50-State Financial Services Licensing Compliance Guide
An overhead view of a laptop and calculator

North Carolina Finance Licensing

Someone pointing to a stock chart displayed on a laptop

Licenses are typically required for individuals and businesses that provide finance industry services in the United States. This guide contains information about professional finance licensing in North Carolina.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(2)

Company Licenses

North Carolina Financial Services Company Licenses

North Carolina Collection Agency License

Agency:North Carolina Department of Insurance
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Financial Requirements:

Applicants must have a net worth of at least $5,000 demonstrated by a financial statement.

Bond Requirements:

$10,000 for domestic agencies and $20,000 for foreign agencies.

Notes:

North Carolina does not issue branch office licenses, but agencies with multiple locations will each need an agency license.

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$1,000 application fee + $48 processing fee.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$1,000 application fee + $38 processing fee.

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Amendment

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Within 30 days after the change is finalized.

Notes:

Ownership changes can be reported online.

Amendment

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Within 10 business days after the change.

Notes:

Agency name and address changes can be made online.

North Carolina Consumer Finance License

Agency:North Carolina Commissioner of Banks - Consumer Finance Section
Law:

NCGS § 53-168

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Automatic Exemption

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Any person, firm or corporation doing business under the authority of any law of this State or of the United States relating to banks, trust companies, savings and loan associations, cooperative credit unions, agricultural credit corporations or associations organized under the laws of North Carolina;
  • Production credit associations organized under the act of Congress known as the Farm Credit Act of 1933;
  • Pawnbrokers lending or advancing money on specific articles of personal property;
  • Industrial banks;
  • The business of negotiating loans on real estate as defined in G.S. 105-41;
  • Installment paper dealers as defined in G.S. 105-83 other than persons, firms and corporations engaged in the business of accepting fees for endorsing or otherwise securing loans or contracts for repayment of loans
Notes:

NC Stat. § 53-191

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$250

Renewal Not Required

Not required



There are no annual licensing renewal requirements. However, there is an annual assessment fee which is invoiced the first week in July, and is due upon receipt.

Supplemental Reporting

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by March 31.

North Carolina Money Transmitter License

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Instructions:

Requirements Checklist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$1500 application fee + $15 credit report fee + $36.25 background check fee + $0.25 fee per agent per year

North Carolina Mortgage Branch License

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Instructions:

Requirements Checklist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$20 + $300 license/registration fee + $15 credit report fee + $36.25 background check fee

North Carolina Mortgage Broker License

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Instructions:

Requirements Checklist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100 + $1250 license/registration fee + $15 credit report fee + $36.25 background check fee

North Carolina Mortgage Lender License

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Instructions:

Requirements Checklist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100 + $1250 license/registration fee + $15 credit report fee + $36.25 background check fee + $500 reverse mortgage lender fee

North Carolina Mortgage Origination Support Registration

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Instructions:

Requirements Checklist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100 + registration fee ($250 <5 people; $1000 5-30 people; $2000 >30 people) + $15 credit report fee + $36.25 background check fee

North Carolina Mortgage Servicer License

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Instructions:

Requirements Checklist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100 + $1250 license/registration fee + $15 credit report fee + $36.25 background check fee

North Carolina Sales Finance Company License

Not required



Sales Finance Company licensure is not required on the State level in North Carolina.

North Carolina does not currently issue licenses to sales finance companies.

Individual Licenses

North Carolina Individual Financial Services Licenses

North Carolina Exclusive Mortgage Broker License

Initial Registration

Instructions:

Requirements Checklist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30 + $300 application fee

North Carolina Mortgage Loan Originator License

Initial Registration

Instructions:

Requirements Checklist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30 + $125 application fee + $15 credit report fee + $36.25 background check fee

Explore licensing in other states:

Financial Services License Service  Need help with your licensing? We help finance professionals manage their  licenses and registrations. Learn More. View License Services