North Dakota Insurance Department


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the North Dakota Insurance Department. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Mailing address:
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505

Phone: 701-328-2440
Fax: 701-328-4880

Web: Home Name search Forms
Email: insurance@nd.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the North Dakota Insurance Department in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

North Dakota Certificate of Exemption to Issue Gift Annuities

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Law:

ND Century Code § 26.1-34.1 et seq.

Fact Checked:12/4/17

Initial Registration

Form:

Form SFN 17914: Application for Certification of Exemption to Issue Gift Annuities

Agency Fee:

$100

Notarize:Required
Notes:

Charities should submit the application, agent of process attachment, segregated account attachment, statements reflecting financial and other conditions of the organization, proof of tax exemption, and samples of the charitable annuity contracts to apply.

Fact Checked:8/27/19

Renewal Not Required

Not required



The certificate of exemption does not expire, but financial statements must be submitted annually.

Financial Reporting

Filing Method:

Email financial statements to colicexam@nd.gov with the subject line of "Gift Annuity Financial Statement".

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Audited (or unaudited if audited are unavailable) financial statements are due annually within 15 days of their preparation.

Fact Checked:8/27/19

North Dakota Insurance Agency License

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:11/1/19

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in North Dakota for the first time.

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Form:

http://www.nd.gov/ndins/producers/misc/forms/

Agency Fee:

$100 for most

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in North Dakota and need to renew their license.

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Form:

http://www.nd.gov/ndins/producers/misc/forms/

Agency Fee:

$100 for most

Due:

Varies by type

Notes:

When issued, North Dakota resident business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity has at least one Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP) who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license, and notifies the North Dakota Insurance Department of any address change within 30 days in accordance with N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-33.

When issued, North Dakota non-resident business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity:

  • Has at least one DRLP who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license; and
  • Maintains its resident insurance producer license (if its home state issues insurance producer licenses to business entities); and
  • Notifies the Department of any change of address regarding the business entity within 30 days in accordance with N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-33.
Fact Checked:1/8/16

Renewal Not Required

Not required



North Dakota Insurance Agent License

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:12/31/20

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in North Dakota for the first time.

Agency Fee:

$100 for most.

Fact Checked:6/1/17

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Biennially by the last day of initial registration month

Fact Checked:1/5/21

North Dakota Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Renewal Not Required

Not required



When issued, North Dakota non-resident business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity:

  • Has at least one DRLP who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license; and
  • Maintains its resident insurance producer license (if its home state issues insurance producer licenses to business entities); and
  • Notifies the Department of any change of address regarding the business entity within 30 days

North Dakota Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident (No Home State)

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Renewal Not Required

Not required



When issued, North Dakota resident business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity has at least one Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP) who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license.

North Dakota Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

North Dakota Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Biennially by the registration anniversary date.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$275

Due:

Biennially by the registration anniversary date.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Surplus Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by April 30.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Surplus Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by April 30.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Surplus Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by April 30.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Surplus Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually by April 30.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Third Party Administrator License - Non-Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

Annually by April 30.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Third Party Administrator License - Resident

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

Annually by April 30.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

North Dakota Utilization Review Agent Certification

Type of Review:

Medical Utilization Review

Agency:North Dakota Insurance Department
Law:

NDCC § 26.1-26.4

Fact Checked:2/22/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Utilization Review Agent Certification and Utilization Review Filing Report

Agency Fee:

$0

Notarize:Required
Required Attachments:
  • A description of the appeal procedures for utilization review determinations
  • A list of the third-party payers for whom the private review agent is performing utilization review in the state
  • Copy of URAC or NCQA Accreditation - specifying the program (if applicable)
  • The name of the physician, practitioner or psychologist that will be conducting the utilization reviews (North Dakota board certified)
Fact Checked:2/22/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Utilization Review Agent Certification (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by March 1.

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:2/22/21

Related Government Agencies

Explore other North Dakota government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.