Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Insurance Division


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Insurance Division. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Phone: 615-741-2693

Web: Home Name search
Email: ce.agent.licensing@tn.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Insurance Division in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Tennessee Individual Insurance Producer License

Agency:Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Insurance Division
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:4/30/20

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$50 for resident producers, non-residents pay a retaliatory fee based on their home state.

Fact Checked:4/30/20

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

Residents pay $60 for major lines of authority and $30 for limited lines of authority. Non-resident producers pay a retaliatory fee based on their home state.

Due:

Biennially by the end of the licensee's birth month.

Fact Checked:4/30/20

Tennessee Professional Employer Organization Registration - Group Restricted

Agency:Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Insurance Division
Law:

TN Code § 62-43-106

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Notes:

An applicant is eligible for a limited registration under this chapter if such applicant:

  • Submits a request for limited registration to the department;
  • Is domiciled outside this state and is licensed or registered as a professional employer organization in another state;
  • Does not maintain an office in this state or directly solicits clients located or domiciled within this state; and
  • Does not have more than 50 covered employees employed or domiciled in this state.
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:6/14/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$250 application fee + $1,000 license fee

Required Attachments:
  • Articles of Incorporation
  • Proof of Tennessee Secretary of State registration
  • ACORD Form/Workers' Compensation certificate
  • Notarized self insurance health plan
  • Domicile licensure
Fact Checked:6/14/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$1,000

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Fact Checked:6/14/21

Tennessee Professional Employer Organization Registration - Group Unrestricted

Agency:Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Insurance Division
Law:

TN Code § 62-43-106

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:No
Financial Requirements:

Applicants must maintain positive working capital at registration as reflected in the financial statements submitted to the department.

Insurance Requirements:

Evidence of workers' compensation coverage for covered employees in this state who are subject to the Tennessee Workers' Compensation Law

Bond Requirements:

An applicant that does not have positive working capital may provide a bond, irrevocable letter of credit or securities with a minimum market value equaling the deficiency plus $100,000.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:6/14/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$250 application fee + $4,000 license fee

Required Attachments:
  • Articles of Incorporation
  • Proof of Tennessee Secretary of State registration
  • Notarized self insurance health plan
  • Financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and audited by an independent certified public accountant and no older than 13 months from the date of application.
Fact Checked:6/14/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$4,000

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Fact Checked:6/14/21

Tennessee Professional Employer Organization Registration - Single Restricted

Agency:Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Insurance Division
Law:

TN Code § 62-43-106

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Notes:

An applicant is eligible for a limited registration under this chapter if such applicant:

  • Submits a request for limited registration to the department;
  • Is domiciled outside this state and is licensed or registered as a professional employer organization in another state;
  • Does not maintain an office in this state or directly solicits clients located or domiciled within this state; and
  • Does not have more than 50 covered employees employed or domiciled in this state.
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No
Fact Checked:6/9/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$100 application fee + $500 license fee

Notarize:Not required
Required Attachments:
  • Articles of Incorporation
  • Proof of Tennessee Secretary of State registration
  • ACORD Form/Workers' Compensation certificate
  • Notarized self insurance health plan
  • Domicile licensure
Fact Checked:6/10/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$500

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Notarize:Not required
Fact Checked:6/10/21

Tennessee Professional Employer Organization Registration - Single Unrestricted

Agency:Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance - Insurance Division
Law:

TN Code § 62-43-106

Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Financial Requirements:

Applicants must maintain positive working capital at registration as reflected in the financial statements submitted to the department.

Insurance Requirements:

Evidence of workers' compensation coverage for covered employees in this state who are subject to the Tennessee Workers' Compensation Law

Bond Requirements:

An applicant that does not have positive working capital may provide a bond, irrevocable letter of credit or securities with a minimum market value equaling the deficiency plus $100,000.

Fact Checked:6/9/21

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$250 application fee + $2,000 license fee

Required Attachments:
  • Articles of Incorporation
  • Proof of Tennessee Secretary of State registration
  • Notarized self insurance health plan
  • Financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and audited by an independent certified public accountant and no older than 13 months from the date of application.
Fact Checked:6/9/21

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$2,000

Due:

Biennially by the date of issuance.

Fact Checked:6/9/21

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Tennessee government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.