New Jersey Fictitious Name Registration & Renewal

Registration requirements for New Jersey business entities

Business entities that plan to use a name other than their legal business name may need to register an assumed name. Assumed name registration can take place at the state, local, or state and local levels of government. State specific registration information is available below.

Initial Application for Registration

Agency:New Jersey Department of the Treasury
Form:

Form C-150G: Registration of Alternate Name

Filing method:

Mail or fax.

Agency fee:

$50

Is registration mandatory?:

Filing an alternate name registration is required for any person or entity intending to conduct business under an assumed name.

County Level Filing:

Sole-proprietorships and partnerships register for a trade name at the county level, but other entities register with the division of revenue.

Does registration prevent others from using the name I choose?:

Registration of an alternate name does not by itself confer ownership rights.

Notes:
  • There are no statutory provisions on the use of alternate names by limited liability partnerships.
  • Publication of registration is not required in New Jersey.

Renewal Filing

Agency:New Jersey Department of the Treasury
Form:

Form C-150R: Renewal of Registration of Alternate Name

Filing method:

Mail, fax, or online.

Agency fee:

$25 for business corporations or $50 for all other entities.

Due:

Due by the date of registration every 5 years.

© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance is not an accounting or law firm and does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice.