New Jersey Well Drilling & Pump Installer License

Agency Fee:

There is currently no application fee for any category of NJ well driller or pump installer license. Exam fees for the required technical and regulatory exams are paid directly to the third-party testing vendor that administers the test. Once an applicant has been approved for licensure by the NJ State Well Drillers & Pump Installers Examining & Advisory Board (Board), payment of a license fee is required to activate the license. These fees are pro-rated based on the remaining time left in the 3-year license cycle for which driller and pump installer licenses are valid.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$300

Due:

Triennially by June 30.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

New Jersey Home Repair Salesperson License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance - Home Repair Contractor/Salesperson

Initial Registration

Form:

Instructions/Application/Personal Certification

Agency Fee:

$60

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

By June 30 of odd-numbered years.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

New Jersey Journeyman Electrician License

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - Board of Examiners and Electrical Contractors

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for a Certificate of Registration to Practice as a Qualified Journeyman Electrician

Agency Fee:

If paid during the first year of a triennial; $ 60.00; second year of a triennial; $ 40.00; third year of a triennial; $ 20.00.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$60

Due:

Three years from the date of initial licensure.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

New Jersey Journeyman Plumber Registration

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - State Board of Examiners of Master Plumbers

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Registration as a Journeyman Plumber

Agency Fee:

$75; The application fee is $50.00 if the applicant has previously registered with the Board as an apprentice plumber.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Due:

By June 30 of odd-numbered years.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

New Jersey Journeyman Well Driller License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection - Division of Water Supply and Geoscience

Initial Registration

Form:

New Jersey Journeyman Well Driller License

Agency Fee:

There is currently no application fee for any category of NJ well driller or pump installer license. Exam fees for the required technical and regulatory exams are paid directly to the third-party testing vendor that administers the test. Once an applicant has been approved for licensure by the NJ State Well Drillers & Pump Installers Examining & Advisory Board (Board), payment of a license fee is required to activate the license. These fees are pro-rated based on the remaining time left in the 3-year license cycle for which driller and pump installer licenses are valid.

Notarize:Required
Notes:

The applicant will apply for their license after they have taken all the necessary exams and have met the appropriate experience requirements.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$300

Due:

Triennially by June 30.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

New Jersey Lead Inspector / Assessor License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Health - Consumer, Environmental and Occupational Health Service
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Qualifying Individual Requirements:
  • Proof of passing 2-part third-party state examination
  • Education and Experience - must provide proof of one of the following:
    • Bachelor’s degree and two (2) years of experience in a related field*
    • One (1) year of experience* and proof of certification as Registered Environmental Health Specialist (formerly sanitary inspector-grade 1), health officer, an industrial hygienist, an engineer, a registered architect, or an environmentally-related scientific experience in a related field (such as asbestos, lead, environmental remediation, construction-related health, safety inspections, etc.)
    • A high school diploma (or equivalent) and three (3) years of experience in a related field*

*Related experience means experience in asbestos, lead, environmental remediation, construction-related health, safety inspections, or other types of environmental or inspection-type work.

Initial Registration

Form:

Lead Inspector / Assessor Registration Application (EHS-24)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$150

Required Attachments:
  • Applicants must include a passport-sized (approximately 2”x 2”) color photograph of the applicant with the applicant’s face not being less than three-quarters of an inch wide. Must have white, uncluttered background, with no hat, glasses or anything that disguises overall facial features.
  • Applicant’s name and ID Number (from permit) or control number (from top right corner of pink EHS-9 form) must be clearly printed on back of photo.
  • Proof of at least one (1) year of experience in a related field (for example: asbestos, lead, environmental remediation work, construction-related health and safety inspections, etc.) AND one (1) of the following:
    • A bachelor’s degree and one (1) additional year of
      experience in a related field; or
    • Certification as a sanitary inspector-grade 1, a health officer, an industrial hygienist, an engineer, a registered architect, or in an environmentally-related scientific field (such as environmental scientist); or
    • A high school diploma (or equivalent) and at least two
      (2) years of experience in a related field. 
  • Score report issued by Pearson Vue indicating that the
    applicant has passed third-party state Inspector/Risk
    Assessor exam.
    • Acceptable documentation includes the following:
      • High school diploma (or equivalent);
      •  college degree;
      • resumes, letters of reference, proof of certification in another state, documentation of work experience and copies of inspection reports;
      • certificates from training courses or professional development courses;
      • a signed, notarized statement by the applicant that the
        individual meets the applicable qualifications.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Lead Inspector / Assessor Renewal Application (EHS-24)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Biennially by date of issuance. 

Notes:

Renewal applicants must submit their application during the 90-calendar day period prior to or the 90-calendar day period after their previous permit’s expiration. Any applications pending in excess of one year will be rejected.

Required Attachments:
  • Provide proof of having taken refresher training approved by the NJDOH
  • Submit a passport-sized color photo (must be on a white, uncluttered background, no hat, glasses or anything that would disguise the face) with application

New Jersey Master Plumber License

Agency:New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs - State Board of Examiners of Master Plumbers

Initial Registration

Form:

Application to Take the Examination to Become a Licensed Master Plumber

Agency Fee:

$100

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$160

Due:

By June 30 of odd-numbered years.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

New Jersey Master Well Driller License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection - Division of Water Supply and Geoscience

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for New Jersey Well Drilling & Pump Installer License

Agency Fee:

There is currently no application fee for any category of NJ well driller or pump installer license. Exam fees for the required technical and regulatory exams are paid directly to the third-party testing vendor that administers the test. Once an applicant has been approved for licensure by the NJ State Well Drillers & Pump Installers Examining & Advisory Board (Board), payment of a license fee is required to activate the license. These fees are pro-rated based on the remaining time left in the 3-year license cycle for which driller and pump installer licenses are valid.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$300

Due:

Triennially by June 30.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

New Jersey Pump Installer License

Agency:New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection - Division of Water Supply and Geoscience

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for New Jersey Well Drilling & Pump Installer License

Agency Fee:

There is currently no application fee for any category of NJ well driller or pump installer license. Exam fees for the required technical and regulatory exams are paid directly to the third-party testing vendor that administers the test. Once an applicant has been approved for licensure by the NJ State Well Drillers & Pump Installers Examining & Advisory Board (Board), payment of a license fee is required to activate the license. These fees are pro-rated based on the remaining time left in the 3-year license cycle for which driller and pump installer licenses are valid.

Notarize:Required
Notes:

The applicant will apply for their license after they have taken all the necessary exams and have met the appropriate experience requirements.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Triennially by June 30.

Notes:

Renewal applications are not available online. Renewal invoices will be sent directly to individual licensees.

Explore Licensing in Other States

Associated General Contractors of America
Professional association providing advocacy and organization for construction firms and workers.

National Association of Home Builders
National association for the promotion of the housing industry.

National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
National organization that represents and promotes the interests of state level contractor licensing agencies.

© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.