California Department of Insurance


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the California Department of Insurance. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Physical address:
300 Capitol Mall
Suite 1700
Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (800) 967-9331

Web: Home Name search Forms File online

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the California Department of Insurance in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

California Apprentice Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$264

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Apprentice licenses expire one year after the date of issuance and cannot be renewed.

California Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Law:

CA Ins Code § 11520 et seq.

Organization Age Requirement:

10 years of continuous existence immediately preceeding licensure.

Audit Requirements:

An audited financial statement is required with the application.

Fact Checked:12/4/17

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Certificate of Authority as a Grants and Annuities Society

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$4,233

Notarize:Required
Notes:

Charities must authorize the creation of the annuity fund by board resolution. In addition, charities need a segregated reserve fund and must follow reserve fund regulations to qualify for issuance of charitable gift annuities.

Fact Checked:12/4/17

Registration Renewal

Form:

G&A Annual Statement

Agency Fee:

$136

Due:

Annually within 120 days of the organization's fiscal year end.

Notes:

In addition to annual statements, charities must submit quarterly statements with information on each annuity agreement.

Fact Checked:12/4/17

California Crop Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Crop Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

California Independent Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

California Independent Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311 for each qualified manager.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Independent Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

California Independent Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

California Insurance Adjuster License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Bond Requirements:

$2000

Fact Checked:6/17/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Adjuster Business Entity License

Agency Fee:

$311 per qualified manager plus $52 for each branch office registration.

Bond Amount:

$2000-$5000

Fact Checked:6/17/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

File online through Sircon.

Agency Fee:

$97

Due:

Bienially

Fact Checked:11/11/19

California Insurance Agent License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:12/31/20

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in California for the first time.

Agency Fee:

From $85 to $1,178 depending on license type.

Fact Checked:6/1/17

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Renew online via Sircon.

Agency Fee:

$188 for Property & Casualty

Fees vary based on lines of authority.

Due:

Biennially

Fact Checked:9/26/19

California Insurance Producer License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:1/8/16

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in California for the first time.

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Form:

http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0020-apply-license/0300-business-license/index.cfm

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $85

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in California and need to renew their license.

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Form:

http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0020-apply-license/0300-business-license/index.cfm

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $85

Notes:

A license is eligible for renewal for up to one year after the expiration date of the license. After one year, a new application will have to be filed.

Fact Checked:1/8/16

California Non Resident Credit Ins Agent License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$449

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$410

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Non Resident Insurance Producer License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by line of authority. See this page for details.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Non Resident Personal Lines Broker Agent License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Non-Resident Credit Ins Agent License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$449

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$410 renewal fee + $8 for each endorsee that is listed on the application.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Non-Resident Insurance Producer License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by line of authority. See this page for details.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Non-Resident Personal Lines Broker Agent License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

California Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$264

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$264

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$311

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$264

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$264

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$264

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$264

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$264

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

California Resident Credit Insurance Agent License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$449

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$410

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

California Resident Credit Insurance Agent License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Exam Required?No
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$449

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$410

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

California Resident Insurance Producer License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by line of authority. See this page for details.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Resident Insurance Producer License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies by line of authority. See this page for details.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

California Resident Personal Lines Broker Agent License

Agency:California Department of Insurance
Exam Required?Yes
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$188

Due:

Biennially by the end of the registration anniversary month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Related Government Agencies

Explore other California government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.