Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218

Phone: (804) 371-9741

Web: Home Name search
Email: bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Virginia Consultant License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Consultant License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Consultant License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Consultant License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15 per line of authority.

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Independent Review Organization Registration

Type of Review:

Medical Utilization Review

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Law:

VA Code § 38.2-3566

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Fact Checked:2/19/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Form 216-E: Independent Review Organization Application

Agency Fee:

$0

Required Attachments:
  • Organization and governing structure of the independent review organization
  • The names of the health carriers for which you conduct independent reviews
  • A copy of your most recent certificate from American Accreditation Healthcare Commission (URAC) Standards for Independent Review Organizations
  • Biographical information for organization officers and directors
  • A list of specific areas of clinical expertise in which you conduct independent reviews, if applicable
  • A copy of your Certificate of Authority to do business in the Commonwealth of Virginia from the Virginia State Corporation Commission Clerk’s Office
  • Schedule of fees
Fact Checked:2/19/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form 216-E: Independent Review Organization Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Biennially

Fact Checked:2/19/21

Supplemental Reporting
Independent Review Organization External Review Annual Report

Form:

Form 216-G: Independent Review Organization External Review Annual Report

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by April 1.

Fact Checked:2/19/21

Virginia Individual Insurance Producer License

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:4/30/20

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15 per line of authority

Fact Checked:4/30/20

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Producer licenses are perpetual and do not need to be renewed, however, producers must meet continuing education requirements to maintain their license.

Virginia Insurance Agency License

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:11/1/19

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in Virginia for the first time.

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Form:

https://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/appfee.aspx

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $15

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in Virginia and need to renew their license.

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Form:

https://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/appfee.aspx

Agency Fee:

$50 for most

Due:

Perpetual for major lines and annually for non-standard lines.

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Virginia Insurance Agent License

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:12/31/20

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in Virginia for the first time.

Agency Fee:

From $15 to $250 depending on license type

Fact Checked:6/1/17

Virginia Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Limited Line Firm License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Virginia Limited Lines Firm License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Limited Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Limited Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Public Adjuster License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Virginia Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Public Adjuster License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Surplus Lines Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Surplus Lines Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Surplus Lines Broker License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Surplus Lines Broker License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License - Non-Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$10

Due:

By May 1 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Virginia Viatical Settlement Broker License - Resident

Agency:Virginia State Corporation Commission - Bureau of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Virginia government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.