Public Utility Commission of Texas


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Public Utility Commission of Texas. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Mailing address:
1701 N. Congress Avenue
PO Box 13326
Austin, TX 78711

Phone: 512-936-7000

Web: Home
Email: customer@puc.texas.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Public Utility Commission of Texas in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Texas Electric Aggregator Registration

Agency:Public Utility Commission of Texas
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Bond Requirements:
  • Bond requirements are dependent on the firm's activities.
Notes:
  • A certificate of good standing from the state of Texas is required with this filing
  • Applicants must supply a working fax number with the application
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes
Fact Checked:2/26/19

Initial Registration
Aggregator Registration Form

Agency:Public Utility Commission of Texas
Form:

Aggregator Registration Form

Filing Method:

Mail 

Agency Fee:

$0

Turnaround:

Approximately 2-4 weeks.

Notes:
  • 7 total copies of the application must be submitted to the board: one copy must be signed with a wet-ink signature and notarized,  the remaining 6 may be copies. 
How to Apply:
  • Register the business with the Secretary of State and Comptroller's offices
  • Obtain a certificate of good standing from the Secretary of State's office
  • Submit the license application to the Public Utility Commission 
Bond Amount:

Depends on activities

Registration Renewal

Not required



Aggregator registrations do not need to be renewed, however, annual reports must be filed with the commission every year.

Supplemental Reporting
Aggregators Annual Report

Agency:Public Utility Commission of Texas
Form:

Aggregator Annual Report Form

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by September 1.

Original Ink:Required
Notarize:Required
Notes:
  • 4 total copies of the application must be submitted to the board: one copy must be signed with a wet-ink signature and notarized,  the remaining 3 may be copies. 

Texas Electricity Broker License

Agency:Public Utility Commission of Texas
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Notes:
  • A dedicated customer service contact is required for this filing
  • A dedicated regulatory contact is required for this filing
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes
Fact Checked:8/13/19

Initial Registration
Public Utility of Texas Application for Electricity Broker Registration

Agency:Public Utility Commission of Texas
Form:

Broker Registration Form

Agency Fee:

$0

Turnaround:

Approximately 2-4 weeks

Original Ink:Required
Notarize:Required
Penalties:

An administrative penalty may be assessed to firms who have not complied with regulations. 

Notes:
  • 7 total copies of the application must be submitted to the board: one copy must be signed with a wet-ink signature and notarized,  the remaining 6 may be copies. 
How to Apply:
  • Register the business with the Secretary of State and Comptroller's offices
  • Obtain a certificate of good standing from the Secretary of State's office
  • Submit the license application to the Public Utility Commission 

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Triennially at least 90 days prior to the registration anniversary date.

Fact Checked:3/4/21

Texas Power Marketer Registration

Agency:Public Utility Commission of Texas
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:3/30/20

Initial Registration

Agency Fee:

$0

Notes:

There is no application form, instead follow the instructions on this page to register.

Fact Checked:3/31/20

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Amendment

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Each power marketer must report any material change in the information provided during registration within 30 days of the change.

Fact Checked:3/31/20

Texas Retail Electric Provider Certification

Agency:Public Utility Commission of Texas
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Bond Requirements:

Based on the firm's activity.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes
Fact Checked:8/27/20

Initial Registration
Retail Electric Provider Certification

Agency:Public Utility Commission of Texas
Form:

Retail Electric Provider Certification - Application and Amendment Form

Agency Fee:

$0

Original Ink:Required
Notarize:Required
Notes:
  • 7 total copies of the application must be submitted to the board: one copy must be signed with a wet-ink signature and notarized,  the remaining 6 may be copies. 
  • A dedicated customer service contact is required for this filing
  • A dedicated regulatory contact is required for this filing
Before you Apply:
  • Texas Secretary of State and  Comptroller registrations are required for this filing
  • The applicant must maintain a physical office address in Texas
  • The applicant must provide a working fax and toll-free phone number
  • The applicant must provide an experience history for internal staff or third-party consultants providing:
    • 15 years or more of Industry Technical Competitive Experience 
    • 5 years or more of Risk Management Experience 
How to Apply:
  • Register the business with the Secretary of State and Comptroller's offices
  • Obtain a certificate of good standing from the Secretary of State's office
  • Submit the license application to the Public Utility Commission 
Bond Amount:

Varies depending on the firm's activity.

Registration Renewal

Not required



Retail electric provider certifications do not expire, but reports must be made to the commission periodically.

Financial Reporting
Semi-Annual Report

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by August 15, or 225 days after the end of
the REP or guarantor’s fiscal year.

Fact Checked:1/23/20

Supplemental Reporting
Retail Electric Provider (REP) Annual Report

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by March 5th or 65 days after the REP or the REP guarantor’s fiscal year.

Fact Checked:1/23/20

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Texas government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.