Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Phone: (860) 713-6100

Web: Home Name search
Email: dcp.occupationalprofessional@ct.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Connecticut Certificate of Registration for Engineering Company

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Law:

Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-299 to 20-310

Eligible Entity Types:
  • Business Corporations
  • Professional Service Corporations
  • Limited Liability Companies
  • Professional Associations
  • Partnerships
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Ownership Requirements:

Business Corporations:

  • Officers and directors need not be licensed, but the corporation must appoint a Connecticut licensed individual to be responsible for all professional activities undertaken by the firm.

Professional Service Corporations:

  • At least two-thirds of the individual owners of a PC must be individually licensed and must own at least two-thirds of the voting interests.

Limited Liability Companies:

  • At least two-thirds of the individual members of an LLC must be individually licensed and must own at least two-thirds of the voting interests.

Professional Associations:

  • Each member of the association must be a licensed engineer.

Partnerships:

  • All partners must be licensed engineers.
Fact Checked:5/28/20

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Certificate of Registration for Professional Engineering Company

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$565

Notarize:Required
Before you Apply:

Domestic Applicants:

  • Ensure that your business entity will meet ownership requirements.

Foreign Applicants:

  • Ensure that your Connecticut entity meets ownership requirements.
  • Obtain a certificate of good standing from your business entity's home state (to be filed during the foreign qualification process). The certificate cannot be more than 90 days old when filing foreign qualification documents.
How to Apply:

Domestic Applicants:

  1. File entity formation documents with the Connecticut Secretary of State.
  2. Obtain a Certificate of Legal Existence (good standing) from the Connecticut Secretary of State to be filed with the license application.
  3. Submit an Application for Certificate of Registration for Professional Engineering Company to the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.

Foreign Applicants:

  1. File a foreign qualification application with the Connecticut Secretary of State.
  2. Submit an Application for Certificate of Registration for Professional Engineering Company to the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection along with your Connecticut-issued foreign qualification certificate.
Fact Checked:5/28/20

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$375

Due:

Annually by the day prior to the date of initial registration.

Required Attachments:
  • List of directors, officers, managers, or members of the firm including addresses
  • List of licensees in responsible charge of the firm's professional services
  • List of holders of voting stock or voting interest showing ownership percentage
Fact Checked:4/15/20

Connecticut Certificate of Registration for Land Surveying Company

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Law:

Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-299 to 20-310 

Eligible Entity Types:

Connecticut allows land surveying firms to practice under most entity types, including corporations, professional corporations, and LLCs

Ownership Requirements:

At least two-thirds of the individual members of an LLC must be individually licensed and must own at least two-thirds of the voting interests. At least two-thirds of the individual members of a PC must be individually licensed and must own at least two-thirds of the voting interests. Business corporations do not have ownership requirements.

Fact Checked:11/5/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Certificate of Registration Application

Agency Fee:

$565

How to Apply:
  1. Secretary of State: Application for Certificate of Authority
  2. Department of Consumer Protection: Application for Certificate of Registration for Professional Land Surveying Company
Fact Checked:11/5/19

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$375

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:11/5/19

Connecticut Combined Professional Engineer and Land Surveyor License

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Allow Digital Signatures?Yes
Digital Signature Guidelines:

(c) In lieu of a handwritten signature and live seal on paper documents, a licensee shall be permitted to place a digital signature on electronic documents if all of the following criteria are met:

(1) The digital signing process satisfies the requirements of the Digital Signature Standard (“DSS”) established by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. This standard may be obtained at the following website: http://csrc.nist.gov/publications/;

(2) The digital signature keys are unique to the licensee;

(3) The digital signature keys can be verified by a trusted third party or some other approved process as belonging to the licensee;

(4) The private key used for signing electronic documents is under the licensee's direct and exclusive control; and

(5) An electronic document that is altered in any way after being digitally signed fails the verification process.

(6) A licensee may transmit an electronic document without a digital signature provided that any graphical facsimile of the licensee's handwritten signature or stamp does not appear on the document. For cases where the facsimile signature or stamp cannot be erased or removed, a note shall be placed on the document in a prominent location stating that “This shall not be considered a sealed document.”

(d) An electronic document, digitally signed according to the criteria described in subsection (c) of this section, shall be considered “sealed by” or “stamped with a seal of” a licensed surveyor or a licensed professional engineer.

CT Reg. § 20-300-10

Allow Digital Sealing?Yes
Digital Sealing Guidelines:

See digital signing guidelines.

Fact Checked:5/20/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Professional Engineer and Land Surveyor License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$80

Fact Checked:5/20/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$225

Due:

Annually by January 31. Licenses issued in November and December do not need to be renewed in the first January after their issuance.

Fact Checked:5/20/21

Connecticut Engineer-in-Training Certification

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:7/3/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Professional Engineer-in-Training Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$76

Fact Checked:11/2/18

Renewal Not Required

Not required



A license as an engineer-in-training shall remain valid for a period of ten years from the date upon which the applicant's first such license was issued by any state toward meeting in part the requirements in professional engineering or land surveying.

Connecticut Hearth Product Work/Fuel Gas Work Contractor License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Heating-Cooling-and-Sheet-Met

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Occupational Trade License Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$150

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Occupational Trade License Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by August 31.

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Connecticut Hearth Product Work/Fuel Gas Work Journeyperson License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Heating-Cooling-and-Sheet-Met

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal Information

Agency Fee:

$120

Due:

Annually by August 31.

Fact Checked:1/30/20

Connecticut Heating and Cooling Contractor License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Heating-Cooling-and-Sheet-Met

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Hearth Product Work/Fuel Gas Work Contractor application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$150

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Hearth Product Work/Fuel Gas Work Contractor application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by August 31.

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Connecticut Heating and Cooling Journeyperson License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Heating-Cooling-and-Sheet-Met

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal Information

Agency Fee:

$120

Due:

Annually by August 31.

Fact Checked:1/30/20

Connecticut Interior Designer Registration

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:11/12/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Interior Designer Registration Form

Agency Fee:

$190

Fact Checked:11/15/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$190

Due:

Annually by December 31.

Fact Checked:11/15/19

Connecticut Joint Practice License

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Law:

Conn Gen Stat § 20-306b

Eligible Entity Types:
  • Business Corporations
  • Professional Service Corporations
  • Limited Liability Companies
  • Professional Associations
  • Partnerships
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Ownership Requirements:

Business Corporations:

  • Persons licensed as architects, landscape architects, professional engineers, or land surveyors must own not
    less than 2/3 of the voting stock of the corporation.
  • Each profession must own a minimum of 20% of the voting stock of the
    company.

Professional Service Corporations:

  • Persons licensed as architects, landscape architects, professional engineers, or land surveyors must own not
    less than 2/3 of the voting stock of the corporation.
  • Each profession must own a minimum of 20% of the voting stock of the
    company.

Limited Liability Companies:

  • Persons licensed as architects, landscape architects, professional engineers, or land surveyors must own not
    less than 2/3 of the voting interest of the LLC.
  • Each profession must own a minimum of 20% of the voting interest of the
    company.

Professional Associations:

  • Each member of the association must be a licensed in one of the professions offered by the association.

Partnerships:

  • At least 1/2 of the partners or principals must be licensed architects and each member engaged in the practice of engineering must be licensed.
Fact Checked:5/28/20

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for Joint Practice of Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Professional Engineering, & Land Surveying

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$565

Notarize:Required
Before you Apply:

Domestic Applicants:

  • Ensure that your business entity will meet ownership requirements and that the firm has at least one licensed individual to act as the responsible party for each professional service.

Foreign Applicants:

  • Ensure that your Connecticut business entity will meet ownership requirements and that the firm has at least one Connecticut licensed individual to act as the responsible party for each professional service.
  • Obtain a certificate of good standing from your business entity's home state (to be filed during the foreign qualification process). The certificate cannot be more than 90 days old when filing foreign qualification documents.
How to Apply:

Domestic Applicants:

  1. File entity formation documents with the Connecticut Secretary of State.
  2. Obtain a Certificate of Legal Existence (good standing) from the Connecticut Secretary of State to be filed with the license application.
  3. Submit an Application for Architecture Corporation to the Connecticut Architectural Licensing Board.

Foreign Applicants:

  1. File a foreign qualification application with the Connecticut Secretary of State.
  2. Submit an Application for Architecture Corporation to the Connecticut Architectural Licensing Board along with a certificate of good standing from the secretary of state of your entity's home state.
Fact Checked:5/28/20

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$375

Due:

Annually by April 30.

Required Attachments:
  • List of directors, officers, managers, or members of the firm including addresses
  • List of licensees in responsible charge of the firm's professional services
  • List of holders of voting stock or voting interest
Fact Checked:4/15/20

Connecticut Land Surveyor License

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:7/9/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Land Surveyor License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$80

Fact Checked:7/9/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$225

Due:

Annually by January 31. Licenses issued in November and December do not need to be renewed in the first January after their issuance.

Fact Checked:7/9/19

Connecticut Land Surveyor-in-Training License

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:7/9/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Land Surveyor-in-Training License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$64

Fact Checked:7/9/19

Renewal Not Required

Not required



A license as a surveyor-in-training shall remain valid for a period of ten years from the date upon which the applicant's first such license was issued by any state toward meeting in part the requirements in professional engineering or land surveying.

Connecticut Major Contractor Registration

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Major-Contractor-Registr

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Financial Requirements:

One credit reference from a supplier or subcontractor and one credit reference from a financial institution must be submitted.

Insurance Requirements:

A certificate of insurance for general liability insurance is required. Workers' compensation insurance is not explicitly required for this registration but may be needed when applying for building permits.

Bond Requirements:

There is no bond requirement for this registration.

Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Major Contractor Registration Application

Agency Fee:

$500

Fact Checked:5/16/18

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Fact Checked:5/16/18

Connecticut Mechanical Contractor Registration

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/Occupational-and-Professional-Division/Occupational--Profess/Mechanical-Con

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Mechanical Contractor Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

Application fee -110

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Mechanical Contractor Registration Application Renewal

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$110 - All registrations expire annually on August 31st .

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Connecticut New Home Construction Contractor License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/New-Home-Constructio

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Insurance Requirements:

Although not explicitly required for this license, workers' compensation insurance is typically required when applying for a building permit.

Bond Requirements:

Bonding is not required in Connecticut for residential work.

Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

New Home Construction Contractor Application for Legal Entity

Agency Fee:

$720 for applicants that do not have an active Home Improvement Contractor Registration and $480 for those who do.

Fact Checked:5/7/19

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$720

Due:

By September 30 of odd-numbered years.

Fact Checked:5/7/19

Connecticut Plumbing/Pipefitting Contractor License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Plumbing-and-Pipefitting-Licens

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Occupational Trade License Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$150

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Occupational Trade License Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

All plumbing and pipefitting licenses expire annually on October 31st. Renewal Fee: Contractor $150.00

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Connecticut Plumbing/Pipefitting Journeyperson License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Plumbing-and-Pipefitting-Licens

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Plumbing / Pipefitting Journeyperson Candidate Information Bulletin

Agency Fee:

$90

Notes:

Once this application is reviewed and approved, you will receive an Examination Eligibility Postcard from PSI with instructions to register and schedule the examination. Please note that an examination fee will be due at the time you schedule the examination with PSI.

Fact Checked:1/30/20

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal Information

Agency Fee:

$120

Due:

Annually by October 31.

Fact Checked:1/30/20

Connecticut Professional Engineer License

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Allow Digital Signatures?Yes
Digital Signature Guidelines:

(c) In lieu of a handwritten signature and live seal on paper documents, a licensee shall be permitted to place a digital signature on electronic documents if all of the following criteria are met:

(1) The digital signing process satisfies the requirements of the Digital Signature Standard (“DSS”) established by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. This standard may be obtained at the following website: http://csrc.nist.gov/publications/;

(2) The digital signature keys are unique to the licensee;

(3) The digital signature keys can be verified by a trusted third party or some other approved process as belonging to the licensee;

(4) The private key used for signing electronic documents is under the licensee's direct and exclusive control; and

(5) An electronic document that is altered in any way after being digitally signed fails the verification process.

(6) A licensee may transmit an electronic document without a digital signature provided that any graphical facsimile of the licensee's handwritten signature or stamp does not appear on the document. For cases where the facsimile signature or stamp cannot be erased or removed, a note shall be placed on the document in a prominent location stating that “This shall not be considered a sealed document.”

(d) An electronic document, digitally signed according to the criteria described in subsection (c) of this section, shall be considered “sealed by” or “stamped with a seal of” a licensed surveyor or a licensed professional engineer.

CT Reg. § 20-300-10

Allow Digital Sealing?Yes
Digital Sealing Guidelines:

See digital signing guidelines.

Fact Checked:5/12/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Professional Engineer License Application

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$80

Fact Checked:5/19/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$285

Due:

Annually by January 31. Licenses issued in November and December do not need to be renewed in the first January after their issuance.

Fact Checked:5/19/21

Connecticut Sheet Metal Contractor License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Heating-Cooling-and-Sheet-Met

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Occupational Trade License Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$150

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Occupational Trade License Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail or online.

Agency Fee:

$150

Due:

Annually by August 31.

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Connecticut Sheet Metal Journeyperson License

More Information:

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Heating-Cooling-and-Sheet-Met

Agency:Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection - Occupational and Professional Licensing Division
Fact Checked:4/27/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Sheet Metal Journeyperson License

Agency Fee:

$90

Notes:

Once this application is reviewed and approved, an Examination Eligibility Postcard will be sent from PSI with instructions to register and schedule the examination

Fact Checked:1/30/20

Registration Renewal

Form:

Renewal Information

Agency Fee:

$120

Due:

Annually by August 31.

Fact Checked:1/30/20

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Connecticut government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.