Iowa Biennial Report

Learn when and how to file a report in Iowa

Annual and biennial reports are entity information updates typically filed with the Secretary of State. Depending on the state and entity type, report due dates and fees vary. See the table below for information on filing a report in Iowa.

For Corporations:

Agency:Iowa Secretary of State
Form:

Available Online

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$45 online or $60 by mail.

Due:

By April 1 of even-numbered years.

Law:

Iowa Code § 490.1622.

Penalties:

No late fee. Your business can be dissolved or revoked within a few months.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
Fact Checked:9/10/19

For Limited Liability Companies:

Agency:Iowa Secretary of State
Form:

Available Online

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$45 online or $60 by mail.

Due:

By April 1 of odd-numbered years.

Law:

Iowa Code § 489.209

Penalties:

No late fee. Your business can be dissolved or revoked within a few months.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
Fact Checked:9/10/19

For Nonprofit Corporations:

Agency:Iowa Secretary of State
Form:

Available Online

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

By April 1 of odd-numbered years.

Law:

Iowa Code § 504.1613

Penalties:

No late fee. Your business can be dissolved or revoked within a few months.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
Fact Checked:8/6/20

For Professional Corporations:

Agency:Iowa Secretary of State
Form:

Available Online

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$45 online or $60 by mail.

Due:

By April 1 of even-numbered years.

Penalties:

No late fee. Your business can be dissolved or revoked within a few months.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
Fact Checked:9/10/18

For Professional LLCs:

Agency:Iowa Secretary of State
Form:

Available Online

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$45 online or $60 by mail.

Due:

By April 1 of odd-numbered years.

Penalties:

No late fee. Your business can be dissolved or revoked within a few months.

Notes:
  • Anyone with authority may file.
  • Original signatures are not required.
Fact Checked:9/10/18
© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.