New Jersey Business License

Four people, boxes, office being setup

General Business License Requirements for New Jersey.

Business licenses are often required of business entities, regardless of their products and services. This page provides an overview of business license requirements in New Jersey.

New Jersey General Business Licenses

New Jersey Business License

Not required



General Business License licensure is not required on the State level in New Jersey.

New Jersey does not have a general business license at the state level, but local licenses are often required.

Local General Business Licenses

Borough of Eatontown Mercantile License

Agency:Borough of Eatontown Mercantile Licensing Department (NJ)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Mercantile License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$100

Registration Renewal

Form:

Mercantile License Registration Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$75

Due:

Annually by December 31

Penalties:

$25 late fee 

Mount Laurel Township Business License

Agency:Mount Laurel Township (NJ)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$35

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Registration Application (renewal) 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by December 31. 

Sayreville Mercantile License

Agency:Sayreville Code Enforcement & Zoning Department (NJ)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Mercantile/Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$150

Registration Renewal

Form:

Mercantile/Business License Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$75

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Trenton Business Registration

Agency:Trenton City Clerk's Office (NJ)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees vary based on business type.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal notices with fee amounts will be sent in January.

Agency Fee:

Renewal fees vary based on business type.

Due:

Annually by January 31.

Learn about general business licensing requirements in other states:



© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.