Nevada Business License

View Guide Contents
Four people, boxes, office being setup

General Business License Requirements for Nevada.

Business licenses are often required of business entities, regardless of their products and services. This page provides an overview of business license requirements in Nevada.

Nevada General Business Licenses

Nevada State Business License

Agency:Nevada Secretary of State
Law:

NRS § 76.020.

One-Time Exemption Registration

Form:

Initial/Annual List Application (Exemption)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$0

Notes:

Nonprofits that are qualified 501(c) organizations are eligible for exemption from the business license requirement.

Fact Checked:2/4/20

Initial Registration

Form:

Initial/Annual List Application (Applications for most entity types are included with the list of officers filing.)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$500 for business corporations and $200 for all other entities.

Penalties:

The entity will be subject to additional penalties if the annual list and declaration form are not returned and in filing order by the due date of the annual list.

Fact Checked:2/4/20

Registration Renewal

Form:

Initial/Annual List Application (Applications for most entity types are included with the list of officers filing.)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$500 for business corporations and $200 for all other entities.

Due:

File annually along with the annual list of officers. 

Fact Checked:2/4/20

Local General Business Licenses

Carson City Business License

Agency:Carson City Business License Office (NV)
Fact Checked:11/12/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$25 application fee + additional fees depending on business type

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

No application is needed for renewal, just the renewal fee.

Agency Fee:

Renewal fees are based on business type and size.

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Notarize:Required

City of Reno Business License

Agency:City of Reno Department of Community Development - Business License Division (NV)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:7/24/20

Initial Registration

Form:

Annual Business License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

Fees are based on first 12 months estimated gross receipts

Required Attachments:
  • Proof of State Business License
  • Proof of Industrial Insurance
  • Proof of Fictitious Name Registration (if filed with Nevada Secretary of State)
Fact Checked:7/24/20

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal Form

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

Varies based on gross sales in the city in the past year

Due:

Annually by the first day of the month business began in the city.

Fact Checked:7/27/20

Clark County Nevada General Business License

Agency:Clark County Business Licensing Department
Notes:

Required for entities doing business within the unincorporated areas of Clark County.  This license does not replace the Nevada State Business License or any business license required by cities located within Clark County.

Fact Checked:2/18/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Clark County Business License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$45 application plus sliding license fee based on type of business, gross receipts, etc.

Original Ink:Not required
Notes:

Certain regulated industries must provide additional documentation to obtain licensure.  Instructions for both general and regulated business licensing can be found here.

Fact Checked:2/19/19

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal Form

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

Fee schedule is determined by the type of business in which the entity takes part.

Due:

Renewal due either annually or semi-annually based on the type of business in which the entity takes part.

Original Ink:Not required
Fact Checked:2/19/19

Elko City Business License

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Notes:

All business licenses are issued on a yearly basis. A renewal reminder will be mailed to you each year as a courtesy. If you do not receive the reminder you are responsible for renewing your license by the due date. Failure to renew your license by the required deadline will result in a 25% penalty after (30) thirty days and a 50% penalty after (60) sixty days and possible closure of your business.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Requirement Notes:



  • State of Nevada Occupational Licensing: Certain occupations operating in the State of Nevada are required to obtain licensing from the state (i.e. Contractors, Cosmetologists, Realtors, Finance Companies, etc.) This licensing must be obtained prior to applying for your Elko City license and a copy attached to your application.




  • State of Nevada Business License: All businesses operating in the State of Nevada must obtain a state business license from the Secretary of State or apply for exempt status. Then provide a copy of the state
    license, confirmation letter or exemption letter with the City application. Please visit the Secretary of State’s website at www.nvsos.gov or apply online at www.nvsilverflume.gov, or call 775-684-5708.




  • State of Nevada Department of Taxation: Pursuant to NRS 268.095 (6) all new businesses must register with the Nevada Department of Taxation. Applicants must contact Taxation for a determination
    of requirements. Verification from Taxation must be provided to the City which may include a copy of a sales or use tax permit, a copy of a confirmation letter or exemption letter. You can contact the
    Nevada Department of Taxation at their website at www.tax.state.nv.us or apply online at www.nvsilverflume.gov, via email at www.renoevents@tax.state.nv.us or phone at 775-687-9999.




  • Fictitious Firm Name: Contact the Elko County Clerk for requirements for filing a fictitious firm name for your business. The number for the County Clerk’s office is 775-753-4600.
    Elko City Water Dept.: Please contact this department for questions regarding water billing for your business at 775-777-7135.




  • Home-Based Businesses: If your business operations will be operated out of your home located within the city limits of Elko, a Home Occupation Permit through the Elko City Planning Department is required
    prior to applying for your license. This office is located at the above address and the phone number is 775-777-7160. Please provide a copy of the Home Occupation Permit with your business license application.




  • Food Service/Sales Businesses: If your business sells or serves food or drink it must meet all requirements of the Nevada State Health Department. This department is located at 1020 Ruby Vista Dr. Suite 103, Elko. The phone number is 775-753-1138. Please contact them and provide a copy of your Health Permit with your business license application.


    Inspections: All new businesses located in the Elko City limits will require inspections from the City Fire, Building, Planning, and Development Departments. These departments will be notified by our
    office once a complete application is turned in to the Business License Department. If you have questions regarding inspection requirements a list of the departments will be provided at the end of this document. Please note if you have an Elko City home-based business or your business is not located inside the City limits of Elko the city inspections will not be required.



Fact Checked:4/28/20

Initial Registration
City of Elko Business License Application

Form:

Form

Instructions:

Following are the steps for completing the application for a new business license:


1. Please complete the application. Please legibly print or type.
2. Please complete the Non-Residential Wastewater Pretreatment Questionnaire and return with the application. (This is only for businesses with a physical commercial location in the City of Elko.)
3. The enclosed Duties as an Elko City Licensee form outlines licensing requirements, please read, sign and date it.
4. The Affirmation of Compliance form must be completed by all applicants and signed in the presence of an Elko City employee, or it must be notarized.
5. The Central Dispatch form updates contact information that maybe used in the case of an emergency. Please complete this form if your business is physically located in the city limits.
6. The Nevada Safety form and the Sign Regulations are for your information.

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

The fee for a new business license is $34.50 plus a $25.00 processing fee, unless your business is a Utility Company, Bank, Motel or Residential Property Rental those fees will be determined in person.

Penalties:

Failure to renew your license by the required deadline will result in a 25% penalty after (30) thirty days and a 50% penalty after (60) sixty days and possible closure of your business.

Notes:

According to Elko City Code 4-1-13, if you are conducting business either directly or indirectly inside the city limits of Elko, whether or not your actual business is located within the city limits, you must obtain an Elko City Business License prior to opening the business.

Fact Checked:4/28/20

Registration Renewal

Form:

https://www.ci.elko.nv.us/government/licensing/index.php

Instructions:

Following are the steps for completing the application for a new business license:


1. Please complete the application. Please legibly print or type.
2. Please complete the Non-Residential Wastewater Pretreatment Questionnaire and return with the application. (This is only for businesses with a physical commercial location in the City of Elko.)
3. The enclosed Duties as an Elko City Licensee form outlines licensing requirements, please read, sign and date it.
4. The Affirmation of Compliance form must be completed by all applicants and signed in the presence of an Elko City employee, or it must be notarized.
5. The Central Dispatch form updates contact information that maybe used in the case of an emergency. Please complete this form if your business is physically located in the city limits.
6. The Nevada Safety form and the Sign Regulations are for your information.

Agency Fee:

The fee for a new business license is $34.50 plus a $25.00 processing fee, unless your business is a Utility Company, Bank, Motel or Residential Property Rental those fees will be determined in person.

Due:

Due annually.

Penalties:

Failure to renew your license by the required deadline will result in a 25% penalty after (30) thirty days and a 50% penalty after (60) sixty days and possible closure of your business.

Notes:

According to Elko City Code 4-1-13, if you are conducting business either directly or indirectly inside the city limits of Elko, whether or not your actual business is located within the city limits, you must obtain an Elko City Business License prior to opening the business.

 

 

Fact Checked:4/28/20

Lyon County Business License

Agency:Lyon County Clerk and Treasurer (NV)
Fact Checked:11/12/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$25 application processing fee + fee based on the number of employyees: 1-3: $150; 4-15: $188; 16-50: $338; 51 or more: $900.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$25 application processing fee + fee based on the number of employyees: 1-3: $150; 4-15: $188; 16-50: $338; 51 or more: $900.

Due:

Annually by July 1.

Notarize:Required

Learn about general business licensing requirements in other states:



© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.