Texas Department of Insurance


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Texas Department of Insurance. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Physical address:
333 Guadalupe
Austin, TX 78701

Phone: 800-578-4677

Web: Home Name search Forms
Email: License@tdi.texas.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Texas Department of Insurance in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Texas Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Law:

TX Stat. Title 2 Subtitle B § 102.001 et seq.

Organization Age Requirement:

3 years of continuous existence immediately preceeding licensure.

Minimum Unrestricted Cash or Cash Equivalent Requirement:

$100,000

Fact Checked:12/4/17

Initial Registration

Notes:

Texas charities must provide notice on the day they first enter into a charitable gift annuity agreement. Notices must identify the organization, certify that the organization is a charity and that the annuities issued are qualified charitable gift annuities, and be signed by an officer or director.

Fact Checked:12/4/17

Registration Renewal

Not required



Texas General Lines Agency License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas General Lines Agent License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas General Lines Agent License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas General Lines Agncy/Agnt License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Texas Insurance Agency License

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:1/8/16

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in Texas for the first time.

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Form:

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11apps.html

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $50

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in Texas and need to renew their license.

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Form:

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11apps.html

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $50

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Texas Insurance Agent License

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:12/31/20

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in Texas for the first time.

Agency Fee:

$50 for most.

Fact Checked:6/1/17

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

Biennially by the last day of initial registration month

Fact Checked:12/31/20

Texas Life Agency License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Life Agency/Agent License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Texas Life Agent License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$74

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Life Agent License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Exam Required?Yes
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Limited Lines Agency License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Limited Lines Agent License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Limited Lines Agent License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Exam Required?Yes
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Limited Lines Agncy/Agnt License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Texas Managing General Agency License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Managing General Agent License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Managing General Agent License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Exam Required?Yes
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Managing General Agncy/Agent License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Texas Personal Lines P&C Agncy/Agnt License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Texas Personal Lines Property & Casualty Agency License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Personal Lines Property & Casualty Agent License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Personal Lines Property & Casualty Agent License - Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Surplus Lines Agent License - Non-Resident

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$75

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Texas Utilization Review Agent Certification

Type of Review:

Medical or Workers' Compensation Utilization Review

Agency:Texas Department of Insurance
Law:

TX Ins Code § 4201.101

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Notes:

Applicants must choose to apply for certification or registration. Certification is for entities that conduct utilization review for a health benefit plan or health insurance policy; also payors or administrators holding a certificate of authority under TX Ins Code ch. 4201. Registration is for licensed insurance companies or health maintenance organizations that perform utilization review only for their own insureds or enrollees.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes
Fact Checked:2/18/21

Initial Registration

Form:

URA Application Form

Agency Fee:

$2,150 for certification. There is no fee for 'registered' applicants.

Notarize:Required
Required Attachments:
  • A summary of the utilization review plan as detailed in the application
  • Categories of personnel as noted in 28 TAC § 19.1706 and 28 TAC § 19.2006
  • Appeal of adverse determination acknowledgement and template letters
  • Telephone access details as noted in 28 TAC § 19.1712 and 28 TAC § 19.2012
  • Written evidence that the applicant is doing business in Texas in accordance with the Texas Business Organizations Code, which may include a letter from the Texas Secretary of State indicating the entity has filed the appropriate paperwork to conduct business in this state
  • A chart showing the internal organizational structure of the applicant’s executives, officers, and directors and the title of the position held by each
  • A letter of good standing from the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
  • Completed biographical affidavit and fingerprints for each executive, officer, and director
Fact Checked:2/18/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

URA Application Form (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$545 for certification. There is no fee for 'registered' applicants.

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Notarize:Required
Required Attachments:
  • Categories of personnel as noted in 28 TAC § 19.1706 and 28 TAC § 19.2006
  • Appeal of adverse determination acknowledgement and template letters
Fact Checked:2/18/21

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Texas government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.