50-State Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing Compliance Guide
A macro view of pills

Texas Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing

A pharmacist explaining a clients prescription

Licensing requirements for Texas healthcare and pharmaceutical companies and individuals.

This page provides an overview of healthcare and pharmaceutical industry licensing in Texas for individuals and businesses. You will find state requirements, application fees, filing instructions, and more. For assistance with licensing, please contact us to learn about our software and managed license services.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(3)
(5)
(1)
(3)
(1)
(3)
(1)
(5)
(10)
Individual Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(2)

Company Licenses

Texas Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Company Licenses

Texas Central Prescription Drug or Medication Order Processing Pharmacy (Class G) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Clinic Pharmacy (Class D) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Clinic Pharmacy (Class D) License Application

Agency Fee:

$459 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Community Pharmacy (Class A) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Community Pharmacy (Class A) License Application

Agency Fee:

$459 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Community Pharmacy Compounding Sterile Preparations (Class A-S) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Community Pharmacy Compounding Sterile Preparations (Class A-S) License Application

Agency Fee:

$459 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Device Distributor License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group
Notes:

Entities applying for this license must have a physical address within the state of Texas.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

Device Distributor Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all devices sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $494 per facility for gross annual device sales of less than $500,000
  • $1,112 per facility for gross annual device sales of at least $500,000 but less than $10,000,000
  • $1,730 per facility for gross annual device sales of $10,000,000 or more

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Required Attachments:
  • List of officers and directors/partners including address, driver's license number, and date of birth

Registration Renewal

Form:

Device Distributor Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all devices sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $494 per facility for gross annual device sales of less than $500,000
  • $1,112 per facility for gross annual device sales of at least $500,000 but less than $10,000,000
  • $1,730 per facility for gross annual device sales of $10,000,000 or more

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Required Attachments:
  • List of officers and directors/partners including address, driver's license number, and date of birth

Texas Device Manufacturer License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group
Notes:

Entities applying for this license must have a physical address within the state of Texas.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

Device Manufacturer Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all devices sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $494 per facility for gross annual device sales of less than $500,000
  • $2,225 per facility for gross annual device sales of at least $500,000 but less than $10,000,000
  • $3,708 per facility for gross annual device sales of $10,000,000 or more

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

Device Manufacturer Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all devices sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $494 per facility for gross annual device sales of less than $500,000
  • $2,225 per facility for gross annual device sales of at least $500,000 but less than $10,000,000
  • $3,708 per facility for gross annual device sales of $10,000,000 or more

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Texas Freestanding Emergency Medical Care Center Pharmacy (Class F) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Freestanding Emergency Medical Care Center Pharmacy (Class F) License Application

Agency Fee:

$459 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Home & Community Support Services Agency (HCSSA) License

Agency:Texas Health and Human Services
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$1,750

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$1,750

Due:

Biennially

Texas Hospital Pharmacy Engaged in Compounding Sterile Preparations (Class C-S) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Hospital Pharmacy Engaged in Compounding Sterile Preparations (Class C-S) License Application

Agency Fee:

$459 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Hospital/Ambulatory Surgical Center Pharmacy (Class C) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Hospital/Ambulatory Surgical Center Pharmacy (Class C) License Application

Agency Fee:

$459 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas In-State Manufacturer of Nonprescription Drugs License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

In-State Wholesale Distributors of Nonprescription Drugs who are Manufacturers Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $1,040 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $1,690 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
  • $2,210 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

In-State Wholesale Distributors of Nonprescription Drugs who are Manufacturers Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $1,040 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $1,690 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
  • $2,210 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Texas In-State Manufacturer of Prescription Drugs License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

In-State Manufacture of Prescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $1,080 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $1,755 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
  • $2,295 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more
     

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

In-State Manufacture of Prescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $1,080 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $1,755 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
  • $2,295 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more
     
    A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)
Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Texas In-State Wholesale Distributors of Nonprescription Drugs License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group

Initial Registration

Form:

In-State Wholesale Distributors of Nonprescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

$1,040 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
$1,690 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
$2,210 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more
 
A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

In-State Wholesale Distributors of Nonprescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $1,040 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $1,690 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
  • $2,210 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more
     
    A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)
Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Texas In-State Wholesale Distributors of Prescription Drugs License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group

Initial Registration

Form:

In-State Wholesale Distributors of Prescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $675 per location for medical gas only distributors with less than $20,000 in gross annual drug sales
  • $1,080 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $1,755 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
  • $2,295 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

In-State Wholesale Distributors of Prescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $675 per location for medical gas only distributors with less than $20,000 in gross annual drug sales
  • $1,080 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $1,755 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
  • $2,295 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Texas Limited Prescription Deliver Pharmacy (Class H) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Limited Prescription Deliver Pharmacy (Class H) License Application

Agency Fee:

$459

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Medicaid Provider Enrollment - Facility

Agency:Texas Health and Human Services
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$599

Notes:

Providers who have already paid the Medicare Enrollment application fee or the Medicaid Enrollment fee for another state may be exempt from paying the application fee.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$599

Due:

Every 3 or 5 years depending on the type of services provided.

Texas Medicaid Provider Enrollment - Group

Agency:Texas Health and Human Services
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$599

Notes:

Providers who have already paid the Medicare Enrollment application fee or the Medicaid Enrollment fee for another state may be exempt from paying the application fee.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$599

Due:

Every 3 or 5 years depending on the type of services provided.

Texas Medicaid Provider Enrollment - Performing Provider

Agency:Texas Health and Human Services
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$599

Notes:

Providers who have already paid the Medicare Enrollment application fee or the Medicaid Enrollment fee for another state may be exempt from paying the application fee.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$599

Due:

Every 3 or 5 years depending on the type of services provided.

Texas Multiple Product (Including Medical Gases) Nonprescription Drug License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group
Notes:

Entities applying for this license must have a physical address within the state of Texas.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

Multiple Product (Including Medical Gases) Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all devices sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $520 for facilities with less than $200,000 in combined gross annual sales
  • $780 for facilities with between $200,000 and $500,000 in combined gross annual sales
  • $1,040 for facilities with between $500,000 and $1,000,000 in combined gross annual sales
  • $1,300 for facilities with between $1,000,000 and $10,000,000 in combined gross annual sales
  • $1,950 for facilities with $10,000,000 or more in combined gross annual sales.

 

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

Multiple Product (Including Medical Gases) Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all devices sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $520 for facilities with less than $200,000 in combined gross annual sales
  • $780 for facilities with between $200,000 and $500,000 in combined gross annual sales
  • $1,040 for facilities with between $500,000 and $1,000,000 in combined gross annual sales
  • $1,300 for facilities with between $1,000,000 and $10,000,000 in combined gross annual sales
  • $1,950 for facilities with $10,000,000 or more in combined gross annual sales.
     

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Texas Multiple Product Nonprescription Drug License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group
Notes:

Entities applying for this license must have a physical address within the state of Texas.

Initial Registration

Form:

Multiple Product Nonprescription Drug Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $520 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $780 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $500,000
  • $1,040 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $500,000 but less than $1,000,000
  • $1,300 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $1,000,000 but less than $10,000,000
  • $1,950 per location for gross annual drug sales of $10,000,000 or more.

 
A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

Multiple Product Nonprescription Drug Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drug sales at each licensed place of business:

  • $520 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $780 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $500,000
  • $1,040 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $500,000 but less than $1,000,000
  • $1,300 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $1,000,000 but less than $10,000,000
  • $1,950 per location for gross annual drug sales of $10,000,000 or more.
     
    A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)
Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

The Class E pharmacy license or non-resident pharmacy license--a license issued to a pharmacy located in another state whose primary business is to:
(A) dispense a prescription drug or device under a prescription drug order; and
(B) to deliver the drug or device to a patient, including a patient in this state, by the United States mail, common carrier, or delivery service.

 

This pharmacy does NOT:
1. Engage in compounding sterile preparations in the state of residence;
2. Dispense, distribute, deliver, or ship sterile compounded preparations to residents in Texas or to any other state;
3. Dispense, distribute, deliver, or ship sterile compounded preparations to practitioners in Texas or to any other state; or
4. Obtain sterile compounded preparations from a separate pharmacy, whether there is an affiliation or not, and use the sterile compounded preparations to fulfill a prescription drug order for a Texas
resident, or to fulfill a purchase order or initiative from a Texas practitioner for sterile compounded preparations to be used as office drug supplies by the practitioner for administration to the practitioner’s patients.

Texas Non-Resident Pharmacy (Class E) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Application for a facility located in a state other than Texas whose primary business is to dispense a prescription drug or device under a prescription drug order; and deliver the drug or device to a patient, including a patient in this state, by United States mail, common carrier, or delivery service. This license does not provide for engaging in compounded sterile preparations.

Form:

Non-Resident Pharmacy (Class E) License Application

Filing Method:

Mail to: 

Texas State Board of Pharmacy
333 Guadalupe Street Suite 3-500
Austin, TX 78701

Agency Fee:

$459

Notarize:Required
Notes:
  • According to Texas Occupations Code § 565.0551, the Executive Director of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy may require a license holder to submit a surety bond to the board. 
  • Applications can be paid with a Check or Money Order
  • The TSBP may request additional documentation to confirm or substantiate information submitted on the application. 
  • Due to the high volume of applications received, the Board is unable to confirm the receipt of the application. Instead, consider using a mail courier with tracking notifications and/or delivery receipts to confirm the receipt of the application. The receiving Licensing Specialist will send the pharmacy an email to the email address provided on the application to notify if there are any deficiencies or if the application is considered complete at the time it is reviewed. This initial review process can take 1-2 weeks.
Before you Apply:
  • The Name of the Pharmacy Owner is the Legal Name of the Pharmacy. This name should be the name of the direct owner legally responsible for the operation of the pharmacy, and it must match any and all
    Secretary of State and IRS filings.
    • The Business Name of the Pharmacy is the name to be listed on all pharmacy signage, licenses from other regulatory agencies, advertisements, etc
    • Ownership Information, Pharmacy Name, and the Pharmacy Address must match the information listed on the Resident Pharmacy License.
  • For each owner, provide: 
    • Ownership Information Form (LIC-004)
    • Verification of the Owner’s FEIN from the IRS
    • Certificate of Formation/Application of Registration from Texas Secretary of State
      • For Foreign Entities ONLY: Formation Documents from Jurisdiction of Formation
    • Verification of Franchise Tax Account Status from Texas Comptroller
  • Sworn Disclosure Statement (LIC-005) for each applicant OR  submit one of the following:
    • Page 1 of the company’s 10-K SEC Filing
    • Statement for Wholly Owned Retail Grocery Store Chain
  • Submit Managing Officer Forms for each officer (LIC-021). “Managing Officers" are defined as the top four executive officers, including the corporate officer in charge of pharmacy operations, who are designated by the partnership or corporation to be jointly responsible for the legal operation of the pharmacy. For each, include: 
    • Name of the office
    • Copy of the officer's photo ID
      • Acceptable Photo IDs are: Current Driver’s License, State-Issued Identification Card, or US Passport. 
    • Verification of SSN
      • - Submit a copy of the individual’s Social Security Card OR a copy of the individual’s W2 or Paystub, that shows the full SSN and Name of the individual, with all financial information redacted
  • Lease Agreement or Proof of Property Ownership 
    •  Submit either a Lease Agreement or Proof of Property Ownership, if the pharmacy owner is not leasing the space but owns the premises. 
    • If the owner of the pharmacy also owns the premises and is NOT leasing the space, submit either ONE of the following for proof of property ownership
  • Inspection Report
    • Attach a copy of the most recent pharmacy inspection report dated no more than two years prior to the date of this application. The inspection must have been conducted by the regulatory or licensing agency of the resident state AFTER the pharmacy was in operation for a minimum of 30 days. 
  • Written Letter(s) of License Verification for Pharmacy and Pharmacist-in-Charge
    • Submit written verification from the resident Board of Pharmacy that verifies the licenses of the BOTH the Pharmacist-in-Charge and the Pharmacy. Copies of the license will NOT fulfill this requirement. 
  • Description of Services
    • Attach a detailed written description of services that the pharmacy plans to offer Texas Residents upon licensure. 
  • Letter of Credit Worthiness Document from a licensed Drug Distributor and/or Manufacturer 
    •  Submit a letter from the pharmacy’s primary pharmaceutical wholesaler that verifies the pharmacy applicant’s creditworthiness. The letter must come from a licensed wholesaler and it must be for the specific pharmacy and/or for the pharmacy owner
  • Verification of an ACTIVE Franchise Tax Account Status from the Texas Comptroller, if entity is also registered with Texas. Provide documentation from the Texas Comptroller that shows the entity has an ACTIVE Franchise Tax Account Status.
  • Organizational Chart: Provide an organizational chart that shows multi-levels of ownership and relation to the pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Non-Resident Pharmacy Compounding Sterile Preparations (Class E-S) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Non-Resident Pharmacy Compounding Sterile Preparations (Class E-S)

Agency Fee:

$459

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Nuclear Pharmacy (Class B) License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Nuclear Pharmacy (Class B) License Application

Agency Fee:

$459 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$456 license fee + $25 per pharmacy balance/scale.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Out-of-State Wholesale Distributors of Nonprescription Drugs License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group

Initial Registration

Form:

Out-of-State Wholesale Distributors of Nonprescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drugs delivered into Texas:

  • $1,300 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $20,000,000
  • $1,950 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more.
     
    A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

Out-of-State Wholesale Distributors of Nonprescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drugs delivered into Texas:

  • $1,300 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $20,000,000
  • $1,950 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more.
     
    A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)
Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Texas Out-of-State Wholesale Distributors of Prescription Drugs License

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Drug and Medical Devices Group

Initial Registration

Form:

Out-of-State Wholesale Distributors of Prescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drugs delivered into Texas:

  • $675 per location for medical gas only distributors with less than $20,000 in gross annual drug sales

  • $1,080 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000

  • $1,755 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000

  • $2,295 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more
     

    A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Registration Renewal

Form:

Out-of-State Wholesale Distributors of Prescription Drugs Initial/Renewal License Application

Agency Fee:

License fees are based on gross annual sales of all drugs delivered into Texas:

  • $675 per location for medical gas only distributors with less than $20,000 in gross annual drug sales
  • $1,080 per location for gross annual drug sales of less than $200,000
  • $1,755 per location for gross annual drug sales of at least $200,000 but less than $20,000,000
  • $2,295 per location for gross annual drug sales of $20,000,000 or more
     

A person is exempt from the license fees required by this section if the person is a charitable organization, as described in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 501(c)(3)

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Texas Pseudoephedrine Retail Certificate of Authority

Agency:Texas Department of State Health Services - Pseudoephedrine Retail Certificate of Authority Program

Initial Registration

Form:

Pseudoephedrine Retail Certificate of Authority

Agency Fee:

$600

Registration Renewal

Form:

Pseudoephedrine Retail Certificate of Authority (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$600

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Individual Licenses

Texas Individual Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licenses

Texas Medicaid Provider Enrollment - Individual

Agency:Texas Health and Human Services

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Every 3 or 5 years depending on the type of services provided.

Texas Pharmacist Intern Registration

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Intern registrations do not need to be renewed.

Texas Pharmacist License

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Pharmacist License Application by Examination 

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$103

Original Ink:Not required

Reciprocal Registration

Form:

Pharmacist License Application by Reciprocity 

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$255

Original Ink:Not required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$281

Due:

Biennially.

Original Ink:Not required
Penalties:

$400 total if submitted within 90 days following expiration; $519 total beyond 90 days.

Texas Pharmacy Technician Registration

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$83

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$80

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Texas Pharmacy Technician Trainee Registration

Agency:Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$55

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Technician trainee registrations are valid for 2 years and cannot be renewed.

Learn about healthcare and pharmaceutical licensing in other states:

Controlled Substance Registration - In addition to a pharmacy license, controlled substance registration registration is required in many states for pharmacies that distribute controlled substances.

NABP (National Association of Boards of Pharmacy) - Host a variety of programs and resources relating to pharmacist and pharmacy licensure and examination.

Pharmacist in Charge - A licensed pharmacist designated by a pharmacy to act as the party responsible for compliance with regulations.

VPP (Verified Pharmacy Program) - A program run by NABP that allows state boards to share information and more easily register out-of-state pharmacies.

© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.