Energy Licensing Compliance Guide
High-voltage power lines

Maryland Energy Industry Licensing

Licensing requirements for energy industry companies in Maryland.

This page provides an overview of energy industry licensing in Maryland for businesses. You will find state requirements, application fees, ongoing reporting due dates, and more. For assistance with licensing, please contact us to learn about our software and managed license services.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)

Company Licenses

Maryland Energy Company Licenses

Maryland License to Supply Electricity or Electric Generation Services

Agency:Maryland Public Service Commission
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Bond Requirements:

Varies based on activity and whether pre-payment is accepted from customers. 

Requirement Notes:


  • Applicants must provide owner and key employee resumes that demonstrate technical and managerial competency. 
  • License holders must notify the Commission within 30 days of changes to the information upon which the Commission relied in granting this license.
  • License holders must provide marketing and training materials specific to its Maryland operations to the Commission staff 30 days prior to utilization of the materials in Maryland.
Fact Checked:3/6/20

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for License to Supply Electricity or Electric Generation Services to the Public in the State of Maryland

Filing Method:

File by mail

Agency Fee:

$400

Turnaround:

Usually around 60 days

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Licenses to Supply Electricity or Electric Generation Services do not need to be renewed, however, ongoing assessments and reporting filings must be submitted periodically.

Financial Reporting
Revenue Assessment Filing

Filing Method:

File by mail. 

Agency Fee:

Fees vary, the commission will notify license holders of the amount they owe.

Due:

Due date varies but is usually around April 15th annually.

Notarize:Required
Notes:
  • The Public Service Commission sends a notice and filing document by mail each year in early March. 
  • After the Commission's review, a bill for the assessed amount is issued by mail. 
Fact Checked:1/9/20

Amendment

Due:

Within 30 days of a change to the information submitted on the initial license application, a licensee must notify the commission of the change.

Fact Checked:3/6/20

Supplemental Reporting
Annual Update

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually within 120 days of the end of the supplier’s fiscal year.

Notes:

Suppliers must provide the commission with annual updates of all items that have changed in the license application.

Fact Checked:9/4/20

Supplemental Reporting
Renewables Portfolio Standard (RPS) Report

Form:

RPS Supplier Annual Report

Agency Fee:

A fee is only required if there is a shortfall in the number of RECs needed to meet the renewable energy portfolio standard.

Due:

Annually by April 1.

Law:

COMAR 20.61.04.02

Fact Checked:9/4/20

Supplemental Reporting
Marketed Renewable Electricity Sales Report

Due:

Annually by April 1.

Law:

COMAR 20.61.04.01.D

Notes:

Contact the commission for a form. The report should include:

  • Total retail sales of electricity marketed as renewable energy in Maryland by the supplier for the preceding calendar year; and
  • Total RECs associated with sales of renewable energy in Maryland retired by the supplier during the preceding calendar year.

This report requirement does not apply to broker-only licensees and suppliers with zero sales.

Fact Checked:9/4/20

Supplemental Reporting
Emissions and Fuel Mix Disclosure Report

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by June 1.

Original Ink:Not required
Notes:

This report requirement does not apply to broker-only licensees and suppliers with zero sales.

Fact Checked:9/4/20

Maryland License to Supply Gas or Gas Supply Services

Agency:Maryland Public Service Commission
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Bond Requirements:

Varies, depending on activities.

Requirement Notes:


  • Applicants must provide owner and key employee resumes that demonstrate technical and managerial competency. 
  • License holders must notify the Commission within 30 days of any changes to the information upon which the Commission relied in granting the license. 
  • License holders must provide marketing and training materials specific to its Maryland operations to the Commission Staff 30 days prior to utilization of the materials in Maryland.

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for License to Supply Gas

Filing Method:

File by mail.

Agency Fee:

$400

Turnaround:

Usually ~60 days

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Licenses to Supply Gas or Gas Generation Services do not need to be renewed, however, ongoing assessments and reporting filings must be submitted periodically.

Financial Reporting
Revenue Assessment Filing

Filing Method:

File by mail. 

Agency Fee:

Fees vary, the commission will notify license holders of the amount they owe.

Due:

Due date varies but is usually around April 15th annually.

Notes:
  • The Public Service Commission sends a notice and filing document by mail each year in early March.
  • After the Commission's review, a bill for the assessed amount is issued by mail. 
Fact Checked:1/9/20

Amendment

Due:

Within 30 days of a change to the information submitted on the initial license application, a licensee must notify the commission of the change.

Fact Checked:3/6/20

Supplemental Reporting
Annual Update

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually within 120 days of the end of the supplier’s fiscal year.

Notes:

Suppliers must provide the commission with annual updates of all items that have changed in the license application.

Fact Checked:9/4/20

Supplemental Reporting
Six Month Certification

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Within six months after the initial bond is posted, natural gas suppliers must provide to the PSC, an audited certification conducted by either an independent certified accountant (“CPA”) or the PSC Accounting Division of the amount of the deposits and prepayments and a bond in the amount certified by the CPA/PSC Accounting Division.

Fact Checked:9/4/20

Supplemental Reporting
Quarterly Update

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Following submittal of the first annual update, natural gas suppliers must provide to the PSC a quarterly management report stating the amount of deposits and prepayments collected and an adjustment to the bond in that amount.

Fact Checked:9/4/20
© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.