Alabama Department of Revenue - Business Licensing Section


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Alabama Department of Revenue - Business Licensing Section. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Physical address:
176 West 5th St.
Prattville, AL 36067-3041

Phone: 334-361-3730

Web: Home

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Alabama Department of Revenue - Business Licensing Section in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Alabama Business Privilege License

Agency:Alabama Department of Revenue - Business Licensing Section
Law:

Alabama Code § 40-12-2

Notes:

Licenses are required by the state but issued at the county level. Contact the relevant county probate judge's office for more information.

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

In person or mail.

Agency Fee:

Varies by county.

Notes:

The application process for state business privilege licenses is handled at the county level and therefore varies from county to county.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

In person or mail.

Agency Fee:

Varies by county.

Due:

Licenses expire on September 30 of each year and must be renewed annually by October 31.

Notes:

The renewal process for state business privilege licenses is handled at the county level and therefore varies from county to county.

Alabama Store License

Agency:Alabama Department of Revenue - Business Licensing Section
Law:

Alabama Code § 40-12-311

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Notes:
  • Store licenses are issued to entities that sell goods, wares, or merchandise of any kind either at retail or wholesale.
  • Like Business Privilege Licenses, Store Licenses are issued at the county level but apply statewide.
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Agency Fee:

Depends on the number of store locations the business maintains:

  • $1 for one store
  • $15 for each additional store for stores 2-5
  • $22.50 for each additional store for stores 6-10
  • $37.50 for each additional store for stores 11-20
  • $112.50 for each additional store for stores 20 and above
Notes:

The application process for Store Licenses is handled by the County Probate Office or County Licensing Commission and varies by county.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

Depends on the number of store locations the business maintains:

  • $1 for one store
  • $15 for each additional store for stores 2-5
  • $22.50 for each additional store for stores 6-10
  • $37.50 for each additional store for stores 11-20
  • $112.50 for each additional store for stores 20 and above
Due:

Licenses expire on September 30 of each year and must be renewed annually by October 31.

Notes:

The renewal process for Store Licenses is handled by the County Probate Office or County Licensing Commission and varies by county.

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Alabama government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.