50-State Financial Services Licensing Compliance Guide
An overhead view of a laptop and calculator

Louisiana Finance Licensing

Someone pointing to a stock chart displayed on a laptop

Licenses are typically required for individuals and businesses that provide finance industry services in the United States. This guide contains information about professional finance licensing in Louisiana.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(4)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(1)
(2)
Individual Licenses
(4)
(1)
(2)
(2)

Company Licenses

Louisiana Financial Services Company Licenses

Louisiana Claim Adjuster Agency License - Non-Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Biennially by March 31.

Louisiana Claim Adjuster Agency License - Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

By December 31 of odd-numbered years.

Louisiana Collection Agency/Debt Collector Registration

Agency:Louisiana Secretary of State - Commercial Division

Initial Registration

Form:

Collection Agency Registration

Agency Fee:

$25

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Collection agency registrations do not need to be renewed, however, changes to agency information should be reported.

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Louisiana Consultant License - Non-Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by March 31.

Louisiana Consultant License - Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

By December 31 of odd-numbered years.

Louisiana Independent Review Organization Registration

Type of Review:

Medical Utilization Review

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance
Law:

Louisiana Stat. § 22:2440

Initial Registration

Form:

Independent Review Application

Agency Fee:

$500

Required Attachments:
  • Copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Association, partnership agreement or other such organizational documents and all amendments thereto of the applicant certified by the proper domiciliary official. The certification must be dated within 90 days of submission.
  • Copy of the by-laws, operating agreement, rules, regulations or similar document of the applicant certified as true and correct by the secretary of the applicant. The certification must be dated within 90 days of submission.
  • Trade name certificate issued by the Secretary of State of Louisiana confirming registration of any trade name with that Office. This item must be supplied by any applicant utilizing a trade name in Louisiana.
  • Completed biographical affidavits for all persons responsible for the conduct of affairs of the applicant. This should include all officers, all directors, all partners (in the case of a partnership), all trustees, all executive committee members and all person(s) owning, directly or indirectly, 10 percent or more of the applicant and any other person who exercises control or influence over the affairs of the applicant.
  • Copy of the procedures manual of the applicant which meets the statutory requirements for making performing external independent reviews. Required only from applicants which are not accredited by URAC.
  • A detailed description of the corporate organizational/ownership structure of the applicant, its parent company and all affiliates. This description should include a chart showing the ownership percentages for any persons owning 10 percent or more of the applicant and all affiliated entities up to and including the ultimate controlling person. The chart must include the state of domicile and the Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) for each person.

Renewal Not Required

Not required



IRO registrations do not expire.

Louisiana Insurance Agency License

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in Louisiana for the first time.

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance
Form:

https://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/producer-adjuster/license-application

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $55

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in Louisiana and need to renew their license.

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance
Form:

https://www.ldi.la.gov/industry/producer-adjuster/license-application

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $55

Due:

Biennially

Louisiana Non-Resident Claims Adjuster Agency License

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance
Requirement Notes:

A Louisiana-licensed resident or non-resident designated licensed responsible producer is required.

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Apply online via NIPR.

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

File online through NIPR.

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by March 31

Penalties:

$50 fee added for late renewals.

Louisiana Producer Agency License - Non-Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

Biennially by March 31.

Louisiana Producer Agency License - Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

By December 31 of odd-numbered years.

Louisiana Public Adjuster Agency License - Non-Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Biennially by March 31.

Louisiana Public Adjuster Agency License - Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

By December 31 of odd-numbered years.

Louisiana Third Party Administrator License

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance
Law:

If the applicant is domiciled in Louisiana, the entity is subject to the provisions of LAC37:XXIII. Chapter 5L (Regulation 66) and must supply certain additional information for all persons responsible for the conduct of affairs of the applicant.

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Bond Requirements:

Provide evidence of a statutory deposit as indicated below. 

  • A one hundred thousand dollar ($100,000.00) surety bond issued by a surety company licensed to do business in the state of Louisiana. The appropriate bond form is attached. The original bond must be submitted.
  • A safekeeping or trust receipt from a bank doing business within the state or from a savings and loan association chartered to do business in this state verifying that the applicant has deposited one hundred thousand dollars($100,000.00) in money or acceptable bonds with that institution and pledged said deposit to the Commissioner of Insurance. The banks have the necessary pledge forms. Do not contact this Office to request one.
  • A bond in compliance with La. R.S. 23:1196 C(1). This requirement is applicable to any applicant which is acting as a third party administrator (service company) of only workers’ compensation self insured funds
    licensed pursuant to La. R.S. 23:1191, et seq.
  • The business of the applicant is restricted solely to benefit plans which are fully insured by an authorized insurer.
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

TPA Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail or elecotrinc filing. 

Agency Fee:

$500

Turnaround:

60 to 90 days. 

Registration Renewal

Any entity licensed as a third party administrator on the previous December 31 must file an annual report for that year.

Filing Method:

Online

Due:

Annually by March 1. 

Law:

 La. R.S. 22:1651(H)

Penalties:

Failure to file the annual report and fee will not result in an expiration of the license. It may, however, result in the revocation or suspension of the license. Such actions are reported to all other states as regulatory actions and may lead to additional actions by other states.

Louisiana Utilization Review Organization Registration

Type of Review:

Medical Utilization Review

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance
Law:

LA Stat. § 22:2394

Initial Registration

Form:

Utilization Review Organization (URO) Application

Agency Fee:

$1,500

Notarize:Required
Required Attachments:
  • A copy of the articles of incorporation, articles of association, partnership agreement or other such organizational documents and all amendments thereto of the applicant certified by the proper domiciliary official. The certification must be original and dated within 90 days of submission.
  • A copy of the bylaws of the applicant certified as true and correct by the secretary of the applicant, if a corporation; a partner, if a partnership; or other appropriate person. This certification must be within 90 days of submission.
  • A copy of the trade name certificate issued to the applicant by the Louisiana Secretary of State. This item must be supplied by any applicant utilizing a trade name or d/b/a in Louisiana.
  • Completed biographical affidavits for all persons responsible for the conduct of affairs of the applicant. This should include all officers, all directors, all partners (in the case of a partnership), all trustees, all executive committee members and all person(s) owning, directly or indirectly, 10 percent or more of the applicant and any other person who exercises control or influence over the affairs of the applicant. This must include a completed affidavit for the medical director of the applicant.
  • A copy of the applicant’s procedure manual which meets the requirements of Chapter 18 of the Louisiana Insurance Code (La. R.S. 22:2391-2453) for making clinical or medical necessity determinations and resolving disputes in the internal claims and appeals process.
  • A description of procedures used in making adverse determinations that describes all review activities performed for health benefit plans in Louisiana.
  • Samples of the forms of all contracts with health insurance issuers in use or to be used by the applicant. These forms should not include fees charged.
  • A general description of operation of the applicant, which includes a statement that the applicant does not engage in the practice of medicine or act to impinge or encumber the independent medical judgment of treating physicians or health care providers.
  • A completed Statement of Compliance for the forms and procedures submitted with this application.
  • A detailed description of the corporate organizational structure of the applicant, its parent company and all affiliates. This description should include a chart showing the ownership percentages for any persons owning 10% or more of all affiliated entities up to and including the ultimate controlling person.

Renewal Not Required

Not required



URO registrations do not expire.

Individual Licenses

Louisiana Individual Financial Services Licenses

Louisiana Claim Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Louisiana Claim Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Louisiana Consultant License - Non-Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Louisiana Consultant License - Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance
Exam Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Louisiana Insurance Agent License

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in Louisiana for the first time.

Agency Fee:

From $55 to $250 depending on license type

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies based on license type

Due:

Biennially by the last day of initial registration month.

Louisiana Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Louisiana Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Louisiana Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Louisiana Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Louisiana Department of Insurance
Exam Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Explore licensing in other states:

Adjuster - A person or firm that is paid to adjust, investigate, and negotiate claim settlements. There are 3 categories of adjusters: company, independent, and public. Company adjusters work for insurance companies and investigate claims on behalf of the company. Independent adjusters investigate claims on a contractual basis for insurance companies. Public adjusters investigate claims on behalf of claimants, usually to determine the amount of money that can be claimed.

Agent in Charge - A licensed individual responsible for the supervision of all individuals within an insurance agency. The agent in charge must be licensed in the same lines as the agency.

Insurance Agent - Insurance agents act as intermediaries between the insurance company and policyholders. Agents can be either captive or independent. Captive agents represent a single insurance company, while independent agents represent multiple insurers.

Insurance Broker - Individuals who sell insurance policies while representing the interests of the buyer. Brokers are typically independent intermediaries without an insurance company affiliation.

Insurance Producer - May be used to refer to either individual insurance agents and brokers or insurance agencies and brokerages.

Managing General Agent - An agent or broker that is involved in underwriting and has other areas of authority normally handled by insurers. MGAs are typically involved in unusual lines of coverage or in geographically prohibitive areas.

Surplus Lines Insurer - An insurance carrier that takes on risks that a licensed carrier is unwilling to insure. Surplus lines insurers do not have access to state guaranty funds and are less tightly regulated by state governing bodies.

Third Party Administrator - An organization that manages group insurance policies and works with the employer and insurance carrier to process claims, handle loss control, and provide risk management and consulting services.

Title Agent - Title agents sell insurance that protects real estate owners against loss of ownership of a property due to a legal claim.

Viatical Settlement Provider - A company that purchases life insurance policies at a discount from individuals seeking immediately available funds.

Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big “I”)
Advocacy group of independent insurance brokers and agents.

National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA)
Professional association that advocates for favorable regulatory conditions for insurance agents and financial advisors.

National Association of Insurance Companies (NAIC)
A standard setting and regulatory support organization that is governed by state insurance regulators.

National Association of Professional Insurance Agents (PIA)
Professional association that provides education and advocacy for insurance agents throughout the United States.

National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)
An affiliate of the NAIC that provides streamlined and uniform producer licensing processes.

Financial Services License Service  Need help with your licensing? We help finance professionals manage their  licenses and registrations. Learn More. View License Services
© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.