North Carolina Annual Report / Renewal of Certificate of Registration

Learn when and how to file a report in North Carolina

Annual and biennial reports are entity information updates typically filed with the Secretary of State. Depending on the state and entity type, report due dates and fees vary. See the table below for information on filing a report in North Carolina.

For Corporations:

Agency:North Carolina Secretary of State - Business Registration Division
Form:

Find your company record to print your form. If you choose to download a pre-populated annual report and file the paper copy, you will submit the report and the fee directly to the Department of Revenue, along with the business corporation’s tax return.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$22.50 online or $25 by mail.

Due:

Annuallly by the 15th day of the 4th month following the fiscal year end.

Law:

North Carolina General Statutes § 55-16-22.

Penalties:

No late fee. Your business will receive a notice of pending dissolution or revocation, then you have 60 days to file.

Notes:
  • An officer, director, member, manager, or partner may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
  • Professional corporations are not required to file an annual report.
Fact Checked:9/10/19

For Limited Liability Companies:

Agency:North Carolina Secretary of State - Business Registration Division
Form:

Find your company record to print your form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$202 online or $200 by mail.

Due:

Annually by April 15.

Law:

North Carolina General Statutes § 57C-2-23.

Penalties:

No late fee. Your business will receive a notice of pending dissolution or revocation, then you have 60 days to file.

Notes:
  • An officer, director, member, manager, or partner may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
  • Professional LLCs are not required to file an annual report.
Fact Checked:9/10/19

For Nonprofit Corporations:

Not required



More information: North Carolina Secretary of State - Business Registration Division

For Professional Corporations:

Not required



The Secretary of State does not have an annual report requirement for professional corporations, however, professional corporations may have a reporting requirement through the licensing board of their profession.

More information: North Carolina Secretary of State - Business Registration Division

For Professional Corporations:

Agency:North Carolina Medical Board
Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Penalties:

There is a $10 late fee.

Fact Checked:3/17/20

For Professional LLCs:

Not required



The Secretary of State does not have an annual report requirement for professional limited liability companies, however, professional limited liability companies may have a reporting requirement through the licensing board of their profession.

More information: North Carolina Secretary of State - Business Registration Division

For Professional LLCs:

Agency:North Carolina Medical Board
Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Penalties:

There is a $10 late fee.

Fact Checked:3/17/20

For Limited Partnerships:

Not required



More information: North Carolina Secretary of State - Business Registration Division

For Limited Liability Partnerships:

Agency:North Carolina Secretary of State - Business Registration Division
Form:

Find your company record to print your form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$202 online or $200 by mail.

Due:

Annuallly by the 15th day of the 4th month following the fiscal year end.

Law:

North Carolina General Statutes § 59-84.4.

Fact Checked:9/10/19
© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.