Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Physical address:
335 Merchant Street
Room 213
Honolulu, HI 96813

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 3614
Honolulu, HI 96813

Phone: (808) 586-2790
Fax: (808) 586-2806

Web: Home Name search Forms File online
Email: insurance@dcca.hawaii.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Hawaii Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division
Law:

HI Stat. § 431:1-204

Organization Age Requirement:

10 years of continuous existence immediately preceeding licensure.

Minimum Unrestricted Cash or Cash Equivalent Requirement:

$200,000

Initial Registration

Agency Fee:

$0

Notes:

Hawaii requires charities to apply for a permit to receive exemption from state insurance laws. There is no form, but the charity should submit proof that it meets the requirements for exemption as well as sample annuity agreements. To qualify organizations must be registered with the attorney general and maintain a separated reserve account for annuity funds.

Registration Renewal

Not required



Charities must continue filing renewals with the attorney general, but no separate renewal filings are required for exemption permits.

Hawaii Crop Insurance Adjuster – Limited License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$90

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Independent Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Insurance Agency License

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in Hawaii for the first time.

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division
Form:

http://cca.hawaii.gov/ins/producers/forms/

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $150

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in Hawaii and need to renew their license.

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division
Form:

http://cca.hawaii.gov/ins/producers/forms/

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $150

Due:

Varies by application date

Hawaii Insurance Agent License

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in Hawaii for the first time.

Agency Fee:

From $150 to $2,800 depending on license type

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Insurance Producer : $150
Surplus Lines Broker : $90 

Due:

Biennially on 16th day of month of initial registration.

Hawaii Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$225

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$225

Due:

By April 16 of odd-numbered years.

Hawaii Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division
Exam Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

By July 16 of odd-numbered years.

Hawaii Limited Lines Motor Vehicle Rental Company Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Hawaii Limited Lines Motor Vehicle Rental Company Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Hawaii Limited Lines Motor Vehicle Rental Company Producer License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Hawaii Limited Lines Motor Vehicle Rental Company Producer License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Hawaii Limited Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Hawaii Limited Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Hawaii Limited Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Hawaii Limited Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Hawaii Limited Lines Self-Service Storage Producer License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division
Exam Required?No

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Limited Lines Self-Service Storage Producer License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By July 16 of odd-numbered years.

Hawaii Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$90

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Surplus Lines Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Surplus Lines Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By April 16 of odd-numbered years.

Hawaii Surplus Lines Broker License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Surplus Lines Broker License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By July 16 of odd-numbered years.

Hawaii Third Party Administrator License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Third Party Administrator License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Required Attachments:
  • Hawaii TPA Checklist (copies acceptable)
  • TPA Application (with original signature)
  • All basic current organizational documents (applicable to business entity
    applicant only):
    a. Articles of Incorporation
    b. Articles of Association
    c. Partnership Agreement
    d. Trade Name Certificate
    e. Trust Agreement
    f. Shareholder Agreement
    g. Bylaws, Rules, Regulations
    • (You will only need to submit organizational documents that is applicable to your business entity. Please make sure each document is labeled appropriately (i.e. if submitting an articles of incorporation, the document should have a heading labeling as such).
    • Attach a copy of the applicable documents to the Checklist
  • Annual Financial Statements (copies acceptable)
    • Annual financial statements for the two most recent years that prove the applicant has a positive net worth and information the commissioner may require to review the current financial condition of the applicant.
    • The financial statements or reports shall be certified by an officer of the applicant and prepared in accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles.
    • See FAQs if the entity was established less than 2 years.
  • Identify all owners with 10% interest or voting interest, partners, officers, and directors of the business entity, or members or managers of a limited liability company.
    • Name, Title, Social Security Number, Date of Birth, Ownership interest
  • The names, addresses, official positions, and professional qualifications of the individuals responsible for the conduct of affairs of the administrator, including all members of the board of directors, board of trustees, executive committee, or other governing board or committee, the principal officers in the case of a corporation, or the partners in the case of a partnership.
  • Applicants Certification and Attestation signed by an officer, director, member/manager, or partners of the business. 
Bond Amount:
  • Surety Bond (notarized signature required)
    • Surety Bond must be at least $100,000. Bond may not be cancelled or terminated until two years have elapsed from the last day the applicant was a TPA, unless the Commissioner has given prior written consent.
    • The Surety bond shall be undertaken and may be enforced in the name of “Commissioner of Insurance, State of Hawaii”.
    • The Surety Bond form is available with the TPA Checklist/Application packet.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

By April 16 of odd-numbered years.

Hawaii Third Party Administrator License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Third Party Administrator License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the date the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$450

Due:

By July 16 of odd-numbered years.

Hawaii Workers’ Compensation Adjuster – Limited License - Non-Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$90

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Hawaii Workers’ Compensation Adjuster – Limited License - Resident

Agency:Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs - Insurance Division

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by the licensee's birth month and when the application is filed. See details on this page.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$135

Due:

By the 16th day of the licensee's birth month. Those born in odd months renew in odd years, those born in even months renew in even years.

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Hawaii government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.