Montana Business License

Four people, boxes, office being setup

General Business License Requirements for Montana.

Business licenses are often required of business entities, regardless of their products and services. This page provides an overview of business license requirements in Montana.

Montana General Business Licenses

Montana Business License

Not required



General Business License licensure is not required on the State level in Montana.

Montana does not have a general business license at the state level, but local licenses are often required.

Local General Business Licenses

Billings Business License

Agency:City of Billings Finance Department (MT)
Notes:

Any person who conducts business in the City or is based in the City must obtain a business license on or before the date the business commences.

Initial Registration

Form:

Business Tax Determination Form

Filing Method:

Mail or email to businesslicense@billingsmt.gov

Agency Fee:

Varies by gross annual revenue. Minimum of $55.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or email to businesslicense@billingsmt.gov

Agency Fee:

Varies by gross annual revenue. Minimum of $55.

Due:

Annually by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Bozeman Business License

Agency:City of Bozeman Planning Division (MT)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

Fees are contingent upon business type

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fees are contingent upon business type

Due:

Annually by the anniversary of registration.

Butte-Silver Business License

Agency:City of Butte-Silver Bow County Treasurer's Office (MT)

City of Livingston Business License

Agency:City of Livingston (CO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type. 

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail

Due:

Annually by January 31.

Law:

(Ord. No. 2026, § 1(J), 10/19/10)

Penalties:

Failure to renew the safety inspection certificate by or special business license by February 1, of every year shall result in a delinquent charge as determined by resolution.

Learn about general business licensing requirements in other states:



© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.