Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing Compliance Guide
A macro view of pills

Missouri Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing

A pharmacist explaining a clients prescription

Licensing requirements for Missouri healthcare and pharmaceutical companies and individuals.

This page provides an overview of healthcare and pharmaceutical industry licensing in for individuals and businesses. You will find state requirements, application fees, filing instructions, and more. For assistance with licensing, please contact us to learn about our software and managed license services.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(2)
Individual Licenses
(2)
(1)
(1)

Company Licenses

Missouri Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Company Licenses

Missouri Drug Outsourcer License

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Drug Outsourcer Application

Agency Fee:

$300

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri In-State Drug Distributor License

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Drug Distributor License Application--Missouri facility

Agency Fee:

$300

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri In-State Pharmacy Permit

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Pharmacy Permit Application (Missouri facility)

Agency Fee:

$300

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri Non-Resident Drug Distributor License

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Drug Distributor License Application--Out-of-State facility

Agency Fee:

$300

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri Non-Resident Pharmacy Permit

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Pharmacy Permit Application (Non-resident facility)

Agency Fee:

$300

Notarize:Required
Notes:
  • Business Entity State Tax Compliance Form: A “Business Entity State Tax Compliance Form” is included with this application.
    • The application will not be accepted without a Business Entity State Tax Compliance Form.
  • Certificate of No Tax Due: Missouri law requires that any business being licensed by the state must provide a Certificate of No Tax Due from the Missouri Department of Revenue if the business engages in retail sales other than prescriptions. Certificates may be obtained at http://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/notaxdue/.
    • Questions about obtaining a Certificate of No Tax Due should be addressed to the Missouri Department of Revenue at (573) 751-9268.
    • Note: A Certificate is not required if the Business Entity State Tax Compliance Form is marked to identify that the applicant does not engage in the sale of goods at retail.
  • State License: Provide a copy of the applicant’s pharmacy license issued by the state where the
    pharmacy is physically located. You are not eligible for licensure in Missouri if the facility is not licensed
    as a pharmacy or its equivalent by the state where the facility is located.
    • Pharmacist-in-Charge Statement: The statement must be signed and notarized by the
      designated pharmacist-in-charge.
    • Non-Resident Pharmacy License Verification Affidavit: An official Non-Resident Pharmacy Verification Affidavit form must be completed and officially sealed/certified by the state agency that regulates and licenses pharmacies in the applicant’s home state.
      • The top portion of the Affidavit should be completed by the applicant then forwarded to the licensing agency in the state where the facility is located.
      • Copies will not be accepted. Online printouts will not be accepted. RETURN THE COMPLETED VERIFICATION WITH THE APPLICATION.
    • Pharmacist License Verification Affidavit: Non-resident applicants must designate a pharmacist in charge that will be responsible for the supervision of the pharmacy.
      • The designated pharmacist-in-charge must be licensed as a pharmacist in Missouri or in the applicant’s home state.
      • A Pharmacist License Verification Affidavit form must be completed and sealed by the appropriate state agency that regulates and licenses pharmacists in the applicant’s home state.
      • Online printouts will not be accepted. RETURN THE COMPLETED VERIFICATION WITH THE APPLICATION.
    • Compounding and Internet Activity Statement: The statement must be completed, and
      signed by an owner or corporate officer.
    • Copy of state-controlled substance registration. Not required if your state does not issue a
      separate controlled substance registration or if the applicant will not dispense or distribute controlled
      substances in Missouri. Check the applicable box in Section A of this A application.
    • Copy of federal controlled substance registration. Not required if the applicant will not dispense
      or distribute controlled substances in Missouri. Check the applicable box in Section A of this Application.
    • Copy of most recent state pharmacy inspection. For applicants applying for a sterile compounding permit, the inspection must have occurred within the last eighteen (18) months. For all other pharmacy applicants, the inspection must have occurred within the last twenty-four (24) months. If a state inspection is unavailable, an inspection by the Missouri Board of Pharmacy or from the Verified Pharmacy Program (VPP) operated by the National Association of State Boards of Pharmacy may be submitted. Alternatively, the Board can accept an equivalent third-party inspection by an entity approved by the Board. Contact the Board office for approval of an inspection entity other than a state agency or NABP inspection.
    • Subscribe to Board’s electronic newsletter/e-alerts: The Board provides important regulatory news and licensing updates via its electronic newsletter and specially issued e-alerts. E-alerts include notice of disciplinary actions, including, actions against pharmacy technicians. Sign up for the Board’s newsletter and e-alerts online athttp://pr.mo.gov/pharmacists-newsletter.asp. 
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri Out-of-State Drug Manufacturer Registration

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Drug Manufacturer Registrant Application

Agency Fee:

$10

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri Third Party Logistics Provider License

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Third Party Logistics Provider Application

Agency Fee:

$300

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Individual Licenses

Missouri Individual Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licenses

Missouri Intern Pharmacist License

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Intern Pharmacist Licensure Application

Agency Fee:

$50

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$80

Due:

By December 31 of even-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri Pharmacist License

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Examination Application

Agency Fee:

$150

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$200

Due:

By October 31 of even-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri Pharmacy Technician Registration

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Pharmacy Technician Registration Application

Agency Fee:

$35

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$35

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:4/5/19

Missouri Temporary Pharmacist License

Agency:Missouri Board of Pharmacy
Fact Checked:4/3/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Temporary Pharmacist License Application

Agency Fee:

$100

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:4/5/19

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Temporary licenses expires at the end of the applicant?s Missouri-based training program and cannot be renewed.

Learn about healthcare and pharmaceutical licensing in other states:

Controlled Substance Registration - In addition to a pharmacy license, controlled substance registration registration is required in many states for pharmacies that distribute controlled substances.

NABP (National Association of Boards of Pharmacy) - Host a variety of programs and resources relating to pharmacist and pharmacy licensure and examination.

Pharmacist in Charge - A licensed pharmacist designated by a pharmacy to act as the party responsible for compliance with regulations.

VPP (Verified Pharmacy Program) - A program run by NABP that allows state boards to share information and more easily register out-of-state pharmacies.

© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.