City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA). We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Phone: 215-686-8686

Web: Home Name search

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA) in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Philadelphia Commercial Activity License

Agency:City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:4/15/20

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/15/20

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Philadelphia Contractor License

More Information:

https://business.phila.gov/contractor-license/

Agency:City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Initial Registration

Instructions:

A Contractor License is required for any business doing work that:

  • Involves construction, demolition, or repair.
  • Does not require a specialized company license.

Some work requires a specialized license, including:

  • Complete demolition.
  • Electrical.
  • Fire suppression.
  • Plumbing.

You don’t need this license if your business only does work on existing one-or-two-family dwellings and does not do work that requires a special trade license. In that case, the company must instead register as a Home Improvement Contractor with the State.

Filing Method:

Online
Use the eCLIPSE system.

In person
Permit and License Center
1401 John F. Kennedy Blvd.
MSB, Public Service Concourse
Philadelphia, PA 19102

Office hours: 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday

Office closes at noon on the last Wednesday of each month.

Before you Apply:
  • Business Income and Receipts Tax ID (BIRT)
  • Commercial Activity License
  • Insurance
  • You must provide a Certificate of Insurance that includes these minimum amounts:
    • General liability: $500,000 per occurrence
    • Automobile liability insurance: $300,000
    • Worker’s compensation:
      • $100,000 per accident
      • $100,000 per employee
      • $500,000 policy limit
  • Safety training
    • You must identify the supervisors responsible for construction projects. A supervisor can only be employed by one company. They must also show proof of completion of an approved OSHA 30 safety training course taken within five years of application date
  • Tax compliance
    • The contractor must be current on all City of Philadelphia taxes.
  • Operating requirements
    • The contractor must follow the contractor requirements laid out in the Contractor Operational Requirements.
How to Apply:

Online
1 Upload all required documents. Applications are reviewed within five business days.
2 If the application is approved, you will receive a notice to pay the balance. If the application isn’t approved, you will receive an email stating what is missing or required.

 


In-person
1 Visit the Permit and License Center. L&I can review most applications while you wait.
2 L&I will either issue your license or request more information.

Fact Checked:6/23/20

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online
Use the eCLIPSE system.

In person
Permit and License Center
1401 John F. Kennedy Blvd.
MSB, Public Service Concourse
Philadelphia, PA 19102

Office hours: 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday

Office closes at noon on the last Wednesday of each month.

Due:

Renewals are due annually

Before you Apply:

To renew your license, you must:

  • Be current on all City of Philadelphia taxes.
  • Have proof of an active insurance policy.
  • Have eligible supervisor information on file with L&I.
Fact Checked:6/23/20

Philadelphia Demolition Contractor License

More Information:

https://business.phila.gov/demolition-contractor-license/

Agency:City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Philadelphia Electrical Contractor License

More Information:

https://business.phila.gov/electrical-contractor-license/

Agency:City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Electrical Contractor License

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$60 application fee + $160 license fee which is due upon application approval.

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Electrical Contractor License (renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$160

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Philadelphia Plumber (Apprentice) License

More Information:

https://business.phila.gov/plumber-apprentice-license/

Agency:City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/13/18

Philadelphia Plumber (Master) License

More Information:

https://business.phila.gov/plumbers-license/

Agency:City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Plumber (Master) License

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$150 application fee + $200 license fee which is due upon application approval.

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Plumber (Master) License (renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$200

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Philadelphia Sheet Metal (Apprentice) License

More Information:

https://business.phila.gov/sheet-metal-apprentice-license/

Agency:City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/13/18

Philadelphia Sheet Metal (Technician) License

More Information:

https://business.phila.gov/sheet-metal-technician-license/

Agency:City of Philadelphia Department of Licenses and Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Philadelphia government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.