Energy Licensing Compliance Guide
High-voltage power lines

California Energy Industry Licensing

Licensing requirements for energy industry companies in California.

This page provides an overview of energy industry licensing in California for businesses. You will find state requirements, application fees, ongoing reporting due dates, and more. For assistance with licensing, please contact us to learn about our software and managed license services.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)

Company Licenses

California Energy Company Licenses

California Core Transport Agent Registration

Agency:California Public Utilities Commission

Initial Registration

Form:

CTA Registration Application

Agency Fee:

$100 plus an annual fee.

Renewal Not Required

Not required



There is no renewal filing for core transport agents, but an annual fee is due in July of each year to maintain a registration.

Amendment

Due:

Any material change in the information required by the CTA Application Form must be provided to the PUC within 60 days, except for any change in the telephone number or address, which must be reported within five days of such a change.

Notes:

Report changes using appropriate pages of the last submitted Application Update Form and Return by email to: CTAregistration@cpuc.ca.gov

Fact Checked:4/15/20

Supplemental Reporting
Written Notice of Price, Terms and Conditions of Service

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Semi-annually by January 15 and June 15.$

Fact Checked:4/15/20

California Electric Service Provider Registration

Agency:California Public Utilities Commission
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes

Initial Registration

Form:

Electric Service Provider Registration Application

Agency Fee:

$100 plus an annual fee.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Application Update Form

Agency Fee:

There is no fee for the annual update, however, ESPs are assessed an annual fee of $1,000 every year in September.

Due:

Annually in the fall, typically October.

Supplemental Reporting
Section 394.5 Notice

Form:

Section 394.5 Notice

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by January 31.

Fact Checked:4/15/20

California Electricity Broker License

Not required



Electricity Agent/Aggregator, Broker, or Consultant licensure is not required on the State level in California.

California Natural Gas Broker License

Not required



Natural Gas Agent/Aggregator, Broker, or Consultant licensure is not required on the State level in California.

© 2012 - 2020 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.