Illinois Department of Insurance


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Illinois Department of Insurance. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Physical address:
320 W Washington
Springfield, IL 62767

Phone: (217) 782-4515
Fax: (217) 782-5020

Web: Home Name search
Email: doi.licensing@illinois.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Illinois Department of Insurance in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Illinois Business Entity Producer

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:12/4/19

Initial Registration

Fact Checked:12/4/19

Registration Renewal

Fact Checked:12/4/19

Illinois Employee Leasing Company Registration

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Law:

215 ILCS 113/20

Fact Checked:6/3/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Form ELC-1: Employee Leasing Company Registration

Agency Fee:

$1,000

Required Attachments:
  • Name and official title of the officers and directors of the lessor and its predecessors, successors or alter egos in the preceding 5 years
  • Name by jurisdiction of each name the employee leasing company, any owner, partner, officer or director has operated under in the preceding 5 years, including predecessor, successors, or alter ego name
  • List of all owners, partners, corporate officers, shareholders with greater than 5% interest and limited liability company individuals who have a 5% or greater interest in the company
Fact Checked:6/3/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Form ELC-1: Employee Leasing Company Registration

Agency Fee:

$1,000

Due:

Annually by the date of issuance.

Required Attachments:
  • Name and official title of the officers and directors of the lessor and its predecessors, successors or alter egos in the preceding 5 years
  • Name by jurisdiction of each name the employee leasing company, any owner, partner, officer or director has operated under in the preceding 5 years, including predecessor, successors, or alter ego name
  • List of all owners, partners, corporate officers, shareholders with greater than 5% interest and limited liability company individuals who have a 5% or greater interest in the company
Fact Checked:6/3/21

Illinois Insurance Agency License

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:1/8/16

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance firms that are applying for a license in Illinois for the first time.

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Form:

http://insurance2.illinois.gov/producer/

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $150

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Registration Renewal

This section applies to insurance firms that are already licensed in Illinois and need to renew their license.

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Form:

http://insurance2.illinois.gov/producer/

Agency Fee:

Varies by insurance type. Baseline of $150

Due:

Annually or Biennially based on license type

Fact Checked:1/8/16

Illinois Insurance Agent License

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:12/31/20

Initial Registration

This section applies to insurance agents that are applying for a license in Illinois for the first time.

Agency Fee:

From $0 to $400 depending on license type.

Fact Checked:6/1/17

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Varies based on license type

Due:

Biennially by the original date of issue

Fact Checked:1/5/21

Illinois Insurance Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$250

Due:

Licenses expire annually on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Insurance Producer License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$360

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$180

Due:

Licenses expire annually on the registration anniversary date but renewal application must be submitted at least 45 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Limited Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$200

Due:

Licenses expire annually on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Illinois Limited Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:5/6/21

Illinois Limited Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Limited Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Navigator Certificate License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Licenses expire annually on the registration anniversary date but renewal application must be submitted at least 45 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Navigator Certificate License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Due:

Licenses expire biennially on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Illinois Pharmacy Benefit Manager License - Non-Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Licenses expire biennially on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Pharmacy Benefit Manager License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Licenses expire biennially on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Self-Service Storage Facility License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50

Due:

Licenses expire biennially on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Surplus Lines Producer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$400

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$400

Due:

Licenses expire annually on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Surplus Lines Producer License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$400

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$400

Due:

Licenses expire annually on the registration anniversary date but renewal application must be submitted at least 45 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Temporary Producer License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Temporary Producer licenses automatically expire after 90 days and are not renewable.

Illinois Travel Insurance License - Non-Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Licenses expire biennially on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Travel Insurance License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Licenses expire biennially on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Illinois Travel Retailer License - Non-Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Licenses expire biennially on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Illinois Travel Retailer License - Resident

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Fact Checked:4/27/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$0

Fact Checked:4/29/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Licenses expire biennially on May 31 but renewal application must be submitted at least 90 days prior to expiration.

Fact Checked:7/7/21

Illinois Utilization Review Organization Registration

Type of Review:

Medical or Workers' Compensation Utilization Review

Agency:Illinois Department of Insurance
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes
Fact Checked:2/5/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Registration of a Utilization Review Organization

Agency Fee:

$1,500 for accredited organizations or $3,000 for unaccredited organizations.

Required Attachments:
Fact Checked:2/5/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Health Care/Workers' Compensation Utilization Review Renewal Registration Form

Agency Fee:

$1,500 for accredited organizations or $3,000 for unaccredited organizations.

Due:

Biennially

Fact Checked:2/5/21

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Illinois government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.