50-State Financial Services Licensing Compliance Guide
An overhead view of a laptop and calculator

Nevada Finance Licensing

Someone pointing to a stock chart displayed on a laptop

Licenses are typically required for individuals and businesses that provide finance industry services in the United States. This guide contains information about professional finance licensing in Nevada.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(2)
(4)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(1)
(2)
Individual Licenses
(1)
(8)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(2)

Company Licenses

Nevada Financial Services Company Licenses

Nevada Escrow Agency License

Agency:Nevada Department of Business and Industry - Division of Mortgage Lending
Law:

NRS § 645A.015

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Bond Requirements:

A surety bond ranging from $20,000 to $250,000 based on the average monthly balance of the trust account or escrow account is required.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Escrow Agency

Agency Fee:

$500 application fee + $200 license fee due after approval

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Escrow Agency Application for Renewal

Instructions:

Escrow Agency Renewal General Instructions and Checklist

Agency Fee:

$200

Due:

Annually by July 1.

Notarize:Required

Nevada Escrow Agency License - Branch

Agency:Nevada Department of Business and Industry - Division of Mortgage Lending
Law:

NRS § 645A.015

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Bond Requirements:

A surety bond ranging from $20,000 to $250,000 based on the average monthly balance of the trust account or escrow account is required.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Escrow Agency

Agency Fee:

$100 application fee + $100 license fee due after appproval

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Escrow Agency Application for Renewal

Instructions:

Escrow Agency Renewal General Instructions and Checklist

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Annually by July 1.

Notarize:Required

Nevada Independent Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 renewal fee + $50 per Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP)

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Independent Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 renewal fee + $50 per Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP)

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Independent Review Organization Registration

Type of Review:

Medical or Workers' Compensation Utilization Review

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance
Law:

NRS § 616A.469

Initial Registration

Form:

Uniform Application for Business Entity License/Registration

Agency Fee:

$460 for a health review organization or $660 for a combined health and workers compensation review organization.

Required Attachments:
  • Written statement, written summary of procedures, and written affidavit required by NAC 683A.600
  • Proof of certification or accreditation by a nationally recognized private accrediting entity (if applicable)
  • A copy of the certification or accreditation standards of the accrediting body
  • A copy of the most recent review of the external review organization conducted by the accrediting body
  • The schedule of fees that the external review organization will charge to conduct an external review

Registration Renewal

Form:

Uniform Application for Business Entity License/Registration (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$460 for a health review organization or $660 for a combined health and workers compensation review organization.

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Nevada Insurance Agency License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in Nevada for the first time.

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance
Form:

http://doi.nv.gov/Licensing/

Agency Fee:

$185 for most

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in Nevada and need to renew their license.

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance
Form:

http://doi.nv.gov/Licensing/

Agency Fee:

$185 for most

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Non-Res Producer/Producer Firm License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 + $50 per DRLP listed on application 

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 renewal fee + $50 per Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP)

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Non-Resident Motor Club Agency License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$138

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$138

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Non-Resident Surplus Lines Broker License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 renewal fee + $50 per Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP)

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 renewal fee + $50 per Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP)

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 renewal fee + $50 per Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP)

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Res Producer/Producer Firm License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 + $50 per DRLP listed on application 

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 renewal fee + $50 per Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP)

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Resident Motor Club Agency License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$216

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$138

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Resident Surplus Lines Broker License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Third Party Administrator License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Bond Requirements:

The bond must be in the amount of the schedule in NAC 683A.155 but not less than $100,000 and in favor of the State of Nevada with a 90-day cancellation clause. Power of Attorney must be attached to fully executed bond. Submit the original bond, not a copy.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

TPA Registration Application Checlist and Innstructions

Filing Method:

Online,mail or email TPAmail@doi.nv.gov 

Agency Fee:

$185

Law:

NRS 680B.010, NRS 680C.110,  NRS 683A.08522(1), NAC 683A.105, NRS 683A.0857, NAC 683A.155, - NRS 683A.08522(2), - NRS 683A.08522(3), NRS 683A.08522(4), NRS 600.350, NRS 683A.08522(5), NRS 683A.08522(6), NRS 683A.08522(8), NRS 683A.08522(7), NAC 616B.448(4), NAC 683A.165, NRS 683A.08522(9), NAC 683A.115, NRS 683A.086, NRS 683A.083

Required Attachments:

Completed Application for Certificate of Registration as a Third-Party Administrator, financial statements, bond, entity formation documents, Bylaws, Certificate of Registration, organizational chart, biogrpahical affidavits, other licenses, offices of the administrator, plan of operation, agreements. 

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail, email or online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially by date of issuance. 

Law:

 NRS 683A.08526,  NRS 683A.0893

Nevada Utilization Review Agent Registration

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance
Law:

NRS § 683A.378

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Certificate of Registration for Utilization Review

Agency Fee:

$310

Required Attachments:
  • A summary of the plan for utilization review including procedures for appealing determinations made through utilization review

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application for Certificate of Registration for Utilization Review (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$310

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Individual Licenses

Nevada Individual Financial Services Licenses

Nevada Company Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Company Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Nevada Escrow Agent License

Agency:Nevada Department of Business and Industry - Division of Mortgage Lending

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Escrow Agent

Agency Fee:

$100 application fee + $25 license fee due after approval

Registration Renewal

Form:

Escrow Agent Application for Renewal

Instructions:

Escrow Agent Renewal General Instructions and Checklist

Agency Fee:

$125

Due:

Annually by July 1.

Nevada Independent Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Independent Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance
Exam Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Insurance Agent License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in Nevada for the first time.

Agency Fee:

From $138 to $235 depending on license type

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Renew online through Sircon.

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially

Penalties:

$62.50 fee for late renewals.

Nevada Non-Resident Motor Club Agent License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$216

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$138

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Non-Resident Producer License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Non-Resident Surplus Lines Broker License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance
Exam Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Resident Motor Club Agent License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$216

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$138

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Resident Producer License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185 + $50.00 per DRLP fee

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Resident Surplus Lines Broker License

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially

Nevada Staff Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$185

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Nevada Staff Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Nevada Division of Insurance
Exam Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$310

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$247.50

Due:

Triennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Explore licensing in other states:

Adjuster - A person or firm that is paid to adjust, investigate, and negotiate claim settlements. There are 3 categories of adjusters: company, independent, and public. Company adjusters work for insurance companies and investigate claims on behalf of the company. Independent adjusters investigate claims on a contractual basis for insurance companies. Public adjusters investigate claims on behalf of claimants, usually to determine the amount of money that can be claimed.

Agent in Charge - A licensed individual responsible for the supervision of all individuals within an insurance agency. The agent in charge must be licensed in the same lines as the agency.

Insurance Agent - Insurance agents act as intermediaries between the insurance company and policyholders. Agents can be either captive or independent. Captive agents represent a single insurance company, while independent agents represent multiple insurers.

Insurance Broker - Individuals who sell insurance policies while representing the interests of the buyer. Brokers are typically independent intermediaries without an insurance company affiliation.

Insurance Producer - May be used to refer to either individual insurance agents and brokers or insurance agencies and brokerages.

Managing General Agent - An agent or broker that is involved in underwriting and has other areas of authority normally handled by insurers. MGAs are typically involved in unusual lines of coverage or in geographically prohibitive areas.

Surplus Lines Insurer - An insurance carrier that takes on risks that a licensed carrier is unwilling to insure. Surplus lines insurers do not have access to state guaranty funds and are less tightly regulated by state governing bodies.

Third Party Administrator - An organization that manages group insurance policies and works with the employer and insurance carrier to process claims, handle loss control, and provide risk management and consulting services.

Title Agent - Title agents sell insurance that protects real estate owners against loss of ownership of a property due to a legal claim.

Viatical Settlement Provider - A company that purchases life insurance policies at a discount from individuals seeking immediately available funds.

Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big “I”)
Advocacy group of independent insurance brokers and agents.

National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA)
Professional association that advocates for favorable regulatory conditions for insurance agents and financial advisors.

National Association of Insurance Companies (NAIC)
A standard setting and regulatory support organization that is governed by state insurance regulators.

National Association of Professional Insurance Agents (PIA)
Professional association that provides education and advocacy for insurance agents throughout the United States.

National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)
An affiliate of the NAIC that provides streamlined and uniform producer licensing processes.

Financial Services License Service  Need help with your licensing? We help finance professionals manage their  licenses and registrations. Learn More. View License Services
© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.