50-State Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing Compliance Guide
A macro view of pills

West Virginia Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing

A pharmacist explaining a clients prescription

Licensing requirements for West Virginia healthcare and pharmaceutical companies and individuals.

This page provides an overview of healthcare and pharmaceutical industry licensing in West Virginia for individuals and businesses. You will find state requirements, application fees, filing instructions, and more. For assistance with licensing, please contact us to learn about our software and managed license services.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(2)
(1)
(2)
(1)
(3)
Individual Licenses
(1)
(1)
(3)

Company Licenses

West Virginia Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Company Licenses

West Virginia Charitable Clinic Pharmacy Permit

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Charitable Clinic Pharmacy Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Charitable Clinic Pharmacy Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Due:

Annually by June 30.

West Virginia In-State Controlled Substance Permit

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

In-State (Resident) Controlled Substance Permit Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$50 for hospitals or medical clinics and $25 for other entities.

Registration Renewal

Form:

In-State (Resident) Controlled Substance Permit Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$50 for hospitals or medical clinics and $25 for other entities.

Due:

Annually by June 30.

West Virginia In-State EMS Controlled Substance Permit

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

In-State (Resident) EMS Controlled Substance Permit Application

Agency Fee:

$25; $0 for government agencies.

Registration Renewal

Form:

In-State (Resident) EMS Controlled Substance Permit Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$25; $0 for government agencies.

Due:

Annually by June 30.

West Virginia Limited Schedule V Pseudoephedrine Distributor Registration

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Schedule V Limited Pseudoephedrine Distributor Application

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$200 Limited Pseudoephedrine registration fee + $50 controlled substance registration fee = $250

Registration Renewal

Form:

Schedule V Limited Pseudoephedrine Distributor Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$200 Limited Pseudoephedrine registration fee + $50 controlled substance registration fee + 2.25% processing fee

Due:

Annually by June 15.

Penalties:

Renewal applications received after June shall require the payment of a late fee in the amount of $150.00 in addition to the renewal fee. Renewal applications not received by the first day of August each year shall require the payment of a reinstatement fee of $250.00 in addition to the renewal fee.

West Virginia Mail-Order Pharmacy Permit

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Mail Order Application/Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$500 application fee + $50 controlled substance permit fee (if applicable) + $150 if performing sterile and/or nuclear compounding

Registration Renewal

Form:

Mail Order Application/Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$500 application fee + $50 controlled substance permit fee (if applicable) + $150 if performing sterile and/or nuclear compounding

Due:

By June 30 of odd-numbered years.

West Virginia Manufacturer Permit

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Manufacturer Application/Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$500 application fee + $50 If handling Controlled Substances + $150 if performing sterile and/or nuclear compounding 

Required Attachments:

You must attach copies of your State License and most current inspection report as well as copies of your federal and state controlled substance registration, if shipping controlled substances.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Manufacturer Application/Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$500 application fee + $50 If handling Controlled Substances + $150 if performing sterile and/or nuclear compounding 

Due:

Biannually by June 15.

Penalties:
  • Renewal applications received after June shall require the payment of a late fee in the amount of $150.00 in addition to the renewal fee.
  • Renewal applications not received by the first day of August each year shall require the payment of a reinstatement fee of $250.00 in addition to the renewal fee.

West Virginia Pharmacy Permit (In-State)

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

New Pharmacy Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Registration Renewal

Form:

In State (Resident) Pharmacy Renewal Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Annually by June 30.

West Virginia Third-Party Logistics Provider Permit

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Third Party Logistics Provider Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$750 application fee + $50 if handling Controlled Substances

Turnaround:

5 to 7 business days

Required Attachments:

You must attach copies of your Home State License, most current inspection report, and Federal (DEA) controlled substance registration. If you are located outside the state of West Virginia, you must attach copies of your federal and state-controlled substance registrations, if shipping controlled substances.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Third Party Logistics Provider Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$750 application fee + $50 if handling Controlled Substances

Turnaround:

5 to 7 business days

Due:

Biannually by June 15.

Required Attachments:

You must attach copies of your Home State License, most current inspection report, and Federal (DEA) controlled substance registration. If you are located outside the state of West Virginia, you must attach copies of your federal and state-controlled substance registrations, if shipping controlled substances. 

West Virginia Wholesale Drug Distributor Permit

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Wholesale Application/Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$750 application fee+ $50 if handling Controlled Substances

Required Attachments:

You must attach copies of your State License, most current inspection report, and Federal (DEA) controlled substance registration. If you are located outside the state of West Virginia, you must attach copies of your federal and state owned substance registrations, if shipping controlled substances.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Wholesale Application/Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$750 application fee+ $50 if handling Controlled Substances

Due:

Annually by June 15.

Required Attachments:

You must attach copies of your State License, most current inspection report, and Federal (DEA) controlled substance registration. If you are located outside the state of West Virginia, you must attach copies of your federal and state owned substance registrations, if shipping controlled substances.

Individual Licenses

West Virginia Individual Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licenses

West Virginia Nuclear Pharmacy Technician Registration

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Initial Nuclear Pharmacy Technician

Agency Fee:

$25

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Nuclear Pharmacy Technician Renewal

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Annually by June 30.

West Virginia Pharmacist License

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$120

Due:

Biennially by June 30th.

Original Ink:Not required

West Virginia Pharmacy Technician Registration

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Initial Pharmacy Technician

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$25

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Pharmacy Technician Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Annually by June 30.

West Virginia Pharmacy Technician Trainee Registration

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Initial Pharmacy Technician Trainee Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$25

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Trainee registrations cannot be renewed, but can be extended under some circumstances.

West Virginia Registered Intern License

Agency:West Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Intern Initial Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$15

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Intern Renewal Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Learn about healthcare and pharmaceutical licensing in other states:

Controlled Substance Registration - In addition to a pharmacy license, controlled substance registration registration is required in many states for pharmacies that distribute controlled substances.

NABP (National Association of Boards of Pharmacy) - Host a variety of programs and resources relating to pharmacist and pharmacy licensure and examination.

Pharmacist in Charge - A licensed pharmacist designated by a pharmacy to act as the party responsible for compliance with regulations.

VPP (Verified Pharmacy Program) - A program run by NABP that allows state boards to share information and more easily register out-of-state pharmacies.

© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.