Michigan Fictitious Name Registration & Renewal

Registration requirements for Michigan business entities

Business entities that plan to use a name other than their legal business name may need to register an assumed name. Assumed name registration can take place at the state, local, or state and local levels of government. State specific registration information is available below.

Initial Application for Registration

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

Certificate of Assumed Name

Filing method:

Mail or online.

Agency fee:

$10 for corporations or limited partnerships and $25 for limited liability companies.

Is registration mandatory?:

Filing an assumed name registration is required for any person or entity intending to conduct business under an assumed name.

County Level Filing:

Corporations, LLCs, and nonprofits are registered at the state level, but partnerships and sole-proprietorships must register assumed names through the county clerk's office.

Does registration prevent others from using the name I choose?:

Registration of an assumed name does not offer name protection by itself, however, names must be distinguishable from other names on record with the department.

Notes:
  • Publication of registration is not required in Michigan.

Renewal Filing

Agency:Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) - Bureau of Corporations, Securities & Commercial Licensing - Corporations Division
Form:

Certificate of Assumed Name

Filing method:

Mail or online.

Agency fee:

$10 for corporations or limited partnerships and $25 for limited liability companies.

Due:

By December 31 of the 5 full calendar year following the most recent date of registration.

© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance is not an accounting or law firm and does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice.