Connecticut Department of Labor - Division of Wage and Workplace Standards


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Connecticut Department of Labor - Division of Wage and Workplace Standards. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Phone: (860) 263-6791
Fax: (860) 263-6541

Web: Home Forms

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Connecticut Department of Labor - Division of Wage and Workplace Standards in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Companies acting as employment agencies in Connecticut must obtain the following licenses before offering employment services. Applications usually require proof of incorporation or a certificate of authority.

Connecticut Private Employment Agency Registration

Agency:Connecticut Department of Labor - Division of Wage and Workplace Standards
Law:

CT Gen Stat § 31-130

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Fact Checked:3/9/21

Automatic Exemption

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Employment agencies that do not have a physical location in the state of Connecticut
Notes:

Employment agencies with no physical presence in Connecticut are automatically exempt from registration requirements.

Fact Checked:3/26/21

Initial Registration

This section applies to firms that are applying for a license in Connecticut for the first time.

Form:

Application for Employer Fee Paid Employment Agency Registration

Agency Fee:

$150

Fact Checked:3/9/21

Registration Renewal

This section applies to firms that are already licensed in Connecticut and need to renew their license.

Form:

Application for Employer Fee Paid Employment Agency Registration (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:3/9/21

Connecticut Professional Employer Organization Group Registration

Agency:Connecticut Department of Labor - Division of Wage and Workplace Standards
Law:

CT Stat. § 31-221c

Financial Requirements:

PEOs must either maintain a minimum of $150,000 in working capital, as defined by generally accepted accounting principles, as reflected in the financial statements submitted to the department or meet the bonding requirement.

Bond Requirements:

PEOs must either submit a bond, irrevocable letter of credit or securities with a minimum market value of $150,000 or meet the working capital requirement.

Fact Checked:6/2/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Form PEO-1: Request for Registration

Instructions:

Instructions and List of Form for Professional Employer Organization

Agency Fee:

$1,500

Required Attachments:
Fact Checked:6/2/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form PEO-1: Request for Registration (Renewal)

Instructions:

Instructions and List of Form for Professional Employer Organization

Agency Fee:

$1,000

Due:

Annually within 6 months after the entity's fiscal year end.

Required Attachments:
Fact Checked:6/2/21

Connecticut Professional Employer Organization Limited Registration

Agency:Connecticut Department of Labor - Division of Wage and Workplace Standards
Law:

CT Stat. § 31-221c

Notes:

A PEO can request a limited registration if:

  • It does not maintain an office in Connecticut;
  • It does not engage in direct solicitation of business in Connecticut;
  • It does not have more than fifty (50) worksite employees in Connecticut;
  • It is licensed to do business as a PEO in another state; and
  • It is domiciled outside of Connecticut. 
Fact Checked:6/2/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Form PEO-4: Request for Limited Registration

Instructions:

Instructions and List of Form for Professional Employer Organization

Agency Fee:

$1,000

Required Attachments:
  • States in which the PEO is licensed or registered as PEO, its licenses or registration number, and the state agency that issued it
  • List of all clients including company names, addresses, tax IDs, and Connecticut Unemployment Insurance Employer Registration Number
Fact Checked:6/2/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form PEO-4: Request for Limited Registration (Renewal)

Instructions:

Instructions and List of Form for Professional Employer Organization

Agency Fee:

$1,000

Due:

Annually by the entity's fiscal year end.

Required Attachments:
  • States in which the PEO is licensed or registered as PEO, its licenses or registration number, and the state agency that issued it
  • List of all clients including company names, addresses, tax IDs, and Connecticut Unemployment Insurance Employer Registration Number
Fact Checked:6/2/21

Connecticut Professional Employer Organization Registration

Agency:Connecticut Department of Labor - Division of Wage and Workplace Standards
Law:

CT Stat. § 31-221c

Financial Requirements:

PEOs must either maintain a minimum of $150,000 in working capital, as defined by generally accepted accounting principles, as reflected in the financial statements submitted to the department or meet the bonding requirement.

Bond Requirements:

PEOs must either submit a bond, irrevocable letter of credit or securities with a minimum market value of $150,000 or meet the working capital requirement.

Fact Checked:6/2/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Form PEO-1: Request for Registration

Instructions:

Instructions and List of Form for Professional Employer Organization

Agency Fee:

$1,500

Required Attachments:
Fact Checked:6/2/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form PEO-1: Request for Registration (Renewal)

Instructions:

Instructions and List of Form for Professional Employer Organization

Agency Fee:

$1,000

Due:

Annually within 6 months after the entity's fiscal year end.

Required Attachments:
Fact Checked:6/2/21

Connecticut Talent Agency License

Agency:Connecticut Department of Labor - Division of Wage and Workplace Standards
Notes:

Connecticut does not have a separate talent agency license, but an employment agency license may be required.

Fact Checked:4/3/18

Initial Registration

Form:

https://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/wgwkstnd/private.htm

Agency Fee:

$150

Fact Checked:12/7/16

Registration Renewal

Form:

https://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/wgwkstnd/private.htm

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:12/7/16

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Connecticut government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.