Maine Annual Report

Learn when and how to file a report in Maine

Annual and biennial reports are entity information updates typically filed with the Secretary of State. Depending on the state and entity type, report due dates and fees vary. See the table below for information on filing a report in Maine.

For Domestic Corporations:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$85

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 13-C § 1621.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Foreign Corporations:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 13-C § 1621.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Domestic Limited Liability Companies:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$85

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 31 § 1665.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Foreign Limited Liability Companies:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 31 § 1665.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Nonprofit Corporations:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Create a paper Annual Report

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 13-B § 1301.

Penalties:

$25 fine for late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:8/6/20

For Domestic Professional Corporations:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$85

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 13-C § 1621.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Foreign Professional Corporations:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 13-C § 1621.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Domestic Professional LLCs:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$85

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 13-C § 1621.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Foreign Professional LLCs:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 13-C § 1621.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Domestic Limited Partnerships:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$85

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 31 § 1330.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Foreign Limited Partnerships:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 31 § 1330.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Domestic Limited Liability Partnerships:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$85

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 31 § 873.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19

For Foreign Limited Liability Partnerships:

Agency:Maine Secretary of State - Bureau of Corporations, Elections, and Commissions
Form:

Use your charter number to prepare a Preprinted report form.

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Law:

Maine Revised Statutes Title 31 § 873.

Penalties:

$50 late fee.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are required if you file by paper.
Fact Checked:9/30/19
© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.