Utah Business License

Four people, boxes, office being setup

General Business License Requirements for Utah.

Business licenses are often required of business entities, regardless of their products and services. This page provides an overview of business license requirements in Utah.

Utah General Business Licenses

Utah Business License

Not required



General Business License licensure is not required on the State level in Utah.

There is no state basic business license in Utah, however, all businesses are required to hold a city or county level license.

Local General Business Licenses

Cache County Business License

Agency:Cache County Clerk (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

New?Business License Application

Agency Fee:

The Planning and Zoning Department determines the business classification and sets fees.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Renewal fee is set by the Planning and Zoning Department during intial licensing process.

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Davis County Business License

Agency:Utah County Business (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Application - Business License

Agency Fee:

After submitting an application, the County Commission will set a fee based on business type and size.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application - Business License Renewal

Agency Fee:

After submitting a rewal application, the County Commission will set a fee based on business type and size.

Due:

Annually by January 31.

North Salt Lake General Business License

Agency:North Salt Lake Business Licensing (UT)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Registration Renewal
North Salt Lake City Business License Renewal

Form:

Online

Filing Method:

Online

Due:

Due annually on December 31st

Penalties:

Late fees can be found here: https://www.nslcity.org/DocumentCenter/View/2362

Ogden City Business License

Agency:City of Ogden Business Licensing Division (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

Fees are dependent on business type and number of employees.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Fees are dependent on business type and number of employees.

Due:

Annually

Orem Commercial Business License

Agency:City of Orem Business Licensing Department (UT)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$210 base fee + $105 inspection fee + Disproportionate Regulatory Service fee that will vary depending on how many city services the business will use. These fees will be noted on the online application.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$85 base fee + Disproportionate Regulatory Service fee

Due:

Annually by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Provo City Business License

Agency:Provo City Administrative Services Department (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Commercial Business License Application

Agency Fee:

Fees range from $125 to $800 depending on number of employees.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fees range from $125 to $800 depending on number of employees.

Due:

Annually by the anniversary of registration.

Salt Lake City Business License

Agency:Salt Lake City Finance (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for New Commercial License

Agency Fee:

Home occupation business: $121; Non-home occupations: $153; + $22 per full or part-time employee if business has more than one employee + $175 for additional background checks.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fee will be noted on the renewal form sent 2 months prior to due date.

Due:

Annually by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Salt Lake County Business License

Agency:Salt Lake County Planning and Development Services (UT)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

There is a $150 flat fee + $6 per employee. Additional fees are dependent upon the location within the county; home business exemption may be waived depending on jurisdiction.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

There is a $150 flat fee + $6 per employee. Additional fees are dependent upon the location within the county; home business exemption may be waived depending on jurisdiction.

Due:

Annually by the registration anniversary date.

Sandy City Commercial Business License

Agency:City of Sandy Business Department (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Commercial Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$140 + $40 inspection fee + Disproportionate Regulatory Service fee.

Registration Renewal

Due:

Annually by January 1.

Smithfield Business License

Agency:Smithfield City Administration Deparmtnet (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application 

Filing Method:

Mail. 

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type. 

Turnaround:

7 business days. 

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Fees determined by business type. 

Due:

Annually by January 1st.

Penalties:

A late penalty of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be added to the annual fee required of any person who has not renewed his license by December 31.

Licenses not renewed by March 31, will be charged a second late penalty of fifty dollars ($50.00).

St. George Business License

Agency:St. George Planning, Zoning, and Development Department (UT)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Packet

Agency Fee:

$50 license fee + $10 for each full-time employee and $5 for each part-time employee. The maximum fee is $350.

Original Ink:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Renewal Form

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$50 license fee + $10 for each full-time employee and $5 for each part-time employee. The maximum fee is $350.

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Utah County Business License

Agency:Utah County Community Development (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

You must first complete and submit a Business License Zone Clearance. If approved, a Business License application with fee will be included with the clearance results.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal information is sent in June annually.

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Washington County Business License

Agency:Washington County Clerk/Auditor's Office (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$350.00 maximum ($50.00 base fee + $10.00 for each full time employee + $5.00 for each part time employee + $10 processing fee + one-time $75 inspection fee depending on business location.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$350.00 maximum ($50.00 base fee + $10.00 for each full time employee + $5.00 for each part time employee + $10 processing fee + one-time $75 inspection fee depending on business location.

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Weber County Unincorporated Business License

Agency:Weber County Planning (UT)

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$60 + Business License fee which is based on your business type.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Renewals will have a Business License fee which is based on your business type.

Due:

Annually by March 31.

West Jordan Commercial Business License

Agency:City of West Jordan Community Business Finance Department (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Commercial Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$155 base fee additional fees + $50 processing fee + $7 per employee + fire inspection fee per business size (size breakdown is listed on the application as well as additional fees required for specific business types)

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Fees will be listed on the renewal form.

Due:

Annually

Notes:

Information regarding accessing the renewal form will be sent via mail 4-6 weeks before current license expiration.

West Valley City Commercial Business License

Agency:West Valley City Finance Department (UT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for a Commercial Business License

Agency Fee:

$110 (except landlords with less than 3 rental units) + $50 one-time inspection fee + $10 per employee + .50 per vehicle parking sticker (additional fees listed on the application per business type)

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application for a Commercial Business License (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$110 (except landlords with less than 3 rental units) + $10 per employee + .50 per vehicle parking sticker (additional fees listed on the application per business type)

Due:

Annually by the registration anniversary date.

Learn about general business licensing requirements in other states:



© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.