North Dakota Fictitious Name Registration & Renewal

Registration requirements for North Dakota business entities

Business entities that plan to use a name other than their legal business name may need to register an assumed name. Assumed name registration can take place at the state, local, or state and local levels of government. State specific registration information is available below.

Initial Application for Registration

Agency:North Dakota Secretary of State
Form:

Trade Name Registration

Filing method:

Mail or fax.

Agency fee:

$25

Is registration mandatory?:

Filing a trade name registration is required for any person or entity intending to conduct business under an assumed name.

Law:

ND Statutes § 47-25-01

County Level Filing:

Filing is not required at the county level.

Does registration prevent others from using the name I choose?:

Registration gives exclusive name rights to the registrant.

Notes:
  • Publication of registration is not required in North Dakota.

Renewal Filing

Agency:North Dakota Secretary of State
Form:

Contact the secretary of state for a renewal form.

Filing method:

Mail or fax.

Agency fee:

$25

Due:

Due by the date of registration every 5 years.

© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.