50-State Financial Services Licensing Compliance Guide
An overhead view of a laptop and calculator

Georgia Finance Licensing

Someone pointing to a stock chart displayed on a laptop

Licenses are typically required for individuals and businesses that provide finance industry services in the United States. This guide contains information about professional finance licensing in Georgia.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(4)
(4)
(2)
(1)
(2)
(2)
Individual Licenses
(8)
(1)
(3)
(4)
(2)

Company Licenses

Georgia Financial Services Company Licenses

Georgia Branch Agency - Nonresident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$20

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$20

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Branch Agency - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$20 + $5 application fee

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$20

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Collection Agency License

Not required



Debt Collection Agency licensure is not required on the State level in Georgia.

Georgia does not currently issue licenses for collection agencies.

Georgia Independent Review Organization Certification

Type of Review:

Medical Utilization Review

Agency:Georgia Department of Community Health
Law:

O.C.G.A. § 33-20A-39

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Certification as an IRO

Agency Fee:

$500

Required Attachments:
  • A copy of the organization's independent review plan
  • A written quality assurance mechanism in place that ensures the timeliness and quality of the reviews, the qualifications and independence of the expert reviewers, and the confidentiality of medical records and review materials.
  • Copies of policies and any procedures ensuring compliance with all applicable state and
    federal laws and with the Rules to protect confidentiality of medical records and personal information.
  • A listing of the number, type, and minimum qualifications of the personnel either employed or under contract to perform the independent review.
  • A copy of written procedures used to determine whether physicians or other health care providers utilized by the independent review organization describe the personnel and the accrediting policies and procedures of the applicant.
  • A completed profile for each expert reviewer and provider as outlined in the Rules.
  • Biographical information about officers, directors and staff as detailed on the application.
  • A copy of the most recent by-laws and articles of incorporation for the legal applicant.
  • Evidence of the applicant's authorization to conduct business in that state of Georgia.
  • A description of the existing or proposed organization and provide a copy of the organizational chart.
  • A chart showing contractual arrangements of the independent review system.
  • The names of each stockholder or owner of more than five percent of any stock or options.
  • The name and type of business of each corporation or other organization that the applicant controls or is affiliated with and the nature and extent of the affiliation or control. Also provide a chart or list clearly identifying the relationship between the applicant and any affiliates.
  • A list of any currently outstanding loans or contracts to provide services between the applicant and any affiliates or any officer of its affiliates.
  • The names of any predecessor affiliates and /or companies, including trade names.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal of Certificate of Registration for IRO

Agency Fee:

$250

Due:

Annually at least 90 days prior to the anniversary of registration.

Georgia Installment Lender License

Agency:Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
Law:

GA Code § 7-3-4

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Instructions:

New Application

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$250 application fee + $500 license fee + $100 processing fee

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:
  • Licenses expire annually on December 31 but renewals must be received by December 1 in order to be considered on time.
  • Licenses issued on or after November 1 do not need to be renewed until the following calendar year.

Supplemental Reporting

Form:

Installment Lender Quarterly Activity Report

Instructions:

GA Installment Lender QAR Instructions

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Within 45 days of the end of each calendar quarter.

Georgia Insurance Agency License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in Georgia for the first time.

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
Form:

https://www.oci.ga.gov/Agencies/Forms-Agencies.aspx

Agency Fee:

$100 for most

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in Georgia and need to renew their license.

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
Form:

https://www.oci.ga.gov/Agencies/Forms-Agencies.aspx

Agency Fee:

$100 for most

Due:

Biennially

Georgia Principal Agency - Nonresident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Principal Agency - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100 + $5 application fee

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100 + $5 application fee

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Private Review Agent Certification

Type of Review:

Medical Utilization Review

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Certification as a Private Review Agent

Agency Fee:

$1,000

Notarize:Required
Required Attachments:
  • Certified copy of entity formation documents including amendments
  • Copy of bylaws, rules and regulations or similar documents regulating the affairs of the private review agent certified by the principal partners or the president and secretary and containing the corporate seal.
  • Names, addresses, and titles of positions held by individuals who are responsible for the conduct of the affairs of the private review agent in Georgia.
  • A copy of the biographical affidavit for each person listed as responsible for the conduct of the affairs of the private review agent.
  • If using a DBA, a certified copy of the recorded application received from the Clerk of the Superior Court in the county where doing business.
  • Some additional attachments as noted in the Checklist of Application Documents for Initial Certification of Private Review Agents

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application for Certification as a Private Review Agent (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Notarize:Required

Supplemental Reporting
Annual Report

Form:

Annual Report Information for Utilization Review Activities

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Law:

GAC § 120-2-58-.07

Supplemental Reporting
Complaint Report

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Law:

GAC § 120-2-58-.07

Georgia Rental Company - Nonresident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Rental Company - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Retail Vendor of Portable Electronics Insurance - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Retail Vendor of Portable Electronics Insurance License - Non-Resident

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Sales Finance Company License

Not required



Sales Finance Company licensure is not required on the State level in Georgia.

Georgia does not currently issue licenses to sales finance companies.

Georgia Self Storage Provider - Non-Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Self Storage Provider - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by December 31.

Georgia Third Party Administrator

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Bond Requirements:

$100,000

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Third Party Administrators Forms

Agency Fee:

$600 application fee + 5 processing fee

Before you Apply:
  • Plan of Operation
    • List the lines of business that the Applicant Company is currently licensed to transact and is transacting in all jurisdictions.
    • Narrative  - information the applicant wishes to provide in support of hte application. 
    • Proforma financials - provide a company-wide three-year proforma balance sheet and income statement.
      • For the lines requested, provide three years of premium and loss projections by line specifially for Georgia
      • Projections have to support the plan of operation
    • Questionaire (Form 8)
  • If the applicant is a member of a holding company system, the application must include the most recent Holding Company Act filings, including Annual Form B Reigstration Statement and related Form F. In lieu of these, the applicant can submit a narrative containing all the information reported in these forms.
  • SEC filings or consolidated GAAP financial statements
  • Debt-to-Equity ration statement
  • Custody agreements
  • NAIC Biographical affidavits for all officers, directors, key personnel, and shareholders with a 10%  or greater interest in the applicant company
  • Background reports for each officer, director, key person, or shareholder listed 
  • Proof of compliance with FCRA
  • Proof of meeting minimum capital and surplus requirements
  • Deposit requirements
  • Name approval (if required)
  • Certified Copy of Articles of incorporation 
  • Bylaws certified by the company's assistant
  •  
Required Attachments:
  • Form GID-3, Appointment of Attorney-in-Fact (must be Georgia resident)

  • Form GID-4, Appointment of Commissioner as Attorney-in-Fact

Bond Amount:

Bonds must include

  • The Georgia Insurance Commissioner name and address as the certificate holder
  • A 30 day written notice of cancellation
  • A minimum amount of $100,000

Proof of coverage must include a complete copy of the bond, including any and all related endorsements.

Registration Renewal

Instructions:

Third Party Administrator Renewal Instructions

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$400 filing fee + $5 processing fee

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Due Date Extension:Extension only granted in extreme circumstances and by prior approval

Georgia Third Party Administrator - Exempt

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Notes:

The following are exempt from licensure so long as such entities are acting directly through their officers and employees:

  • An employer on behalf of its employees or the employees of one or more subsidiary or affiliated corporations of such employer;
  • A union on behalf of its members;
  • An insurance company licensed in this state or its affiliate unless the affiliate administrator is placing business with a nonaffiliated insurer not licensed in this state;
  • An insurer which is not authorized to transact insurance in this state if such insurer is administering a policy lawfully issued by it in and pursuant to the laws of a state in which it is authorized to transact insurance;
  • A life or accident and sickness insurance agent or broker licensed in this state whose activities are limited exclusively to the sale of insurance;
  • A creditor on behalf of its debtors with respect to insurance covering a debt between the creditor and its debtors;
  • A trust established in conformity with 29 U.S.C. Section 186 and its trustees, agents, and employees acting thereunder;
  • A trust exempt from taxation under Section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code and its trustees and employees acting thereunder or a custodian and its agents and employees acting pursuant to a custodian account which meets the requirements of Section 401(f) of the Internal Revenue Code;
  • A bank, credit union, or other financial institution which is subject to supervision or examination by federal or state banking authorities;
  • A credit card issuing company which advances for and collects premiums or charges from its credit card holders who have authorized it to do so, provided that such company does not adjust or settle claims;
  • A person who adjusts or settles claims in the normal course of his or her practice or employment as an attorney and who does not collect charges or premiums in connection with life or accident and sickness insurance coverage or annuities;
  • An insurance company licensed in this state or its affiliate if such insurance company or its affiliate is solely administering limited benefit insurance. For the purpose of this paragraph, the term "limited benefit insurance" means accident or sickness insurance designed, advertised, and marketed to supplement major medical insurance and specifically shall include accident only, CHAMPUS supplement, disability income, fixed indemnity, long-term care, or specified disease insurance; or
  • An association that administers workers' compensation claims solely on behalf of its members.
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Registration Renewal

Instructions:

Third Party Administrator Exempt Renewal Instructions

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50 annual filing fee + $5 processing fee

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Individual Licenses

Georgia Individual Financial Services Licenses

Georgia Adjuster - Non-Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Adjuster (Resident) License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$130

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Agent - Nonresident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$115

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Agent - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$130

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Counselor - Nonresident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$115

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Crop/Hail Adjuster - Non-Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Crop/Hail Adjuster - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
Exam Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$130

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Fraternal Agent - Nonresident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$115

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Insurance Agent License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in Georgia for the first time.

Agency Fee:

From $100 to $600 depending on license type

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

From $100-$600 depending on license type + $5 processing fee

Due:

Biennially by the last day of initial registration month

Georgia Non-Resident Insurance Agent License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15 application fee + at least $100 per line of authority

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100 for most, $200 if variable products is one of the licensee's lines of authority

Due:

Biennially by the last day of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Nonresident Limited Health Counselor License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Public Adjuster - Non-Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Public Adjuster - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$130

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Resident Limited Health Counselor License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
Exam Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$130

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Surplus Lines Broker - Nonresident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$600

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$615

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Surplus Lines Broker - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$600

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$630

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Workers' Compensation Adjuster - Non-Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Georgia Workers' Compensation Adjuster - Resident License

Agency:Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
Exam Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Explore licensing in other states:

Adjuster - A person or firm that is paid to adjust, investigate, and negotiate claim settlements. There are 3 categories of adjusters: company, independent, and public. Company adjusters work for insurance companies and investigate claims on behalf of the company. Independent adjusters investigate claims on a contractual basis for insurance companies. Public adjusters investigate claims on behalf of claimants, usually to determine the amount of money that can be claimed.

Agent in Charge - A licensed individual responsible for the supervision of all individuals within an insurance agency. The agent in charge must be licensed in the same lines as the agency.

Insurance Agent - Insurance agents act as intermediaries between the insurance company and policyholders. Agents can be either captive or independent. Captive agents represent a single insurance company, while independent agents represent multiple insurers.

Insurance Broker - Individuals who sell insurance policies while representing the interests of the buyer. Brokers are typically independent intermediaries without an insurance company affiliation.

Insurance Producer - May be used to refer to either individual insurance agents and brokers or insurance agencies and brokerages.

Managing General Agent - An agent or broker that is involved in underwriting and has other areas of authority normally handled by insurers. MGAs are typically involved in unusual lines of coverage or in geographically prohibitive areas.

Surplus Lines Insurer - An insurance carrier that takes on risks that a licensed carrier is unwilling to insure. Surplus lines insurers do not have access to state guaranty funds and are less tightly regulated by state governing bodies.

Third Party Administrator - An organization that manages group insurance policies and works with the employer and insurance carrier to process claims, handle loss control, and provide risk management and consulting services.

Title Agent - Title agents sell insurance that protects real estate owners against loss of ownership of a property due to a legal claim.

Viatical Settlement Provider - A company that purchases life insurance policies at a discount from individuals seeking immediately available funds.

Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big “I”)
Advocacy group of independent insurance brokers and agents.

National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA)
Professional association that advocates for favorable regulatory conditions for insurance agents and financial advisors.

National Association of Insurance Companies (NAIC)
A standard setting and regulatory support organization that is governed by state insurance regulators.

National Association of Professional Insurance Agents (PIA)
Professional association that provides education and advocacy for insurance agents throughout the United States.

National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR)
An affiliate of the NAIC that provides streamlined and uniform producer licensing processes.

Financial Services License Service  Need help with your licensing? We help finance professionals manage their  licenses and registrations. Learn More. View License Services
© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.