Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Phone: 801-530-6628 or 866-275-3675
Fax: 801-530-6511

Web: Home Name search
Email: doplweb@utah.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Utah Architect License

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Qualifying Individual Requirements:
  • Current NCARB Certification (contact NCARB to request transmittal to Utah), OR
  • Graduation from accredited NAAB or CACB program.
  • Passed all divisions of the Architect Registration Exam (ARE)
  • Completion of AXP experience hours (tracked by NCARB)
NCARB Certificate:Not required
Completion of CE/PDH:Required
Interview:Not required
NAAB-accredited degree:Required
NCARB IDP:Required
Additional Experience:Not required
State-specific exam:Not required

Initial Registration

This section applies to architects that are applying for a license in Utah for the first time.

Filing Method:

Online or mail

Agency Fee:

$121 Non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to DOPL application fee. No exam fee.

Reciprocal Registration

This section applies to architects licensed in another state that are looking for reciprocal licensure in Utah.

Filing Method:

Online or mail 

Agency Fee:

$121 Non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to DOPL

Registration Renewal

This section applies to architects that are already licensed in Utah and need to renew their license.

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$74

Due:

By May 31 of even-numbered years.

Utah Architecture Firm License

Not required



Architecture Firm licensure is not required on the State level in Utah.

Firm licenses are not issued at the state level, however, a licensed individual must oversee all architectural work. Firms should consult board rules and state statutes before doing business.

More information: Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Law:

Utah Code Ann § 58-3a-101 et seq.

Eligible Entity Types:
  • Business Corporations
  • Professional Corporations
  • Limited Liability Companies
  • Professional Limited Liability Companies
  • Partnerships
Ownership Requirements:

Business Corporations:

  • Officers and directors need not be licensed, but the firm's practice of architecture in Utah must be overseen by a principal who is a licensed architect.

Professional Corporations:

  • All shareholders, officers, and directors must be licensed in a professional service performed by the firm.

Limited Liability Companies:

  • Members and managers need not be licensed, but the firm's practice of architecture in Utah must be overseen by a principal who is a licensed architect.

Professional Limited Liability Companies:

  • All members and managers must be licensed in a professional service performed by the firm.

Partnerships:

  • Partners need not be licensed, but the firm's practice of architecture in Utah must be overseen by a principal who is a licensed architect.

Utah Commercial Interior Designer Certification

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Initial Registration

Form:

Certified Interior Designer Application

Agency Fee:

$70

Registration Renewal

Form:

Certified Commercial Interior Design Renewal Form

Agency Fee:

$47

Due:

By March 31 of odd-numbered years.

Utah Contract Security Company License

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Insurance Requirements:

All licensees must have general liability insurance. The minimum required coverage is at least an annual $1,000,000 limit, at least an annual $2,000,000 aggregate limit, and contains the following riders: general liability, assault and battery, personal injury, false arrest, libel and slander, invasion of privacy, broad form property damage, damage to the property in the care, custody, or control of the security service provider, and errors and omissions.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Contract Security Company License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$330 application fee + $30 fingerprint fee for each individual listed on the ownership listing and the qualifier

Registration Renewal

Form:

Contract Security Company Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$203

Due:

By November 30 of even-numbered years.

Utah Contractor License

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Insurance Requirements:

A general liability insurance certificate with minimum required coverage of $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total with DOPL listed as certificate holder. Workers' compensation insurance is also required for contractors with employees.

Bond Requirements:

There is no bond requirement for this license.

Initial Registration

Form:

Contractor Application Form

Agency Fee:

$210 for each primary classification + $210 for each additional B-100, R-100m or E-100 classification + $110 for additional specialty classification + $195 Lien Recovery Fund for many classifications.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required
Notes:
  • Ownership
    • For the purpose of verifying the company’s identity, the applicant must demonstrate that at least 50% ownership proposed for the Utah license is the same as the license held in the jurisdiction being used for endorsement.
    • Additionally, no more than 50% of the company ownership may have changed within the last year. 
    • To apply by endorsement, you must submit official verification of your license, that includes documentation of ownership, with your completed application.
  • Qualified Individual
    • Must be licensed in Utah. 
    • Must be either a 20% owner if the firm or a W-2 employee in a management position in the firm.
    • Must meet one of each of the prelicensure qualifications, exam requirements, and experience requirements (page 4)
Before you Apply:
  • List all other licenses, registrations or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in any profession
  • Report if within the last eight years, has the applicant, the proposed qualifier, any owner, or any prior entities for which these individuals have been involved, had any judgments, liens, taxes, or child support delinquencies levied against them
  • Report if within the last seven years has the applicant, the proposed qualifier, any owner or any prior entities for which these individuals have been involved, filed for bankruptcy
  • Provide proof of:
    • Worker Compensation Certificate (or Waiver)
    • Workforce Services Unemployment Insurance Registration Nnumber
    • Utah State Tax Commission Withholding Tax Account Number
      • If exempt from Utah withholdings by doing business in Utah for 60 days or less, please submit written exemption approval from Utah Tax Commission.
    • Provide all of the above or provide a signed contract with an approved Professional Employer Organization (PEO) in lieu of the requirements
    • If you do not currently have employees and don't intend to have employees within the foreseeable future, you may elect to defer providing this information
  • Provide proof of general liability insurance
    • The minimum required coverage is $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total. 
    • Must cover the scope of work for the licensee for the entire duration of active licensure (no exclusions)
    • DOPL’s name and address must be listed as the certificate holder: DOPL, 160 E 300 S, P.O. Box 146741, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114.
    • The insurance certificate must be included with the application. It may NOT be email or faxed to the Division as it will delay your application.
  • Provide the name, residential address, date of birth, social security number, email, and phone number for each owner
    • Report licensure
    • Report citizenship status
  • If your firm is owned by another entity, provide: 
    • Audited financial statement. 
    • A list of all officers and directors (name, residential address, and phone number
    • Evidence or documentation that shows that the applicant is owned by the parent company.
    • If layered ownership, provide a diagram that explains how ownership is established.
    • If publically traded, most recent SEC Form 10-K filing

Registration Renewal

Form:

Contractor Renewal Form

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$113

Due:

By November 30 of odd-numbered years.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required

Utah Controlled Substance Precursor License

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Initial Registration

Form:

Controlled Substance Precursor Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$210 for a distributor license or $110 for a purchaser license.

Registration Renewal

Form:

Controlled Substance Precursor Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$113

Due:

By May 31 of odd-numbered years.

Utah Engineering Firm License

Not required



Engineering Firm licensure is not required on the State level in Utah.

Firm licenses are not issued at the state level, however, a licensed individual must oversee all engineering work. Firms should consult board rules and state statutes before doing business.

More information: Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Law:

Utah Code Ann § 58-22-101 et seq.

Eligible Entity Types:
  • Business Corporations
  • Professional Corporations
  • Limited Liability Companies
  • Professional Limited Liability Companies
  • Partnerships
Ownership Requirements:

Business Corporations:

  • Officers and directors need not be licensed, but the firm's practice of engineering in Utah must be overseen by a principal who is a licensed engineer.

Professional Corporations:

  • All shareholders, officers, and directors must be licensed in a professional service performed by the firm.

Limited Liability Companies:

  • Members and managers need not be licensed, but the firm's practice of engineering in Utah must be overseen by a principal who is a licensed engineer.

Professional Limited Liability Companies:

  • All members and managers must be licensed in a professional service performed by the firm.

Partnerships:

  • Partners need not be licensed, but the firm's practice of engineering in Utah must be overseen by a principal who is a licensed engineer.

Utah Geology Firm License

Not required



Geoscience Firm licensure is not required on the State level in Utah.

More information: Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Utah Land Surveying License

Not required



Land Surveying Firm licensure is not required on the State level in Utah.

Firm licenses are not issued at the state level, however, a licensed individual must oversee all surveying work. Firms should consult board rules and state statutes before doing business.

More information: Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Utah Professional Engineer License

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Allow Digital Signatures?Yes
Digital Signature Guidelines:

(f) Electronically generated signatures are acceptable.

(g) It is the responsibility of the licensee to provide adequate security when documents with electronic seals and electronic signatures are submitted. Sheets subsequent to the cover of specifications are not required to be sealed, signed and dated.

Utah Admin Code R156-22-601

Allow Digital Sealing?Yes
Digital Sealing Guidelines:

(e) A seal may be a wet stamp, embossed, or electronically produced.

Utah Admin Code R156-22-601

Initial Registration

Form:

Professional Engineer Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$120

Registration Renewal

Form:

Professional Engineer Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$73

Due:

By March 31 of odd-numbered years.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required

Utah Professional Geologist License

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Allow Digital Signatures?No
Digital Signature Guidelines:

The board has no provision allowing for use of digital signatures.

Allow Digital Sealing?Yes
Digital Sealing Guidelines:

(e) A seal may be a wet stamp, embossed, or electronically produced.

Utah Admin Code R156-76-601

Initial Registration

Form:

Professional Geologist

Agency Fee:

$165

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$138

Due:

By March 31 of odd-numbered years.

Utah Professional Land Surveyor License

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

Initial Registration

Form:

Professional Land Surveyor Application

Agency Fee:

$121

Registration Renewal

Form:

Professional Land Surveyor Renewal

Agency Fee:

$74

Due:

By March 31 of odd-numbered years.

Utah Professional Structural Engineer License

Agency:Utah Department of Commerce - Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Allow Digital Signatures?Yes
Digital Signature Guidelines:

(f) Electronically generated signatures are acceptable.

(g) It is the responsibility of the licensee to provide adequate security when documents with electronic seals and electronic signatures are submitted. Sheets subsequent to the cover of specifications are not required to be sealed, signed and dated.

Utah Admin Code R156-22-601

Allow Digital Sealing?Yes
Digital Sealing Guidelines:

(e) A seal may be a wet stamp, embossed, or electronically produced.

Utah Admin Code R156-22-601

Initial Registration

Form:

Professional Structural Engineer Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$120

Registration Renewal

Form:

Professional Structural Engineer Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$73

Due:

By March 31 of odd-numbered years.

Original Ink:Not required
Notarize:Not required

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Utah government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.