New Mexico Business License

Four people, boxes, office being setup

General Business License Requirements for New Mexico.

Business licenses are often required of business entities, regardless of their products and services. This page provides an overview of business license requirements in New Mexico.

New Mexico General Business Licenses

New Mexico Business License

Not required



General Business License licensure is not required on the State level in New Mexico.

New Mexico does not have a general business license at the state level, but local licenses are often required.

Local General Business Licenses

Albuquerque Business Registration

Agency:City of Albuquerque Planning Department (NM)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$35

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$35. If it is a commercial location, there is also a fire safety fee based on size of the business.

Due:

Annually by the anniversary of registration.

Bernalillo County Commercial Business License

Agency:Bernalillo County Planning and Development Services-Permitting Center (NM)

Initial Registration

Form:

Commercial Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$35 registration fee + $15 administrative fee 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal notices are sent in the mail.

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by the anniversary of registration.

Bernalillo County Home Occupation Business License

Agency:Bernalillo County Planning and Development Services-Permitting Center (NM)

Initial Registration

Form:

Home Occupation Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$50

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal notices are sent in the mail.

Agency Fee:

$35

Bernalillo County Out of County Business License

Agency:Bernalillo County Planning and Development Services-Permitting Center (NM)

Initial Registration

Form:

Out of County Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$50

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal notices are sent in the mail.

Agency Fee:

$35

City of Bloomfield Business License

Agency:City of Bloomfield (NM)
Law:

(Ord. No. 143, § 1, 7-2-81; Ord. No. 213, § 1, 5-23-88)

(Ord. No. 143, § 2, 7-2-81)

(Ord. No. 485, 1-13-20)

(Ord. No. 213, § 1, 5-23-88)

(Ord. No. 485, 1-13-20)

(Ord. No. 143, § 4, 7-2-81)

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Requirement Notes:

Current revenue division taxpayer identification number or evidence of application for a current revenue division taxpayer identification number.

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$35 business registration fee + $25 investigation fee

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$35 business registration fee + $25 investigation fee

Due:

Annually by anniversary date. 

Penalties:

In any case where a person or business fails to renew the business license issued previously, by March 15 of each year, a late charge fee of ten dollars ($10.00) shall impose, or as section 3-38-5 N.M.S.A. 1978 may allow.

City of Las Cruces Business License

Agency:City of Las Cruces Department of City Development NM)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Requirement Notes:

Copies of NM State Tax ID/CRS Number Certificate. 

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$35 registration fee

Law:

(Ord. No. 2707, § III, 3-17-14)

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by date of issuance. 

City of Roswell Commercial Business License

Agency:City of Roswell Business License Clerk (NM)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Commercial Business License Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$35 new registration fee

Registration Renewal

Form:

Commercial Business License Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$35 renewal fee

Due:

A staggered business registration period by quarter is due on the last day of the months of March, June, September, [and] December.

(1)Those businesses whose first letter (exclusive of a, an, and the) starts with A through C, numbers, computer codes, etc. license is due on March 31.

(2)Those businesses whose first letter (exclusive of a, an, and the) starts with D through K is due on June 30.

(3)Those businesses whose first letter (exclusive of a, an, and the) starts with L through R is due on September 30.

(4)Those businesses whose first letter (exclusive of a, an, and the) starts with S through Z is due on December 31.

(5)If the last day of the month falls on a weekend or a holiday recognized by the City of Roswell, the due date will be the next working day following that weekend or holiday.

Law:

(Code 1984 § 14-20; Ord. No. 1281, 11-1996)

City of Santa Fe Business License

Agency:City of Santa Fe Accounts Receivable Department (NM)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business Registration Application

Agency Fee:

$35 application fee + Fire Marshall inspection fee based upon square footage of business

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by March 15.

Clovis Commercial Business Registration

Agency:City of Clovis Business Registration Department (NM)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Commercial Business Registration

Agency Fee:

$35 application fee + $25 fire inspection fee

Registration Renewal

Form:

Commercial Business Registration (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by March 15.

Clovis Out of Town Business Registration

Agency:City of Clovis Business Registration Department (NM)

Initial Registration

Form:

Out of Town Business Registration

Agency Fee:

$35

Registration Renewal

Form:

Out of Town Business Registration (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by March 15.

Doña Ana County Business Registration

Agency:Dona Ana County Office of the County Clerk (NM)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business Registration Form

Agency Fee:

$35

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal of Business Registration Form

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by March 16.

Rio Rancho Business Registration/License

Agency:City of Rio Rancho - Office of the City Clerk (NM)

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Business Registration/License

Agency Fee:

$35 application fee + Fire Marshall inspection fee based upon square footage of business

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$35 application fee + Fire Marshall inspection fee based upon square footage of business

Due:

Annually by the end of the month of inital licensure.

Sandoval County Business Registration

Agency:Sandoval County Clerk's Office (NM)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business Registration Form

Agency Fee:

$35

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business Registration Form (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by the anniversary of registration.

Learn about general business licensing requirements in other states:



© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.