Virginia Business License

Four people, boxes, office being setup

General Business License Requirements for Virginia.

Business licenses are often required of business entities, regardless of their products and services. This page provides an overview of business license requirements in Virginia.

Virginia General Business Licenses

Virginia Business License

Not required



General Business License licensure is not required on the State level in Virginia.

Virginia does not have a general business license at the state level, but local licenses are often required.

Local General Business Licenses

Alleghany County Business License

Agency:Alleghany County Comissioner of Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application 

Instructions:

Every person applying for a business license shall obtain a letter of Zoning Approval from the Zoning Administrator or County Planner stating that the business location is properly zoned for its intended use by such business. $10.00 Fee

Filing Method:

Mail. 

Agency Fee:

The license tax is assessed on the estimation of gross receipts + $15.00.

 

Refrence Fee Schedule

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Dependent on gross reciepts for calender year. 

See Fee Schedule. 

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Law:

(Ord. No. O-96-5, § I, 12-3-96; Ord. No. O-12-2, 3-20-12)

Arlington New Business Registration

Agency:Arlington County Office of the Commissioner of Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fee based on the estimate of gross annual receipts.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fee based on actual gross annual receipts.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Augusta County Business License

Agency:Augusta County Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Ownership Requirements:

LLCs and corporations must provide State documentation. Sole proprietors, partnerships and LLC’s must register fictitious names with the State Corporation Commission at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/clk/formfee.aspx

Insurance Requirements:

Contractors must submit Workers Compensation Insurance information.  File Form 61A at http://www.vwc.state.va.us/content/certificate-workers-compensation-insurance-form-61a then attach the confirmation letter with this application.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail or email comrev@co.augusta.va.us

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by gross reciepts. 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal form is mailed. 

Filing Method:

Mail or email comrev@co.augusta.va.us (by February 14)

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by gross reciepts. 

Due:

Annually by March 1. 

Chesapeake Business License

Agency:City of Chesapeake Commissioner of the Revenue - Business Tax Section (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application/Registration

Filing Method:

Email to BusTax@cityofchesapeake.net

Agency Fee:

Varies by business activity and gross receipts. 

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Varies by business activity and gross receipts.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Notes:

Contact the Commissioner's office for renewal forms.

Chesterfield County Business License

Agency:Chesterfield County Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Business License

Agency Fee:

Based on estimated gross receipts.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Based on gross receipts.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Notes:

Renewal forms are mailed in early January.

City of Charlottesville Business License

Agency:City of Charlottesville Business License Tax Office (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by gross recipets. See application for more details. 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Renewal Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by gross recipets. See application for more details. 

Due:

Annually by March 1. 

City of Newport News Business License Tax

Agency:Newport News Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Determined by estimated gross receipets. 

Due:

New businesses must apply for a license prior to beginning business and pay the tax or fee within 30 days of the start of business

Required Attachments:
  • All persons or entities conducting business in the City must contact the Codes Compliance Department to determine if a Certificate of Use and Occupancy is required.
  • Contractors should contact the Codes Compliance Department for bonding and permit information.
  • Business Classification Information (BCI) Form (PDF)
  • Corporations, Limited Liability Corporations, and General Partnerships are required to complete a List of Partners Form (PDF).
  • All Contractors must complete a Workers’ Compensation Form and provide a list of all subcontractors (PDF) each tax year.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by gross reciepts. 

Due:

Annually by March 1. 

City of Richmond New Business License

Agency:City of Richmond Department of Finance (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

New Business License Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

Businesses with gross receipts greater than or equal to $5,000, but less than $100,000, pay only the $30 license fee. Businesses with receipts less than $5,000 pay no fee

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Renewal Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type and gross receipts. See the application for more details. 

Due:

Annually by March 1.

City of Salem Business License

Agency:City of Salem Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

 New Business Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Determined by estimated gross reciepts. 

Required Attachments:
  • Business Licenses will not be issued until all steps have been completed and appropriate documentation is attached to your application
  • Zoning Ceritfication 
  • Provide documentation from the State Corporation Commission if Incorporating
  • Register DBA/Trade name with the State Corporation Commission
  • Apply for Federal ID number if desired with the IRS (required for legal business entities)
  • Provide proof of residency
  • Attach complete listing of all equipment used in the business with purchase year and price. Provide separate listing of all equipment leased to the business with name and address of the Lessor.
  • Register with the Virginia Department of Taxation (804)367-8037 or www.tax.virginia.gov (Sales and use tax, withholding tax, etc.) When registering you will use Salem’s FIPS code: 51775
  • Provide certificate of state licensure for all occupations required to do so by the Virginia Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation (contractors, cosmetologists, real estate agents, etc.) www.dpor.virginia.gov , Virginia Department of Health (medicine, nursing, massage, etc.) www.vdh.virginia.gov or any other State Agency.
  • Provide Health Department documentation if serving food
  • Provide approved seats information from Alcoholic Beverage Commission if serving alcohol
  • Register for meals and lodging tax with the City of Salem Commissioner’s Office
  • Register for Admissions Tax or Short-Term Rental with the City of Salem Commissioner’s Office
  • Receive approval from the Department of Social Services for adult care services or childcare for more than 5 children
  • Register for Worker’s Compensation Insurance with the Worker’s Compensation Commission
  • Register with Virginia Employment Commission for Virginia Unemployment Tax

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Renewal Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Determined by gross reciepts. 

Due:

Annually by March 1. 

City of Staunton Business License

Agency:City of Staunton Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type. See application for more details. 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Renewal Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by business type. See application for more details. 

Due:

Annually by March 1. 

City of Williamsburg Business License

Agency:City of Williamsburg Commissioner of the Revenue's Office (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Requirement Notes:

If you are operating a Corporation, LLC or similar entity in Virginia, it must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission.

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Determined by estimated gross reciepts. 

Required Attachments:
  • State Corporation Commission (SCC) Certificate -If you are operating a Corporation, LLC or similar entity in Virginia, it must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission. A copy of your certificate is needed.
  • Certificate of Assumed or Fictitious Name - Must be completed by anyone using an assumed name, DBA ("doing business as") or T/A ("trading as") business name. Effective January 1, 2020 all Certificates of Assumed or Fictitious Name should be filed with the State Corporation Commission in the Office of the Clerk on a form prescribed by the Commission. A copy of your certificate is needed. 
  • Home Occupation application - Every business without a fixed commercial or professional location must complete this form. Applications must be approved by the Zoning Administrator, prior to submitting your business license application. 
  • Zoning Permit application -  Must be completed by businesses who have a store front. Applications must be approved by the Zoning Administrator, prior to submitting your business license application. 
  • Government-Issued Identification

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Determined by gross reciepts. 

Due:

Annually by March 1. 

Required Attachments:
  • State Corporation Commission (SCC) Certificate -If you are operating a Corporation, LLC or similar entity in Virginia, it must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission. A copy of your certificate is needed.
  • Certificate of Assumed or Fictitious Name - Must be completed by anyone using an assumed name, DBA ("doing business as") or T/A ("trading as") business name. Effective January 1, 2020 all Certificates of Assumed or Fictitious Name should be filed with the State Corporation Commission in the Office of the Clerk on a form prescribed by the Commission. A copy of your certificate is needed.
  • Home Occupation application - Every business without a fixed commercial or professional location must complete this form. Applications must be approved by the Zoning Administrator, prior to submitting your business license application.
  • Zoning Permit application -  Must be completed by businesses who have a store front. Applications must be approved by the Zoning Administrator, prior to submitting your business license application.
  • Government-Issued Identification

Danville Business License

Agency:City of Danville Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application 

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$50 filing fee or rate determined by rate schedule if estimated gross receipts are above $100,000. 

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail. Renewals forms will be sent to the last mailing address provided to this office. 

Agency Fee:

$50 filing fee or rate determined by rate schedule if estimated gross receipts are above $100,000. 

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Penalties:

The penalty for late filing is $10.00 or 10% of the tax whichever is greater

Fairfax County Business, Professional and Occupational License

Agency:Fairfax County Department of Tax Administration (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL) Application

Agency Fee:

Fee is based on gross receipts estimate for first year.

Required Attachments:
  • Businesses classified as “Architects” and “Professional Engineers” must submit one of the following items when applying for or renewing their Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL) with Fairfax County:
    • a copy of their state professional license, or
    • a written statement, supported by an affidavit, that they are not subject to licensure as an architect or professional engineer
  • Affidavit for Exemption from State Licensing Requirement—for Contractors, Architects, and Engineers (if applicable) 

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Fee is based on reported gross receipts.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Notes:

A renewal application will be mailed in January.

Fauquier County Contractor Business License

Agency:Fauquier County Commissioner of the Revenue Office (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Financial Requirements:

If your gross receipts for the previous year were less than $200,000 ($25,001 for Contractors) there is no rated tax.  However, all businesses must obtain a Fauquier County license and certain businesses require a flat fee license regardless of receipts.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type. 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Renewal Application

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type. 

Due:

Annually by June 30. 

Frederick County Business License

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Variable, based on gross receipts and type of business.

Original Ink:Not required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Variable, based on gross receipts and type of business.

Due:

Annually by March 1st.

Original Ink:Not required

Greensville County Business License

Agency:County of Greensville Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application  

Filing Method:

Mail.

Agency Fee:

The license fee is based on the estimate of gross receipts from starting date through December 31.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

The license fee is based on the previous year's gross receipts from January 1 to December 31 + annual license tax category. 

Due:

Annually before March 1.

Halifax County Occupational Tax License

Agency:Halifax County Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Applications can be obtained by fax or mail

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by gross reciepts. 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Applications can be obtained by mail or fax. 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by gross reciepts. 

Due:

Annally by April 1. 

Harrisonburg Business License

Agency:City of Harrisonburg Master Commissioner of The Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

The cost of the business license requires an estimate for the first partial and the subsequent first full calendar year of operation in the City. Those estimates will be adjusted (+ or -) for actual gross receipts at renewal.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

The City of Harrisonburg employs a tier system for gross receipts $100,000 and less:

$10,000 or under in gross receipts = $0 (However, a license IS still required, even though there is no fee).

$10,001 - $25,000 = $25 fee.

$25,001 - $100,000 = $100 fee.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Henrico County Business License

Agency:Henrico County Department of Finance (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

Fee is based on gross receipts.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Fee is based on gross receipts.

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Notes:

Renewal forms are mailed to the address listed on the initial application annually.

Loudoun County Business Professional and Occupational License

Agency:Loudoun County Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30 (except for out-of-county contractors who pay based on an estimate of first-year receipts)

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Renewal fee is based on the prior year's actual gross receipts.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Norfolk City Business License

Agency:Norfolk City Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fee based upon your estimate of total gross receipts from the day the business opens to December 31 of the same year.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Based on gross annual receipts.

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Poquoson Business License

Agency:City of Poquoson Comissioner of Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application 

Filing Method:

Mail or online

Agency Fee:

Licenses are based on estimated gross receipts from business beginning date to December 31 of that year.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

 Once in business for a full calendar year, the business license renewal is based on the prior year's gross receipts. 

Due:

Due annually by March 1.

Law:

The Code of Virginia Title 58.1-3700.1

Prince George County Business License

Agency:County of Prince George Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Notes:
  • The Planning and Zoning division must first approve all business locations in Prince George County. They can be reached at (804) 722-8678 or their website here. You will be required to complete either the Home Occupation Zoning Approval form or the Professional Business Zoning Approval form. There is a $25.00 fee for the Professional Business Zoning Approval Form. The Home Occupation Zoning Approval Form is free.
  • A contractor’s license requires a valid State License (class A, B or C), Sub-Contractor Request Form and a Virginia Workers Compensation (VWC) Form 61A.
  • Some businesses require different state licensing, health department inspection, police department registration, or business license inspection before a local license can be issued. 
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:
  • Fees are determinde by gross reciepts. 
    • Businesses with gross receipts between $1,000 and $25,000 will pay a $25.00 license fee.
    • Businesses with gross receipts between $25,001 and $50,000 will pay a $50.00 license fee.
    • Businesses with gross receipts over $50,000 pay on a rate per $100 based on the particular business classification
Required Attachments:
  • Attach a copy of your Zoning Approval form from the Department of Community Development and Code Compliance (if applicable). Phone Number: (804) 722-8678
  • Attach a copy of your receipt from the State Corporation Commission where you registered your Limited Liability Corporation, Corporation, and/or your assumed or fictitious business name.
  • Contractors: Attach a copy of your DPOR state license, along with a completed Contractor’s Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Insurance form.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:
  • Fees are determined by gross reciepts.
    • Businesses with gross receipts between $1,000 and $25,000 will pay a $25.00 license fee.
    • Businesses with gross receipts between $25,001 and $50,000 will pay a $50.00 license fee.
    • Businesses with gross receipts over $50,000 pay on a rate per $100 based on the particular business classification.
Due:

Annually by March 1. 

Prince William County Business License

Agency:Prince William County Tax Administration Division (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

Based on expected annual gross receipts. There is no fee for businesses with expected annual gross receipts of less than $500,000,.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

The fee is based on Business Gross Receipts.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Roanoke County Business License

Agency:County of Roanoke Comissioner of Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business Application 

Instructions:

Please bring the (1) Fictitious Name registration receipt (if applicable), (2) the APPROVED Zoning
Compliance Checklist and (3) the completed Business License Application (also approved by Community
Development) to the Commissioner of the Revenue's office

Filing Method:

Mail.

 

 

Agency Fee:

Initial registration is dependent on the estimate of gross receipts.

If the estimate is less than $134,999, the license will cost $50 which is the minimum yearly fee. If, however, the estimate is greater than $134,999 a tax rate will be applied to your estimate. 

Due:

New businesses must obtain a license within 30 days after the commencement of operations. 

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$50.00 Anually. 

Due:

Annually by March 1.

The majority of the license taxes are levied on the basis of gross receipts.

Virginia Beach Business License

Initial Registration

Form:

Virginia Beach Business License Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

Fees vary based on industry and gross sales.

Required Attachments:
  • Architect Engineer Affidavit (if applicable) 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Virginia Beach Business License Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

Fees vary based on industry and gross sales.

Due:

Due annually by March 1.

Virginia Beach Business License

Agency:City of Virgina Beach Commissioner of the Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

?Business License Application

Agency Fee:

Determined by gross receipts of the business.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Renewal

Agency Fee:

Based on the gross receipts of the prior calendar year.

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Winchester Business License

Agency:City of Winchester Comissioner of Revenue (VA)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application 

Filing Method:

Mail or fax. 

Agency Fee:

If you have not been in business for one full calendar year, you must provide your prior
year gross receipts (if any), AND you must estimate the total gross receipts expected for the current calendar year.

Due:

Due by March 1st of the current calendar year.

Penalties:

10% late filing penalty.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Fee based on gross reciepts through one calender year. 

Turnaround:

5-7 business days. 

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Learn about general business licensing requirements in other states:



© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.