Insurance Licensing Compliance Guide
An overhead view of a woman signing forms

Virginia Insurance License

An insurance agent inspecting the damages to a car

Licensing requirements for Virginia insurance professionals and companies.

This page provides an overview of insurance licensing in Virginia for individuals and companies. You will find state requirements, application fees, filing instructions, and more. For assistance with licensing, please contact us to learn about our software and managed license services.

Companies that provide insurance producer services in Virginia must apply for a license prior to doing business. Depending on the lines of authority offered by the entity and the types of services offered, multiple firm licenses may be required.

Before applying, firms should ensure that the licensed individual to be appointed agent in charge has the necessary licenses. Firms should also gather proof of incorporation, or foreign qualification for out-of-state firms, in anticipation of application requirements.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(2)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(2)
Individual Licenses
(2)
(1)
(2)
(3)
(2)
(2)
(2)

Company Licenses

Virginia Financial Services Company Licenses

Virginia Collection Agency License

Not required



Debt Collection Agency licensure is not required on the State level in Virginia.

Virginia does not currently issue licenses for collection agencies.

Virginia Consultant License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Consultant License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Independent Review Organization Registration

Type of Review:

Medical Utilization Review

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Law:

VA Code § 38.2-3566

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Fact Checked:2/19/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Form 216-E: Independent Review Organization Application

Agency Fee:

$0

Required Attachments:
  • Organization and governing structure of the independent review organization
  • The names of the health carriers for which you conduct independent reviews
  • A copy of your most recent certificate from American Accreditation Healthcare Commission (URAC) Standards for Independent Review Organizations
  • Biographical information for organization officers and directors
  • A list of specific areas of clinical expertise in which you conduct independent reviews, if applicable
  • A copy of your Certificate of Authority to do business in the Commonwealth of Virginia from the Virginia State Corporation Commission Clerk’s Office
  • Schedule of fees
Fact Checked:2/19/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form 216-E: Independent Review Organization Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Biennially

Fact Checked:2/19/21

Supplemental Reporting
Independent Review Organization External Review Annual Report

Form:

Form 216-G: Independent Review Organization External Review Annual Report

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by April 1.

Fact Checked:2/19/21

Virginia Insurance Agency License

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:11/1/19

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in Virginia for the first time.

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Form:

https://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/appfee.aspx

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $15

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in Virginia and need to renew their license.

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Form:

https://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/appfee.aspx

Agency Fee:

$50 for most

Due:

Perpetual for major lines and annually for non-standard lines.

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Virginia Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Limited Line Firm License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Virginia Limited Lines Firm License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Private Review Agent (PRA) Certification

Agency:Virginia Department of Health - Office of Licensure and Certification
Law:

VA Code § 32.1-138.7

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:2/23/21

Initial Registration

Form:

PRA Application

Agency Fee:

$500

Fact Checked:2/23/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

PRA Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Biennially by the anniversary of the initial registration date.

Fact Checked:2/23/21

Virginia Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Surplus Lines Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Surplus Lines Broker License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Individual Licenses

Virginia Individual Financial Services Licenses

Virginia Consultant License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Consultant License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15 per line of authority.

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Individual Insurance Producer License

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:4/30/20

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15 per line of authority

Fact Checked:4/30/20

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Producer licenses are perpetual and do not need to be renewed, however, producers must meet continuing education requirements to maintain their license.

Virginia Insurance Agent License

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:12/31/20

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in Virginia for the first time.

Agency Fee:

From $15 to $250 depending on license type

Fact Checked:6/1/17

Virginia Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Limited Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Limited Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Virginia Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Surplus Lines Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Surplus Lines Broker License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Learn about insurance licensing in other states:

Adjuster - A person or firm that is paid to adjust, investigate, and negotiate claim settlements. There are 3 categories of adjusters: company, independent, and public. Company adjusters work for insurance companies and investigate claims on behalf of the company. Independent adjusters investigate claims on a contractual basis for insurance companies. Public adjusters investigate claims on behalf of claimants, usually to determine the amount of money that can be claimed.

Agent in Charge - A licensed individual responsible for the supervision of all individuals within an insurance agency. The agent in charge must be licensed in the same lines as the agency.

Insurance Agent - Insurance agents act as intermediaries between the insurance company and policyholders. Agents can be either captive or independent. Captive agents represent a single insurance company, while independent agents represent multiple insurers.

Insurance Broker - Individuals who sell insurance policies while representing the interests of the buyer. Brokers are typically independent intermediaries without an insurance company affiliation.

Insurance Producer - May be used to refer to either individual insurance agents and brokers or insurance agencies and brokerages.

Managing General Agent - An agent or broker that is involved in underwriting and has other areas of authority normally handled by insurers. MGAs are typically involved in unusual lines of coverage or in geographically prohibitive areas.

Surplus Lines Insurer - An insurance carrier that takes on risks that a licensed carrier is unwilling to insure. Surplus lines insurers do not have access to state guaranty funds and are less tightly regulated by state governing bodies.

Third Party Administrator - An organization that manages group insurance policies and works with the employer and insurance carrier to process claims, handle loss control, and provide risk management and consulting services.

Title Agent - Title agents sell insurance that protects real estate owners against loss of ownership of a property due to a legal claim.

Viatical Settlement Provider - A company that purchases life insurance policies at a discount from individuals seeking immediately available funds.

Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big “I”)
Advocacy group of independent insurance brokers and agents.

National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA)
Professional association that advocates for favorable regulatory conditions for insurance agents and financial advisors.

National Association of Insurance Companies (NAIC)
A standard setting and regulatory support organization that is governed by state insurance regulators.

National Association of Professional Insurance Agents (PIA)
Professional association that provides education and advocacy for insurance agents throughout the United States.

National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)
An affiliate of the NAIC that provides streamlined and uniform producer licensing processes.

© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.