Managed Doing Business As (DBA) Services

We handle your DBA project from conception through maintenance. We navigate registration requirements across state lines, check name availability, prepare and file DBA registrations, track renewals, and prepare and file renewals.

  • Access to a compliance specialist who consults with you on your project
  • Complete document preparation, filing, and follow-up with government agencies through approval
  • Full transparency of your project status and renewal tracking via the new DBA List feature in our software
- Rated 4.4/5 by 104 clients on Google

Contact Us
A businessman overlooking the city in his office

Massachusetts DBA / Fictitious Name / Trade Name Registrations

Registration requirements for Massachusetts business entities

Business entities that plan to use a name other than their legal business name may need to register an assumed name. Assumed name registration can take place at the state, local, or state and local levels of government. State specific registration information is available below.

Massachusetts Fictitious Name Registrations

Massachusetts Assumed Name Registration

Not required



DBA / Fictitious Name / Trade Name licensure is not required on the State level in Massachusetts.

In Massachusetts, business certificate registration is filed with the city or town clerk's office. There is no state-level fictitious name registration.

Law:

MA Gen Law ch 110 § 5

Registration Not Required

Not required



Local Fictitious Name Registrations

Abington Business Certificate

Agency:Abington Town Clerk’s Office (MA)

Initial Registration
Business Certificate

Form:

Business Certificate

Agency Fee:

$40

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business Certificate (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$40

Due:

Every 4 years from the date of issuance.

City of Taunton Business Certificate

Agency:Taunton City Clerk's Office (MA)

Initial Registration

Agency Fee:

$30

Notes:

Contact the Clerk's Office for an application.

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$30

Due:

Every 4 years from the date of issuance.

Notes:

Contact the Clerk's Office for an application.

Fall River Business Certificate

Agency:Fall River City Clerk's Office (MA)

Initial Registration
Business Certificate

Form:

Business Certificate Form

Agency Fee:

$60

Notarize:Required

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business Certificate Form (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$60

Due:

Every 4 years from the date of filing.

Lynn Business Certificate

Agency:Lynn City Clerk's Office (MA)

Initial Registration
Business Certificate

Form:

Business Certificate Application

Agency Fee:

$40

Registration Renewal

Form:

Business Certificate Application (Renewal)

Agency Fee:

$40

Due:

Every 4 years from the date of issuance.

© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.