Michigan Annual Report / Registration Renewal

Learn when and how to file a report in Michigan

Annual and biennial reports are entity information updates typically filed with the Secretary of State. Depending on the state and entity type, report due dates and fees vary. See the table below for information on filing a report in Michigan.

For Corporations:

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

Pre-printed form is mailed to your registered agent.

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online.

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by May 15.

Law:

Michigan Code § 450.1911

Penalties:

$10/month, maximum $50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
  • If you file online, the filed report will appear on the website in ~1 hour.
  • Veteran-owned corporations can request a waiver of the annual report fee by following the instructions on this page.
Fact Checked:10/1/19

For Limited Liability Companies:

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

Pre-printed form is mailed to your registered agent.

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online.

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by February 15. If you registered after September 30, then you may skip the first year.

Law:

Michigan Code § 450.4207

Penalties:

None.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
  • If you file online, the filed report will appear on the website in ~1 hour.
  • Veteran-owned LLCs can apply to have the annual report fee waived by following the instructions on this page.
Fact Checked:10/1/19

For Domestic Nonprofit Corporations:

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

A pre-printed annual report is mailed to the corporation’s resident agent at the registered office approximately three months prior to the due date. Online filing is available about 90 days before the report's due date. 

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online.

Agency Fee:

$20

Due:

Annually by October 1 beginning the year following incorporation.

Law:

Michigan Code § 450.2911

Penalties:

If a corporation fails to submit their annual report or pay the related fee within two years of the due date of the report, the corporation automatically dissolves by operation of law.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
  • If you file online, the filed report will appear on the website in ~1 hour.
Fact Checked:10/1/19

For Foreign Nonprofit Corporations:

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

A pre-printed annual report is mailed to the corporation’s resident agent at the registered office approximately three months prior to the due date. Online filing is available about 90 days before the report's due date. 

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online.

Agency Fee:

$20

Due:

Annually by October 1 beginning the year following initial authorization to conduct business in Michigan.

Law:

Michigan Code § 450.2911

Penalties:

If a foreign corporation fails to submit their annual report or pay the related fee within one year of the due date of the report, the corporation's certificate of authority is automatically revoked by operation of law.

Fact Checked:10/1/19

For Professional Corporations:

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

Pre-printed form is mailed to your registered agent.

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online.

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by May 15.

Law:

Michigan Code § 450.1911

Penalties:

$10/month, maximum $50 late fee.

Notes:
  • A list of shareholders must be attached to the annual report.
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
  • If you file online, the filed report will appear on the website in ~1 hour.
Fact Checked:10/1/19

For Professional LLCs:

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

Pre-printed form is mailed to your registered agent.

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online.

Agency Fee:

$75

Due:

Annually by February 15. If you registered after September 30, then you may skip the first year.

Penalties:

None.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
  • If you file online, the filed report will appear on the website in ~1 hour.
  • Veteran-owned PLLCs can apply to have the annual report fee waived by following the instructions on this page.
Fact Checked:10/1/19

For Limited Liability Partnerships:

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

Limited Liability Partnership Form (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Annually by the date of registration.

Law:

Michigan Code § 449.48

Fact Checked:10/1/19
© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.