Missouri Business License

Four people, boxes, office being setup

General Business License Requirements for Missouri.

Business licenses are often required of business entities, regardless of their products and services. This page provides an overview of business license requirements in Missouri.

Missouri General Business Licenses

Missouri Business License

Not required



General Business License licensure is not required on the State level in Missouri.

Missouri does not have a general business license at the state level, but local licenses are often required.

Local General Business Licenses

City of Belton Business License

Agency:City of Belton (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Insurance Requirements:
  • If you are a contractor in the construction industry, attach a certificate of insurance (COI) showing liability coverage of not less than $500,000 and showing the City of Belton as a certificate holder
  • If you are a contractor in the construction industry and have one or more employees (not counting owners), attach a COI showing workers’ compensation coverage and showing the City of Belton as a certificate holder.
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Requirement Notes:

Retail businesses are required to submit with their Business License Application a statement from the Missouri Department of Revenue indicating the business has "no tax due." 


The Missouri Secretary of State Corporations Unit requires all domestic and out-of-state business entities doing business in Missouri to be registered with the MoSOS. This includes corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships, close corporations, and others. Use this link to register your company or print a Certificate of Good Standing or Certificate of Authority Business entities required to register with the MoSOS are required to submit with a new Business License Application either a Certificate of Good Standing or a Certificate of Authority. This is not required for renewal Business License Applications.


Contractors in the construction industry who are exempt from the requirements of the Missouri Workers' Compensation Law are required to provide with their General Business License Application either a signed Affidavit or a signed statement provided on page 2 of the Application.

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$70

Required Attachments:
  • If the business does electrical, plumbing, or HVAC work, attach a copy of the master certificate.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$70

Due:

Annually by June 30.

City of Cape Girardeau General Business License

Agency:City of Cape Girardeau Community Development Department (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

General Business License Application

Agency Fee:

$40

Registration Renewal

Form:

General Business License Renewal

Agency Fee:

$40

Due:

Annually by January 31.

City of Chesterfield Business License

Agency:City of Chesterfield (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Requirement Notes:

It is a St. Louis County requirement that an occupancy permit be obtained prior
to occupying and conducting business in a new space

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

The annual fee for a Business License is based on square footage and type of business

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

The annual fee for a Business License is based on square footage and type of busines

Due:

Annually by July 1. 

City of Grandview Occupational/General Contractors/Business License

Agency:City of Grandview (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Insurance Requirements:
  • Attach a Certificate of Insurance naming the City of Grandview as a Certificate holder. The Certificate Holder information should state the following: The City of Grandview, 1200 Main Street, Grandview, MO 64030
  • The Certificate must show the limits of the general liability.
  • If the contractor employs more than zero (0) employees the certificate must also show worker's compensation coverage
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fees are determined by business type. 

City of Independence Business License

Agency:City of Independence Community Development Department - Regulated Industries Division (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fee is detemrined by estimated gross recipets. 

Turnaround:

2-3 weeks

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Fees are determined by business type and gross reciepts. 

Due:

Annually by date of issuance. 

City of Lee's Summit Business License

Agency:City of Lee's Summit Development Services (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Requirement Notes:

Zoning approval from Development Services is required for a new or relocated business, if the business is located within city limits. If the business includes retail sales, the business must also have a State of Missouri Sales Tax Number.

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online 

Agency Fee:

$50 business license fee + contractor fees, if applicable. 

Required Attachments:
  • Contractors :
    • Certificate of Liability Insurance - a minimum of $300,000.00 of general liability. Certificates of Insurance must name the “City of Lee's Summit, Missouri” as a certificate holder.
    • Certificate of Worker's Compensation Insurance (required for any type of contractor), as required by State Law or an Affidavit of Exemption of Worker's Compensation. Certificates of Insurance must name the “City of Lee's Summit, Missouri” as a certificate holder.
    • Proof of Master Certification through an approved testing agency or an approved degree program. This is required for new businesses or existing businesses changing their designated master.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50 business license fee + contractor fees, if applicable. 

Due:

Annually by date of issuance. 

Required Attachments:
  • Contractors: 
    • Certificate of Liability Insurance - a minimum of $300,000.00 of general liability. Certificates of Insurance must name the “City of Lee's Summit, Missouri” as a certificate holder.
    • Certificate of Worker's Compensation Insurance (required for any type of contractor), as required by State Law or an Affidavit of Exemption of Worker's Compensation. Certificates of Insurance must name the “City of Lee's Summit, Missouri” as a certificate holder.
    • Proof of Master Certification through an approved testing agency or an approved degree program. This is required for new businesses or existing businesses changing their designated master.
    • Proof of Continuing Education (CEUs) - 8 hours of relevant class time per year (for renewals only).

City of Nevada Occupation and Merchant License

Agency:City of Nevada Finance Department (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Occupation and Merchant License Application

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by business type. Fee is prorated based off of the business licensing year June 1st to May 31st.

Required Attachments:
  • All businesses located inside city limits:
    • Business paid personal property tax statement
    • Vernon County Assessor Certificate of No Tax Due (new businesses established after January 1)
  • Retailers:
    • Missouri Retail Sales License (new applications only)
    • Missouri Certificate of No Sales Tax Due
  • Contractors:
    • Certificate of Workers Compensation Insurance if one or more employees
    • Affidavit of Exemption from Workers Compensation if no employees
      Certificate of Liability Insurance (plumbing and electrical contractors only)
    • Plumbing, Electrical and HVAC only- submit a list of all master, journeyman and apprentices

Registration Renewal

Form:

Occupation and Merchant License Application

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Fee determined by business type. 

Due:

Annually by June 1. 

City of O'Fallon Business License

Agency:City of O'Fallon Economic Development Department (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Required Attachments:
  • Business license collecting sales tax : 
    • Mososuri Retail Sales Tax License 
    • Certificate of No Tax Due
    • Property Tax Waiver (For New Businesses)
    • Real Property Tax Reciept
    • Persoanl Property Tax Reciept 
  • Business License with non retail sales :
    • Property Tax Waiver (For New Businesses)
    • Real Property Tax Receipt
    • Personal Property Tax

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Due:

Annually by June 30. 

Required Attachments:
  • Business license collecting sales tax : 
    • Mososuri Retail Sales Tax License
    • Certificate of No Tax Due
    • Property Tax Waiver (For New Businesses)
    • Real Property Tax Reciept
    • Persoanl Property Tax Reciept 
  • Business License with non retail sales :
    • Property Tax Waiver (For New Businesses)
    • Real Property Tax Receipt
    • Personal Property Tax

City of Parkville Business License - Out of Town

Agency:City of Parkville (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Out of Town Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type. See fee schedule here

How to Apply:
  1. Complete the Out-of-Town business license application.
  2. Registration of Legal Name with Missouri (more info).
  3. Registration of Fictitious Name with Missouri (if company does business under name other than legal name – more info).
  4. Registration of Legal or Fictitious name with Kansas, if applicable.
Required Attachments:
  • General Contractor or Contractor
    • Proof of Workers’ Compensation Insurance Coverage (required by Missouri prior to license issuance)
      • If exempt (or carry liability only), must complete Affidavit of Exemption from Workers’ Compensation
    • Current Electrical License with a government entity, if applicable to your business (examples: Kansas City, Missouri; Johnson County, Kansas)
  • Retail
    • Certificate of No Tax Due with Parkville designation (more info)Affidavit to Make Retail Sales, if applicable
    • Platte County Merchant’s License 

 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Out of Town Business License Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type. See fee schedule here

Due:

Annually by May 31. 

City of Peculiar Business License

Agency:City of Peculiar (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$75 business license fee + $47 codes inspection fee = $122

Required Attachments:

• Copy of “paid” 2021 Cass County Real Estate & Personal Property Taxes receipt or exemption from Cass County Collector 816-380-8377
• Proof of Workers Compensation and Liability Insurance – If Applicable (Affidavit of Exemption required)
• If Retail business: Certificate of “No Tax Due” from the Mo Dept. of Revenue: 573-751-9268
• Copy of annual fire inspection from West Peculiar Fire Protection District
• All businesses within the City limits (excluding construction and in-home businesses) are required to be inspected by the Codes Officer every 3 years before license will be issued at a cost of $47 Please include in payment, inspection fee if your business is due for a three (3)year inspection. Section 605.070 City of Peculiar Codes
• Businesses that sell tobacco or tobacco products are required to obtain a $1 Cigarette License to be included as part of your business license.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$75 business license fee 

Due:

Annually by December 31. 

City of Raymore Occupational License

More Information:

https://www.raymore.com/business/doing-business-in-raymore/occupation-license-information

Agency:City of Raymore City Clerks Office (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Insurance Requirements:

Contractors and subcontractors, as required by the State of Missouri, must submit a certificate of insurance at the time of application showing evidence of general liability and workers compensation insurance.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Requirement Notes:

All residents of Raymore applying for an occupational license must show proof of current paid County taxes for the latest year.

Initial Registration

Form:

Occupational Registration License Application

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:
  • Fees are determined by time of here applied. See application for more details.
  • Occupational license fees for new businesses entering the City for the first time will be pro-rated at a rate of 5% per month, after June 1.
Required Attachments:
  • Class A, B or C Contractors, Electricians, Plumbers and Mechanical contractors who have never held a Raymore Occupational License must provide a certificate of competency with a passing grade (70% or higher) from a nationally recognized testing institution; OR Possess a Contractor’s License from Johnson County, Kansas or other municipality as approved by the Building Official; OR provide proof of a Bachelor’s degree in Structural Engineering, Architecture or Construction Science. Class D Electrical contractors may submit the Missouri Division of Professional Registration license in accordance with 324.900-324-945 RSMo.
  • Class A, B or C Contractors, Electricians, Plumbers and Mechanical contractors who wish to renew their Raymore Occupational license must provide proof of at least eight (8) continuing education credits (CEU) related to the trade for which the license was issued within the last year. The Building Official is authorized to verify CEU.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Occupational License Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Annually by December 31. 

Penalties:

Beginning Jan. 1 of each year, a 5% per month penalty based on the license fee will be added to the cost of the license for each month the occupational license is delinquent and business has been conducted within the City limits up to a maximum penalty of 25%.

City of Saint Charles Business License

Agency:City of Saint Charles Collections Office (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Notes:

Business License Application forms are business-specific, and are not posted online. To apply for the business license, visit the Collections Office, 1st floor, City Hall, 200 N. 2nd Street. 

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application forms are business-specific, and are not posted online. To apply for the business license, visit the Collections Office, 1st floor, City Hall, 200 N. 2nd Street. 

Filing Method:

In person 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Application forms are business-specific, and are not posted online. To apply for the business license, visit the Collections Office, 1st floor, City Hall, 200 N. 2nd Street. 

Filing Method:

In person 

Due:

Annually by December 31. 

City of St. Joseph Business License

Agency:City of St. Joseph Department of Customer Service (MO)
Law:

Section 8-37

Section 16-35 

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Insurance Requirements:

Worker's Compensation Certificate of Insurance will be needed if the company has more than 1 employee.

Notes:

Contractors performing work inside city limits are required to obtain a business license prior to beginning the project, as well as obtaining the appropriate building permits. For more information on required permits, contact the Building Development Division at 816-271-4757.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Registration Application 

Filing Method:

Mail or email  ccorbin@stjosephmo.gov.

Agency Fee:

$25 filing fee

Required Attachments:
  • Worker's Compensation Certificate of Insurance will be needed if the company has more than 1 employee.
  • Business Owner name and SSN
  • Parent company, if any and contact info
  • MO Tax Number
  • W/C COI
  • Copy of state ID

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business License Renewal Application

Agency Fee:

Determined by business type. 

Due:

Annually by June 30. 

Law:

Section 8-36

Notes:

Instructions will also accompany each renewal. If there are any changes to the operations of the business, you are required to email customer services.

Required Attachments:
  • Proof of gross annual income 
  • Current certificate of Workers Compensation Insurance must be provided or a signed statement of exemption from.
  • A copy of your paid county business personal property tax receipt for the prior year will be required.
  • Any changes to the business license. 

Columbia Business License

Agency:City of Columbia Finance Department - Business License Division (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30 application fee + $17 investigation fee + a license fee based on annual gross receipts

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Based on annual gross receipts. The minimum fee is $15.

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Greene County Merchant License

Agency:Greene County Collector of Revenue's Office (MO)

Initial Registration

Form:

Merchant License Application

Agency Fee:

$25

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Notes:

Merchant license bills (renewals) are sent out every November.

Grenne County Merchant License

Agency:Greene County Collector of Revenue's Office (MO)

Initial Registration

Form:

Merchant License Application

Agency Fee:

$25

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Kansas City Business License

Agency:Kansas City Finance Department - Revenue Division - Business License Office (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Form RD-100: Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail, email to business.license@kcmo.org, or file online.

Agency Fee:

Varies by type of business and when the application is filed. 

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form RD-105: Annual Business License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

Varies by annual gross receipts and business activity.

Due:

Licenses expire on December 31 of each year and must be renewed by February 28.

Springfield Business License

Agency:Springfield Finance Department - Licensing Division (MO)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Filing Method:

Mail, in-person, or online.

Agency Fee:

Varies by gross receipts and service offerings.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Varies by gross receipts and service offerings.

Due:

Annually by December 31.

St. Louis Graduated Business License

Agency:City of St. Louis License Collector (MO)

Initial Registration

Form:

Graduated Business License Application

Agency Fee:

New businesses that start between June 1 and January 1, the initial fee is $200.00; After January 1 and up to May 31, the fee is $100.00.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Graduated Business License Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$200 ; There is an additional fee based on the number of employees.

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Warrensburg Business License

Agency:City of Warrensburg City Collector's Office (MO)

Initial Registration

Form:

Business License Application

Agency Fee:

Varies by estimated gross volume and business services. See application for details.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Varies by estimated gross volume and business services. See application for details.

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Learn about general business licensing requirements in other states:



© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.