Louisiana Nonprofit Compliance

Required annual filings

This guide covers the required filings to maintain a nonprofit corporation in Louisiana. If you are looking to form nonprofit in Louisiana, please visit our Start Your Louisiana Nonprofit guide. The steps below apply to nonprofits that are both incorporated and foreign qualified in Louisiana. Please note that this is a general list and may not be exhaustive or applicable to all nonprofits.

View Guide Contents
1 File IRS Form 990
Agency:Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Form:

IRS Form 990-N, 990-EZ, 990-PF or 990

Instructions:

See Form 990 Thresholds to determine which form to file.  Then see Current Form 990 Series for instructions.

Due:

The 15 day of the 5 month following the end of the taxable year.  For most organizations, the tax year ends December 31 so the Form 990 is due May 15.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
2 File Louisiana Corporate Tax Exemption Renewals

Not required



There is no renewal requirement for Louisiana corporate income tax exemption.

More information: Louisiana Department of Revenue
3 File Louisiana Sales Tax Exemption Renewals

Not required



Louisiana does not currently offer general sales tax exemptions for nonprofits.

More information: Louisiana Department of Revenue
4 File Louisiana Annual Report

If the nonprofit was formed in Louisiana (Domestic):

Agency:Louisiana Secretary of State - Commercial Division
Form:

Can be accessed up to 4 weeks prior to due date here.

Filing method:

Mail or online.

Agency fee:

$15

Due:

Annually by registration anniversary.

Law:

Louisiana Statutes 12:205.1

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Penalties:

No late fee. Your business can be dissolved or revoked at 3 years late.

Notes:
  • An officer, director, manager, member, partner, or agent can file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by mail.

If the nonprofit was formed outside of Louisiana (Foreign):

Agency:Louisiana Secretary of State - Commercial Division
Form:

Can be accessed up to 4 weeks prior to due date here.

Filing method:

Mail or online.

Agency fee:

$30

Due:

Annually by registration anniversary.

Law:

Louisiana Statutes 12:1-1621

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Penalties:

No late fee. Your business can be dissolved or revoked at 3 years late.

Notes:
  • An officer, director, manager, member, partner, or agent can file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by mail.
5 Renew the Charitable Solicitation Registration

Louisiana Charitable Organization Registration

Agency:Louisiana Department of Justice - Public Protection Division - Charities
Legal Notes:

Louisiana Revised Statutes Ann. §§ 51:1901-1902; Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 16, Part III, §515

Automatic Exemption

Exemption Eligible Organizations:

Charities that do not use professional solicitors

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Notes:

Charities that do not use professional fundraisers are automatically exempt from registration.

One-Time Exemption Registration

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Religious organizations
  • Educational institutions
  • Hospitals and voluntary health organizations
Form:

Charitable Exemption Form

Agency fee:

$0

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Required
Notes:

Exemptions do not expire as long as the organization continues to qualify under the exemption criteria.

Initial Registration

Form:

Your submission packet should include:

  • URS multi-state registration
  • A copy of all contracts with professional solicitors
  • A copy of the most recent IRS 990
  • A copy of the IRS Determination Letter
  • A copy of the Bylaws
  • A copy of the Articles of Incorporation
  • List of other states in which your organization is registered
  • $25 state fee
Filing method:

Mail

Agency fee:

$25

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Notes:
  • Make sure to include all required attachments
  • Include signatures as required in the URS form instructions
  • Some Louisiana counties and municipalities may require charities that solicit in-person to register prior to fundraising.

Registration Renewal

Form:

URS multi-state registration

Filing method:

Mail

Agency fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by the date of initial registration.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Notes:
  • Make sure to include all required attachments, including IRS Form 990
  • Include signatures as required in the URS form instructions
6Maintain a Louisiana Registered Agent

Maintain a registered agent that has a street address in Louisiana. The registered agent is responsible for receiving legal documents such as service of process. Appointing a registered agent service is often preferable to listing an officer or director, as their information often changes. Consider using our registered agent service in Lafayette , LA to maintain compliance with the state requirement.

Harbor Compliance® proudly partners with the Louisiana Association of Nonprofit Organizations to provide insightful resources and compliance solutions to nonprofits in Louisiana.



Contact Our Team

Complete the form and we will reach out within one business day.

We respect your privacy per our privacy policy.

Nonprofit Compliance Solutions

Streamline your organization's compliance with our national turnkey solutions for burdensome government paperwork, corporate filings, and licensing.

Continue reading

Fundraising Compliance

Learn how to stay compliant with charitable solicitation laws.

Read the guide
© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance is not an accounting or law firm and does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice.