Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing Compliance Guide
A macro view of pills

Illinois Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing

A pharmacist explaining a clients prescription

Licensing requirements for Illinois healthcare and pharmaceutical companies and individuals.

This page provides an overview of healthcare and pharmaceutical industry licensing in for individuals and businesses. You will find state requirements, application fees, filing instructions, and more. For assistance with licensing, please contact us to learn about our software and managed license services.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(2)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(1)
(1)

Company Licenses

Illinois Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Company Licenses

Illinois Home Medical Equipment & Services Provider

Agency:Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation - Home Medical Equipment and Services Board
Law:

225 ILCS 51/15

Fact Checked:12/2/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Home Medical Equipment Provider License

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$300

Fact Checked:12/2/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$300

Due:

Triennially by March 31.

Fact Checked:12/2/19

Illinois Pharmacy Controlled Substance License

Agency:Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation - Division of Professional Regulation - State Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Pharmacy Paper Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$5

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By March 31 of even-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Illinois Pharmacy License

Agency:Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation - Division of Professional Regulation - State Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Pharmacy Paper Application

Instructions:

Mail to: 

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
ATTN: Division of Professional Regulation
P.O. Box 7007
Springfield, Illinois 62791

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$100

Notes:
  • Fill in every box on the application. Use N/A sparingly for "Not Applicable" or "Not Available". 
How to Apply:
  1. Register with the Illinois Secretary of State. 
  2. Submit your application to the Board of Pharmacy 
  3. After the application is reviewed, in-state pharmacies must be inspected and approved by a Department of Financial and Professional Regulation pharmacy investigator before a license will be issued.You will be contacted by the pharmacy investigator to arrange for inspection
Required Attachments:
  • A list of the names, home addresses, and registered pharmacist numbers of all owners, partners, members, officers, directors, or shareholders owning 5% or more of the outstanding shares
  • Certified copy of a Corporation's Articles of Incorporation or an LLCs Articles of Organization (applicable to corporations and LLC's only)
  • A copy of your most recent annual report (applicable to partnerships, corporations, and LLC's)
  • Certificate of Authority from the Illinois Secretary of State
    • Foreign entities with a pharmacy located inside Illinois must meet this requirement
  • Partnerships, Corporations or LLCs Doing-Business-As (DBA) or operating under an Assumed Name must submit documentation of registering the name
  • Pharmacies located outside of Illinois (non-resident) must submit
    • Certification of Licensure completed by the Pharmacy licensure authority in the state where the pharmacy is located (the name and address should match the name and address on your application)
    • A photocopy of the current pharmacy license and controlled substance license for the state where the pharmacy is located (the name and address should match the name and address on your application)
    • A photocopy of your current DEA registration (the name and address and drug schedules should match the name, address, and drug schedules on your application)
    • A photocopy of your most recent inspection report (the name and address should match the name and address on your application)
  • Application for a License Under the Illinois Controlled Substances Act is required for all pharmacies dispensing controlled substances. 
    • Completion of this form is required by 720 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes. Disclosure of this information is "MANDATORY." However, failure to comply could result in a fine up to $30,000.
  • Certification by Licensing Agency/ Board form 
    • Signed by the applicant's home state board of pharmacy
    • Form is sealed and submitted directly from the home state board to the Illinois Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$200

Due:

By March 31 of even-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Illinois Wholesale Drug Distributor Controlled Substances License

Agency:Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Wholesale Drug Distributor Controlled Substances License Application

Agency Fee:

$15 for schedule V only or $50 for any other schedules.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30 for schedule V only or $100 for any other schedules.

Due:

By December 31 of eve-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Illinois Wholesale Drug Distributor License

Agency:Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Wholesale Drug Distributor's License

Agency Fee:

$200

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$400

Due:

By December 31 of eve-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Individual Licenses

Illinois Individual Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licenses

Illinois Pharmacist License

Agency:Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation - Division of Professional Regulation - State Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Pharmacist Paper Application

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

By March 31 of even-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Illinois Pharmacy Technician License

Agency:Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation - Division of Professional Regulation - State Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$40

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by March 31.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Learn about healthcare and pharmaceutical licensing in other states:

Controlled Substance Registration - In addition to a pharmacy license, controlled substance registration registration is required in many states for pharmacies that distribute controlled substances.

NABP (National Association of Boards of Pharmacy) - Host a variety of programs and resources relating to pharmacist and pharmacy licensure and examination.

Pharmacist in Charge - A licensed pharmacist designated by a pharmacy to act as the party responsible for compliance with regulations.

VPP (Verified Pharmacy Program) - A program run by NABP that allows state boards to share information and more easily register out-of-state pharmacies.

© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.