Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation - Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation - Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection. We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Physical address:
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation - Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection
35 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

Phone: 800-332-8529
Fax: 207-582-7699

Web: Home

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation - Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Maine Debt Collector Branch License

Agency:Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation - Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection
Fact Checked:1/8/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Branch Application

Agency Fee:

$150 if the company's main office license expires in less than 12 months and $300 if the main office license expires in more than 12 months.

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:1/8/19

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$300

Due:

By July 31 of even-numbered years for licensees with names beginning with letters A-M and by July 31 of odd-numbered years for licensees with names beginning with N-Z.

Notes:

Renewal forms are mailed around June 1st.

Fact Checked:1/8/19

Maine Debt Collector License

Agency:Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation - Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection
Foreign Qualification is Prerequisite:Yes
Financial Requirements:

Applicants must have a net worth of at least $10,000 demonstrated by a financial statement.

Bond Requirements:

Varies by collection activities and gross collection. Required bond amounts range from $5,000 to $50,000.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes
Fact Checked:1/8/19

Initial Registration

Form:

Debt Collector License Application

Agency Fee:

$300 if filing in the second half of the biennial license period and $600 if filing in the first half of the biennial license period.

Notarize:Required
Fact Checked:1/8/19

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$600

Due:

By July 31 of even-numbered years for licensees with names beginning with letters A-M and by July 31 of odd-numbered years for licensees with names beginning with N-Z.

Notes:

Renewal forms are mailed around June 1st.

Fact Checked:1/8/19

Maine Employee Leasing Company Registration

Agency:Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation - Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection
Law:

32 MRS § 14052

Insurance Requirements:

A copy of the workers' compensation Certificate of Liability is required.

Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?Yes
Fact Checked:6/7/21

Initial Registration

Form:

Employee Leasing Company Registration Form

Instructions:

Registration Instructions & Information

Agency Fee:

$500

Required Attachments:
  • List of all other states in which applicant has operated in the past 5 years. Please identify any alternative names, predecessors, and, if known, successor firms to or of registrant in each state.
  • List of all natural/legal persons, or entities who possess 5% or greater ownership interest in the registrant at the time of filing this new or renewal registration form
  • List all natural/legal persons or entities and dates, other than those listed in the current ownership section, who have possessed 5% or greater ownership interest in the preceding 5 years.
  • Name and address of current Maine-licensed workers’ compensation insurer (Insurance Company)
  • A copy of your current workers’ compensation certificate of liability
  • Name and address of Maine-licensed producer (agent) handling the sale of workers’ compensation coverage for the client companies
  • Name and address of Maine licensed agency handling the sale of workers’ compensation coverage for the client companies
  • Health benefit or self-funded plan information (if applicable)
Fact Checked:6/7/21

Registration Renewal

Form:

Employee Leasing Company Registration Form (Renewal)

Instructions:

Registration Instructions & Information

Agency Fee:

$100

Due:

Annually by January 31.

Required Attachments:
  • List of all other states in which applicant has operated in the past year. Please identify any alternative names, predecessors, and, if known, successor firms to or of registrant in each state.
  • List of all natural/legal persons, or entities who possess 5% or greater ownership interest in the registrant at the time of filing this new or renewal registration form
  • List all natural/legal persons or entities and dates, other than those listed in the current ownership section, who have possessed 5% or greater ownership interest in the preceding year.
  • Name and address of current Maine-licensed workers’ compensation insurer (Insurance Company)
  • A copy of your current workers’ compensation certificate of liability
  • Name and address of Maine-licensed producer (agent) handling the sale of workers’ compensation coverage for the client companies
  • Name and address of Maine licensed agency handling the sale of workers’ compensation coverage for the client companies
  • Health benefit or self-funded plan information (if applicable)
Fact Checked:6/7/21

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Maine government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.