South Carolina Fictitious Name Registration & Renewal

Registration requirements for South Carolina business entities

Business entities that plan to use a name other than their legal business name may need to register an assumed name. Assumed name registration can take place at the state, local, or state and local levels of government. State specific registration information is available below.

Initial Application for Registration

Agency:South Carolina Secretary of State - Division of Business Filings
Form:

LP - Assumed Name Certificate

Filing method:

Mail

Agency fee:

$10

Is registration mandatory?:

Required only for limited partnerships that plan to use a name other than name shown on its certificate of registration.

County Level Filing:

Filing is not required at the county level.

Does registration prevent others from using the name I choose?:

Registration of an assumed name does not confer ownership rights and does not prevent another entity from using the same fictitious name.

Notes:
  • Only limited partnerships file assumed name registrations in South Carolina.
  • File two copies of the form with registration.
  • Publication of registration is not required in South Carolina.

Renewal Filing

Agency:South Carolina Secretary of State - Division of Business Filings
Agency fee:

$10

Due:

By December 31 of the 5 full calendar year following the most recent date of registration.

Law:

SC Code § 33-42-45

© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.