Arkansas Business License

A businessman opening the office door for his employees

General Business License Requirements for Arkansas.

Business licenses are often required of business entities, regardless of their products and services. This page provides an overview of business license requirements in Arkansas.

Arkansas General Business Licenses

Arkansas Business License

Not required



General Business License licensure is not required on the State level in Arkansas.

Arkansas does not have a general business license at the state level, but local licenses are often required.

Local General Business Licenses

Fayetteville Business License

Agency:City of Fayetteville Accounting and Audit Division (AR)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fees vary

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fort Smith Business License

Agency:City of Fort Smith (AR)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$100

City of Hot Springs Business License

Agency:City of Hot Springs - Finance Department - Business Services (AR)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

City Business License Application

Filing Method:
  • Mail (applications and payments)
  • Online (payments only)
Agency Fee:

Fees vary based on the nature of the business

Required Attachments:
  • Certificate of Occupancy, if applicable
  • State License, if applicable
  • ABC Permit Application, if applicable
  • Sexually Oriented Business Application, if applicable

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online (payments only)

Agency Fee:

Fees vary based on the nature of the business

Due:
  • Licenses expire annually on December 31
  • Renewals are due on January 1 and must be submitted by February 28
Penalties:

Renewal payments not postmarked by February 28 will be considered delinquent and incur a penalty

Notes:

Renewal statements will be mailed out in the first week of January

Little Rock Business License

Agency:City of Little Rock Treasury Management Division (AR)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

Fees vary

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Due:

Annually by January 1.

City of Pine Bluff Business License

Agency:City of Pine Bluff - Office of the City Collector (AR)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or in-person

Agency Fee:

Fees vary based on the nature of the business and total number of employees

Required Attachments:
  • Certificate of Zoning Compliance, if applicable

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or in-person

Agency Fee:

Fees vary based on the nature of the business and total number of employees

Due:

Annually by date of issuance

Notes:

Renewal notices with instructions will be mailed prior to the expiration of the license

City of Russellville Business Permit (License)

Agency:City of Russellville - Fire Department - Fire, Building & Safety Division (AR)
Law:

Ord. No. 1811

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Bond Requirements:

$2500 performance bond (only for persons doing business on a transient or itinerant basis or who are soliciting sales to the ultimate consumer)

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business Permit (License) Application

Instructions:

If applying online, please select the application that best fits the nature of the business for the license being sought. All applications listed online are for General Business Licenses. 

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online

Agency Fee:

Fees vary based on the number of employees: 

  • 0-3 employees: $25
  • 4-10 employees: $50
  • 11-25 employees: $100
  • 26-99 employees: $200
  • 100 + employees: $400

 

Businesses or occupations selling/serving alcohol for retail sales shall pay based on the number of employees + $500

Notes:

New business permits shall require a fire and building inspection prior to license issuance. 

Required Attachments:
  • State License, if applicable
  • ABC permit (if serving alcoholic beverages)
  • Property Owner Permission (if a transient or itinerant business)

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business Permit (License) Application

Instructions:

If applying online, please select the application that best fits the nature of the business for the license being sought. All applications listed online are for General Business Licenses. 

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online

Agency Fee:

Fees vary based on the number of employees:

  • 0-3 employees: $25
  • 4-10 employees: $50
  • 11-25 employees: $100
  • 26-99 employees: $200
  • 100 + employees: $400
     

Businesses or occupations selling/serving alcohol for retail sales shall pay based on the number of employees + $500

Due:

Annually by January 31.

Penalties:

Any business permit not received by January 31 shall be delinquent, and 10% of the unpaid fee shall be added as a penalty. If the business permit fee is not paid within 60 days, a penalty of 30% shall be added.

Required Attachments:
  • State License, if applicable
  • ABC permit (if serving alcoholic beverages)
  • Property Owner Permission (if a transient or itinerant business)

Springdale Business License

Agency:City of Springdale City Clerk's Office (AR)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$40 per year + $2.50 for each of the first 25 employees, excluding the owner of a sole proprietorship, employed by such business, and an additional $1.00 per year for each and every employee over 25. The maximum fee to be paid by any licensee is $300 per year.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$40 per year + $2.50 for each of the first 25 employees, excluding the owner of a sole proprietorship, employed by such business, and an additional $1.00 per year for each and every employee over 25. The maximum fee to be paid by any licensee is $300 per year.

Due:

Annually by April 1.

West Memphis Privilege License

Agency:West Memphis City Clerk's Office (AR)

Initial Registration

Form:

Privilege License Application

Agency Fee:

Fees depend on business services.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Fees depend on business services.

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Notes:

Renewal applications are sent to licensees prior to the expiration date.

Learn about general business licensing requirements in other states: